BUDGET
IN-EAR

DM-380

DUNU

Rating

Price

6

45 €

Review published:

04/2020

Driver

3

per Side

3

Dynamic

0

Balanced

Impedance

16 Ohm

Piezo

0

Sound

7.5

Bass

4.5

Mids

5.5

Trebles

Sensitivity

110 dB

5.8

Handling

7.5

Haptic

D

Value

-

Daily Life

Frequency

20 - 40000 Hz

Intro

DUNU is well known in Chi-Fi circles, both for excellent sound quality, workmanship, design and comfort in the mid-range and high-end range. But also for overpriced price management.

With the DM-380 and DM-480, DUNU is now adding two Budget-In-Ears to its product range. The DM-380 is the cheapest representative and is available for about 45 €. First of all: DUNU should remove the DM-380 again. Then rather overpriced and therefore also sound competitive than some branded, cheap OEM-In-Ear, which is completely lost in the price range and rather harms the brand.

Handling

DUNU really values to spoil its customers with good packaging design and useful extras.
Also the DM-380 comes better packed than you would expect or even need. Here you could perhaps save a little on the price.

Besides the DM-380, which has no detachable cable, we also get a small leather bag and a selection of silicone tips. This could certainly have been stored in a more packaging-efficient way.
But good, as known, the eye eats along.

The DM-380 is worn over the ear and has corresponding reinforcements on the cable to ensure a secure fit. Due to its round design, the DM-380 fits the ear very well and is therefore also very comfortable to wear.
The remote has three buttons, which can be easily distinguished and operated. The cable, on the other hand, looks quite robust, but is a bit tricky. Cable noises are also quite present.

The isolation is quite good, especially with foamtips (not included).

Sound


As beautiful the packaging design and comfort, as average/bad the sound.
But this is not true for the whole frequency spectrum.

The bass has by far the upper hand in terms of quality. It even really knows how to please. Dry and quite deep playing, it delivers the bass to the ears with tasteful and clean sound. It doesn't overpower and remains stable. I would wish for more depth and also a bit more warmth, which the signature needs.

The mids are strongly reduced in the lower range and in return extremely accentuated in the upper mids. This makes them very screechy and hardly bearable with voices. Also with guitars, especially electric guitars, artful solos end in a medium catastrophe. Here it was felt that the tuning was completely abandoned and if so, it is a mystery to me how the DM-380 could fall through the grid with the sonic demands of DUNU.
There are still advantages here for the decent separation and also the spatial representation, but in this case this is only a beauty correction on paper. We are far from naturalness here.

Of course, the trebles suffer a lot from the upper mids. If the bass can position itself even better on its own and thus also get a higher rating, the highs have no chance to distance themselves from the mids and are thus pulled close to the bottom. If the mids are tamed by an equalizer, they can shine and have noticeable strengths, especially in detail reproduction as well as in their extension. In combination with the mids, the trebles also lighten the signature unnecessarily and make for even faster fatigue.

Outro

For 45 € this was not only due to the strong competition in the price segment a grip in the toilet for DUNU. Surely you can listen to music, or audio books, as well as watch movies with the DM-380. But this is only possible if you don't have high expectations and above all an insensitive ear. Of course, a poorer sound is always possible, but the unloving handling of the sound of the DM-380 should not and cannot be the claim of DUNU, especially not if one prefers to orientate oneself upwards in terms of price instead of appropriately to the product. So we have a product that does not operate at the price level and in the very best case disappears in the average thicket.

https://www.dunu-topsound.com/dm-380

Legend

Haptic:

Here the processing plays a role and the usability of the scope of supply. Additionally the appearance, wearing comfort and robustness.


Value:
Here I evaluate for me subjectively the price/performance ratio - does not flow into the evaluation!

Z: No Brainer

A: money well spent

B: all right, you can do

C: gives better for less money

D: overpriced

E: collector's price

Daily life:
Here, I focus on the long-term audibility and whether I can hear it well out of the box. This is of course very subjective and therefore only a minimal deduction or bonus. 

(-0.1, 0, +0.1)

BL-03.jpg

Rating in Letters

S: 9.5 - 10

A: 9.0 - 9.4​

B: 8.0 - 8.9​

C: 7.0 - 7.9

D: 6.0 - 6.9​
E: 5.0 - 5.9​

F: 0.0 - 4.9​

DM-380

DM-380

DM-480

DM-480

Second Opinion

KLOGOWhite.png

CHI-FIEAR © 2020 by David Hahn

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

BUDGET
IN-EAR

DM-380

DUNU

Wertung

Preis

6

45 €

Review published:

04/2020

Treiber

3

pro Seite

3

Dynamisch

0

Balanced

Widerstand

16 Ohm

PZ/ES/PL

0

Klang

7.5

Bass

4.5

Mitten

5.5

Höhen

Empfindlichkeit

110 dB

5.8

Handling

7.5

Haptik

D

Value

-

Alltag

Frequenzgang

20 - 40000 Hz

Intro

DUNU ist in Chi-Fi-Kreisen bestens bekannt, sowohl für sehr gut Klangqualität, Verarbeitung, Design und Komfort im Mittelklasse und High-End-Bereich. Allerdings auch für ein überteuertes Preismanagement.

Mit dem DM-380 und DM-480 nimmt DUNU nun zwei Budget-In-Ears in ihre Produktpalette auf. Der DM-380 ist der günstigste Vertreter und für ca. 45 € zu haben. Gleich vorweg: DUNU sollte den DM-380 wieder streichen. Dann lieber überteuert und dafür auch klanglich konkurrenzfähig, als irgendein gebrandeter, günstiger OEM-In-Ear, der in der Preisklasse komplett unter geht und der Marke eher schadet.

