BUDGET
IN-EAR

MIRROR

CVJ

Rating

Price

7.5

45 €

Review published:

02/2021

Driver

3

per Side

1

Dynamic

2

Balanced

Impedance

22 Ohm

Piezo

0

Sound

7.5

Bass

8

Mids

6.5

Trebles

Sensitivity

105 dB

7.3

Handling

9

Haptic

C

Value

-

Daily Life

Frequency

10 - 40000 Hz

Intro

The MIRROR represents the current flagship of the company after the CSN and goes a sonically very interesting, in theory very appealing way. However, the potential was unfortunately wasted here and so the MIRROR even draws the short straw for me against the CS8, even if it actually has more to offer tonally.

Handling

Visually, I associate the MIRROR more with a penguin wing than with a mirror, but this IEM is probably the most discreet and at the same time the most appealing of the series in terms of design. It looks like it was cast from one piece, is compact and wears very comfortably. In addition, the robust construction makes the MIRROR a value both visually and haptically.

The accessories are not particularly lush and are limited to the most necessary, such as 3 pairs of silicone tips and a budget cable, as is also known from TRN, or BQEYZ. However, we still get a useful cloth bag for storing the IEMs.

The isolation is good and can be further reinforced with foam tips.

Sound

CVJ fortunately tries to stand out a bit from the budget chi-fi market by tuning their IEMs. The MIRROR has a fairly flat signature that is more akin to "neutrality" in parts. However, for my taste, they don't manage to eradicate the typical maladies and are not quite consistent with the (apparent) basic idea either.

The bass puts its focus on the mid-bass, which gives it a good punch. However, this is partly also a bit dry and not particularly organic. Certainly a matter of taste. In terms of quantity, I'm more than satisfied and would even welcome a few dB less to play up more neutrally here and give the mids a bit more sparkle. The bass has a pretty good texture and is not limited to a one-note bass. Bassheads certainly won't be happy here, but for me it also hangs in the air a bit, as it seems they couldn't decide where they wanted to go with the bass. The speed is certainly worth highlighting, even if it would like to be a bit crisper and could resolve better.

The mids are somewhat overshadowed by the bass, which brings more energy to the mid-bass in particular than the overall mids. But I don't find that too bad, because I generally like somewhat warmer mids and associated with it a usually somewhat more intimate voice presentation. The MIRROR often meets my taste exactly in midrange, even if I would sometimes like a bit more clarity. Still, I really appreciate that voices don't scream at me, but also don't disappear in the mix. To that end, they basically have a fairly natural timbre (even if the highs are more or less a destructive force of nature). Some might accuse them of a certain lifelessness, where I partly go along, but I don't always need a Himalayan plateau in the upper mids to be happy, on the contrary. Still, I'd like to see 2dB more around 2-3 kHz, or 2 dB less in the bass (60 - 200 Hz).

The treble is now the sword of Damocles for my ears with the MIRROR, because my listening happiness stops relatively abruptly when it goes into the higher frequencies and I only find fewer songs that I can listen to reasonably stress-free. Why the hell isn't the range around 6 - 9 kHz at least somewhat mitigated. Yes the peak is also a coupler resonance, which certainly amplifies the peak, however the energy in that range can't be dismissed either. Apart from the fact that I have seen such a pronouncement so far only with the MIRROR and maybe with the KBEAR LARK (seen in relation to the mids and the bass), the sibilant emphasis and associated sharp sibilants is not only annoying, but partly unenjoyable. This has nothing to do with treble extension, transparency or detail, as it simply sounds artificial and piercing. As is so often the case, a basically good signature is run into the ground again by an exaggerated high-frequency response (we're not talking about a special extension here, because this is rather average), or rather sent into space (Team Rocket sends its regards).Too bad, there was clearly more possible here.

The MIRROR has solid technical characteristics with an appealing imaging and a reasonable stage extension, which is still somewhat artificially extended by the exaggerated high tone. Reasonable for the price I would say.

Outro

The idea was good, the implementation less so, at least if you (like me) have a high sensitivity to sibilants and peaks, especially in the high frequencies. I welcome seeing an "experimental" signature under 50€ that deviates from the masses, but then they should have implemented it more consistently. Here was probably more the Asian market in mind, which appreciates a high-frequency emphasis significantly more or even requires it than others.

Unfortunately, even a micropore tape mod can't work wonders here and so only a drastic equalizer helps. With it the MIRROR can be bent then well to right, but that should not be the requirement.

My favorite of the CVJ series therefore remains the CSA.

Legend

Haptic:

Here the processing plays a role and the usability of the scope of supply. Additionally the appearance, wearing comfort and robustness.


Value:
Here I evaluate for me subjectively the price/performance ratio - does not flow into the evaluation!

Z: No Brainer

A: money well spent

B: all right, you can do

C: gives better for less money

D: overpriced

E: collector's price

Daily life:
Here, I focus on the long-term audibility and whether I can hear it well out of the box. This is of course very subjective and therefore only a minimal deduction or bonus. 

(-0.1, 0, +0.1)

BL-03.jpg

Rating in Letters

S: 9.5 - 10

A: 9.0 - 9.4​

B: 8.0 - 8.9​

C: 7.0 - 7.9

D: 6.0 - 6.9​
E: 5.0 - 5.9​

F: 0.0 - 4.9​

CS8

CS8

MIRROR

MIRROR

CSA

CSA

CSE

CSE

CSN

CSN

Second Opinion

KLOGOWhite.png

CHI-FIEAR © 2020 by David Hahn

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

BUDGET
IN-EAR

MIRROR

CVJ

Wertung

Preis

7.5

45 €

Review published:

02/2021

Treiber

3

pro Seite

1

Dynamisch

2

Balanced

Widerstand

22 Ohm

PZ/ES/PL

0

Klang

7.5

Bass

8

Mitten

6.5

Höhen

Empfindlichkeit

105 dB

7.3

Handling

9

Haptik

C

Value

-

Alltag

Frequenzgang

10 - 40000 Hz

Intro

Der MIRROR stellt nach dem CSN das aktuelle Flagship der Firma dar und geht einen klanglich sehr interessanten, in der Theorie sehr ansprechenden Weg. Allerdings wurde hier leider das Potenzial verschenkt und so zieht der MIRROR insgesamt gesehen sogar gegen den CS8 für mich den Kürzeren, auch wenn er eigentlich tonal mehr zu bieten hat.

Handling

Optisch bringe ich den MIRROR eher mit einem Pinguinflügel in Verbindung als mit einem Spiegel, aber dieser IEM ist wohl bislang der Dezenteste und zugleich designtechnisch Ansprechendste der Serie. Er wirkt wie aus einem Guss, ist kompakt und trägt sich sehr angenehm. Dazu kommt die robuste Bauweise, was den MIRROR äußerlich und haptisch zu einem Value macht.

Das Zubehör ist nicht sonderlich üppig und beschränkt sich auf das Nötigste, wie 3 Paar Silikontips und einem Budget-Kabel, wie man es auch von TRN, oder BQEYZ kennt. Allerdings bekommen wir noch einen nützlichen Stoffbeutel zur Aufbewahrung der IEMs.

Die Isolation ist gut und kann mit Foam-Tips noch einmal verstärkt werden.

Klang

CVJ versucht glücklicherweise, sich mit dem Tuning ihrer IEMs ein bisschen vom Budget-Chi-Fi-Markt abzuheben. Der MIRROR hat eine recht flache und teilweise eher an "Neutralität" angelehnte Signatur. Allerdings schaffen sie es für meinen Geschmack nicht, die typischen Krankheiten auszumerzen und sind bei der (scheinbaren) Grundidee auch nicht ganz konsequent.

Der Bass legt seinen Fokus auf den Mittenbass, was ihm einen guten Punch beschert. Dieser ist allerdings teilweise auch ein bisschen trocken und nicht sonderlich organisch. Sicherlich Geschmackssache. Was die Quantität betrifft, bin ich mehr als zufrieden und würde sogar noch ein paar dB weniger begrüßen, um hier neutraler aufzuspielen und den Mitten etwas mehr Strahlkraft zu verleihen. Der Bass hat eine recht gute Textur und beschränkt sich nicht nur auf einen One-Note-Bass. Bassheads werden hier sicherlich nicht glücklich, aber für mich hängt er auch etwas in der Luft, da man sich scheinbar nicht entscheiden könnte, wohin man mit dem Bass wollte. Hervorzuheben ist sicherlich die Geschwindigkeit, auch wenn er gerne noch etwas knackiger sein und besser auflösen könnte.