Handling

DUNU legt wirklich wert darauf ihre Kunden mit gutem Verpackungsdesign und sinnvollen Extras zu verwöhnen.
Auch der DM-380 kommt besser verpackt, als man es unbedingt erwarten würde, oder auch nötig gewesen wäre. Hier könnte man vielleicht noch etwas am Preis sparen.

Neben dem DM-380, welcher kein abnehmbares Kabel hat, erhalten wir noch ein kleines Ledertäschchen und eine Auswahl an Silikontips. Das hätte sicherlich auch verpackungssparender untergebracht werden können.
Aber gut, das Auge isst ja bekanntlich mit.

Der DM-380 wird über dem Ohr getragen und besitzt dementsprechend auch Verstärkungen am Kabel, um einen sicheren Halt gewährleisten zu können. Der DM-380 passt durch sein rundes Design sehr gut ins Ohr und trägt sich auch folglich ebenso sehr angenehm.
Die Remote hat drei Tasten, welche sich gut unterscheiden und auch bedienen lassen. Das Kabel wiederum wirkt recht robust, ist aber etwas fummelig. Kabelgeräusche sind ebenfalls recht präsent.

Die Isolation lässt sich sehen, vor allem mit Foamtips (nicht im Lieferumfang).

Klang

So schön das Verpackungsdesign und der Komfort, so durchschnittlich/schlecht der Klang.
Das trifft jedoch nicht auf das ganze Frequenzspektrum zu.

Der Bass hat hier, was die Qualität betrifft, mit Abstand die Oberhand. Er weiß sogar wirklich zu gefallen. Trocken und durchaus tiefspielend, befördern er mit schmackes und sauber die Bässe in die Ohren. Dabei überpowert er nicht und bleibt stabil. Ich würde mir mehr Tiefgang wünschen und auch etwas mehr Wärme, was die Signatur bitter nötig hat.

Die Mitten sind im tieferen Bereich stark zurück genommen und im Gegenzug in den oberen Mitten extrem betont. Das macht sie sehr kreischend und bei Stimmen kaum zu ertragen. Auch bei Gitarren, vor allem E-Gitarren, enden kunstvolle Solos in einer mittleren Katastrophe. Hier wurde gefühlt komplett auf das Tuning verzichtet und falls doch, ist es mir ein Rätsel, wie der DM-380, bei dem klanglichen Anspruch von DUNU, durch das Raster fallen konnte.
Pluspunkte gibt es hier noch für die anständige Separation und auch die räumliche Darstellung, aber das ist in dem Fall nur eine Schönheitskorrektur auf dem Papier. Von Natürlichkeit sind wir hier weit entfernt.

Die Höhen leiden natürlich sehr unter den oberen Mitten. Kann der Bass sich noch besser alleine positionieren und dadurch auch eine höhere Bewertung absahnen, haben die Höhen keine Chance sich von den Mitten zu distanzieren und werden so mit nah unten gezogen. Dabei können sie bei Zähmung der Mitten durch einen Equalizer durchaus glänzen und haben vor allem in der Detailwiedergabe erkennbare Stärken, wie auch in ihrer Erweiterung. Im Zusammenspiel mit den Mitten hellen die Höhen die Signatur zusätzlich unnötig auf und sorgen für eine noch schnellere Ermüdung.

Outro

Für 45 € war das nicht nur durch die starke Konkurrenz in dem Preissegment ein Griff ins Klo für DUNU. Sicherlich kann man mit dem DM-380 Musik, oder Hörbücher hören, sowie Filme gucken. Aber das geht nur wenn man keine großen Ansprüche hat und vor allem ein unsensibles Gehör. Schlechter geht natürlich immer, aber der lieblose Umgang mit dem Klang des DM-380 sollte und kann nicht der Anspruch von DUNU sein, schon gar nicht, wenn man preislich sich lieber nach oben orientiert, statt dem Produkt angemessen. So haben wir ein Produkt, das nicht auf dem Preisniveau agiert und im allerbesten Falls im Durchschnittsdickicht verschwindet.

https://www.dunu-topsound.com/dm-380

Legende

Haptik:
Hier spielt die Verarbeitung mit rein und die Nutzbarkeit des Lieferumfangs. Zusätzlich das Erscheinungsbild, Tragekomfort und die Robustheit.


Value:
Hier bewerte ich für mich subjektiv das Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis - fließt nicht in die Bewertung ein!

Z: No Brainer

A: gut investiertes Geld

B: kann man schon machen

C: gibt besseres für weniger Geld

D: überteuert

E: Liebhaberpreis

Alltag:
Hier lasse ich vor allem die Durchhörbarkeit einfließen und ob ich ihn Out-Of-The-Box gut hören kann. Das ist natürlich sehr subjektiv und daher nur ein minimaler Abzug, oder Bonus.(-0.1, 0, +0.1)

BL-03.jpg

Bewertung in Buchstaben

S: 9.5 - 10

A: 9.0 - 9.4​

B: 8.0 - 8.9​

C: 7.0 - 7.9

D: 6.0 - 6.9​
E: 5.0 - 5.9​

F: 0.0 - 4.9​

DM-380

DM-380

DM-480

DM-480

Zweite Meinung:

CHI-FIEAR © 2020 by David Hahn

  • Facebook
  • Instagram