Die Mitten liegen etwas im Schatten des Basses, welcher gerade im Mittenbass mehr Energie mitbringt als die gesamten Mitten. Das finde ich aber nicht allzu schlimm, denn ich mag grundsätzlich etwas wärmere Mitten und damit verbunden eine meist etwas intimere Stimmenpräsentation. Der MIRROR trifft mit Mitten oftmals genau meinen Geschmack, auch wenn ich mir manchmal noch ein bisschen mehr Klarheit wünschen würde. Dennoch schätze ich sehr, dass Stimmen mich nicht anbrüllen, aber auch nicht im Mix verschwinden. Dazu haben sie grundsätzlich ein recht natürliches Timbre (auch wenn die Höhen mehr oder weniger eine zerstörerische Naturgewalt sind). Manch einer könnte ihnen eine gewisse Leblosigkeit unterstellen, wo ich teilweise auch mitgehe, aber ich brauch nicht immer ein Himalaja-Plateau in den oberen Mitten um glücklich zu sein, im Gegenteil. Dennoch würde ich mir um die 2-3 kHz 2dB mehr wünschen, oder 2 dB weniger im Bass (40 – 200 Hz).

Die Höhen sind nun beim MIRROR für meine Ohren das Damoklesschwert, denn mein Hörglück hört relativ abrupt auf, wenn es in die höheren Frequenzen geht und ich finde nur weniger Songs, die ich einigermaßen stressfrei hören kann. Warum zu Hölle ist der Bereich um die 6 – 9 kHz nicht zumindest etwas abgemildert. Ja der Peak ist auch eine Couplerresonanz, was den Peak sicherlich verstärkt, allerdings ist die Energie in dem Bereich auch nicht von der Hand zu weisen. Abgesehen davon, dass ich eine solche Ausprägung bisher auch nur beim MIRROR & vielleicht beim KBEAR LARK gesehen habe (im Verhältnis zu den Mitten und dem Bass gesehen), ist die Sibilantenbetonung und damit verbundene schärfe Zischlaute nicht nur nervig, sondern teilweise ungenießbar. Das hat nichts mit Hochtonerweiterung, Transparenz oder Detailvielfalt zu tun, da es einfach künstlich und stechend klingt. Wie so oft wird eine grundsätzlich gute Signatur durch einen übertriebenen Hochton (wir sprechen hier nicht von einer besonderen Erweiterung, denn diese ist eher durchschnittlich) wieder in den Boden gestampft oder besser gesagt ins All geschickt (Team Rocket lässt grüßen). Schade, hier war deutlich mehr möglich.

Der MIRROR hat solide technische Eigenschaften mit einem ansprechenden Imaging und einer angemessenen Bühnenausdehnung, die durch den übertriebenen Hochton noch etwas künstlich erweitert wird. Den Preis angemessen würde ich mal behaupten.

Outro

Die Idee war gut, die Umsetzung weniger, zumindest wenn man (wie ich) gerade im Hochton eine hohe Empfindlichkeit für Sibilanten und Peaks mitbringt. Ich begrüße es, eine “experimentelle“ Signatur unter 50€ zu sehen, die von der Masse abweicht, aber dann hätte man diese auch konsequenter umsetzen sollen. Hier war wohl mehr der asiatische Markt im Hinterkopf, welcher eine Hochtonbetonung deutlich mehr zu schätzen weiß bzw. sogar voraussetzt, als andere.

Leider kann auch ein Micropore-Tape-Mod hier keine Wunder bewirken und so hilft nur ein drastischer Equalizer. Damit lässt sich der MIRROR dann gut zurechtbiegen, aber das sollte nicht der Anspruch sein.

Mein Favorit der CVJ Serie bleibt somit der CSA.

Legende

Haptik:
Hier spielt die Verarbeitung mit rein und die Nutzbarkeit des Lieferumfangs. Zusätzlich das Erscheinungsbild, Tragekomfort und die Robustheit.


Value:
Hier bewerte ich für mich subjektiv das Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis - fließt nicht in die Bewertung ein!

Z: No Brainer

A: gut investiertes Geld

B: kann man schon machen

C: gibt besseres für weniger Geld

D: überteuert

E: Liebhaberpreis

Alltag:
Hier lasse ich vor allem die Durchhörbarkeit einfließen und ob ich ihn Out-Of-The-Box gut hören kann. Das ist natürlich sehr subjektiv und daher nur ein minimaler Abzug, oder Bonus.(-0.1, 0, +0.1)

BL-03.jpg

Bewertung in Buchstaben

S: 9.5 - 10

A: 9.0 - 9.4​

B: 8.0 - 8.9​

C: 7.0 - 7.9

D: 6.0 - 6.9​
E: 5.0 - 5.9​

F: 0.0 - 4.9​

CS8

CS8

MIRROR

MIRROR

CSA

CSA

CSE

CSE

CSN

CSN

Second Opinion:

KLOGOWhite.png

CHI-FIEAR © 2020 by David Hahn

  • Facebook
  • Instagram