BUDGET
IN-EAR

GR-i

GUIDERAY

Rating

Price

7.7

40 €

Review published:

03/2020

Driver

2

per Side

1

Dynamic

1

Balanced

Impedance

19 Ohm

Piezo

0

Sound

8

Bass

7

Mids

7.5

Trebles

Sensitivity

100 dB

7.5

Handling

9

Haptic

A

Value

0

Daily Life

Frequency

20 - 20000 Hz

Intro

The GUIDERAY GR-I impresses with its custom design and fun signature. It could end up higher in the ranking, if it wouldn't be a bit sloppy with its V-signature in the mid and high ranges.

Handling

The GR-I not only looks like a custom, it also wears like one. It is light and ergonomically shaped. In addition, it fills the ear almost completely, which gives it additional very good isolation.

The package contents are nothing special, but more than adequate. The cable is quite good, as are the silicone tips that come with it, which also includes a set of double-flange tips.

It is suitable as in-ear for every situation in life, whether it is sports, on the way to work, or at home on the couch. In addition, three different, individual designs are available.

Sound

The GR-I is a powerhouse in the bass range. At the same time it stays surprisingly clean and on the point. Good punch and sub-expansion are characteristics of the GR-I. But it is not only convincing in quantity, it also has quality to offer, even if the main focus is on quantity. It does not overdrive and can also reproduce low bass notes cleanly and without problems.
However, it also gives the mids some of its testosterone.

Classic V-signature, classic recessed mids. But not to an alarming extent. The mids sound a bit dark and voices more pushed back, but they can catch some of it with good separation and joy of playing. Unfortunately the mids also accept the sibilants gratefully, but still in a bearable range and strongly song dependent. In general, the mids are clear and manage to bring out subtleties quite well, as long as the music doesn't get too hectic. Technically, however, a finer tuning would have been possible.

The highs try to make up for the lost energy of the mids. They succeed, but are also reflected in a few unpleasant peaks, which makes it difficult for me to consume music with the GR-I in the long run. I would describe myself as average high sensitive (in the past this was less pronounced, as you might have noticed in reviews of that time).
The trebles are surprisingly detailed and have a moderate expansion, although in some cases they sound a bit unnatural. They give the signature back its brightness and thus form the counterpart to the dominant warm bass. Typical V-signature. But in my opinion there is more to it, but perhaps the cheaper BA driver is to blame.

Outro

The GUIDERAY GR-I is a good all-rounder due to its handling and the funny V-signature, which will surely satisfy many people, if it is not about vocals. With almost 40 Euros it is also affordable and performs very well in this range! If you're looking for a distinctive, clean bass as well as airy, detailed, bright trebles and can make a few concessions, this is the place for you. For rock with a lot of hi-hat and cymbal there are better alternatives, though. I would like to mention again that I always run the in-ears through my DAC (ZuperDAC-S).
Without the ZuperDAC-S (directly over the Samsung S9 Plus) the GR-I sounds a bit more bassy, warmer and even the highs are not quite as peaky. On the other hand, the resolution is slightly lost and it gets mustier.

I enjoy it, even if not in the long run!

https://www.linsoul.com/products/guideray-gr-i

Legend

Haptic:

Here the processing plays a role and the usability of the scope of supply. Additionally the appearance, wearing comfort and robustness.


Value:
Here I evaluate for me subjectively the price/performance ratio - does not flow into the evaluation!

Z: No Brainer

A: money well spent

B: all right, you can do

C: gives better for less money

D: overpriced

E: collector's price

Daily life:
Here, I focus on the long-term audibility and whether I can hear it well out of the box. This is of course very subjective and therefore only a minimal deduction or bonus. 

(-0.1, 0, +0.1)

BL-03.jpg

Rating in Letters

S: 9.5 - 10

A: 9.0 - 9.4​

B: 8.0 - 8.9​

C: 7.0 - 7.9

D: 6.0 - 6.9​
E: 5.0 - 5.9​

F: 0.0 - 4.9​

GR-T20

GR-T20

GR-i

GR-i

GR-V5

GR-V5

Second Opinion

KLOGOWhite.png

CHI-FIEAR © 2020 by David Hahn

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

BUDGET
IN-EAR

GR-i

GUIDERAY

Wertung

Preis

7.7

40 €

Review published:

03/2020

Treiber

2

pro Seite

1

Dynamisch

1

Balanced

Widerstand

19 Ohm

PZ/ES/PL

0

Klang

8

Bass

7

Mitten

7.5

Höhen

Empfindlichkeit

100 dB

7.5

Handling

9

Haptik

A

Value

0

Alltag

Frequenzgang

20 - 20000 Hz

Intro

Der GUIDERAY GR-I besticht durch sein Customdesign und seiner spaßigen Signatur. Er könnte im Ranking weiter oben landen, wenn er mit seiner V-Signatur in den Mitten und Höhen nicht etwas schlampen würde.

Handling

Der GR-I sieht nicht nur nach einem Custom aus, er trägt sich auch so. Er ist leicht und ergonomisch geformt. Dazu füllt er das Ohr fast komplett aus, was ihm zusätzlich eine sehr gute Isolation mit sich bringt.

Der Packungsinhalt ist zwar nichts besonderes, aber mehr als ausreichend. Das Kabel ist ganz gut, ebenso die mitgelieferten Silikontips, wozu auch ein Set an Double-Flange-Tips gehört.

Er eignet sich als In-Ear für jede Lebenslage, ob nun Sport, auf dem Weg zur Arbeit, oder zu Hause auf der Couch. Dazu stehen drei verschiedene, individuelle Designs zur Verfügung.

Klang

Der GR-I ist ein Kraftprotz im Bassbereich. Dabei bleibt er aber erstaunlich sauber und auf dem Punkt. Guter Punch und Sub-Erweiterung sind Merkmale des GR-I. Dabei kann er aber nicht nur in Quantität überzeugen, sondern hat auch erfreulicher Weise Qualität zu bieten hat, wenn auch das Hauptaugenmerk auf Quantität liegt. Er Übersteuert nicht und kann auch tiefe Bassnoten problemlos und sauber wiedergeben.
Allerdings gibt er den Mitten auch noch etwas von seinem Testosteron auf den Weg.

Klassische V-Signatur, klassische zurück genommene Mitten. Allerdings nicht in einem bedenklichen Ausmaß. Die Mitten klingen zwar etwas dunkel und auch Stimmen mehr zurückgedrängt, aber dafür können sie durch gute Separation und Spielfreude, wieder einiges auffangen. Leider nehmen die Mitten die Sibilanten auch dankbar an, allerdings noch in einem erträglichen Bereich und stark songabhängig. Generell sind die Mitten klar und schaffen es auch Feinheiten ganz gut herauszuarbeiten, solang die Musik nicht all zu hektisch wird. Technisch wäre hier aber sicherlich eine feinere Abstimmung drin gewesen.

Die Höhen wiederum versuchen die etwas abhanden gekommene Energie der Mitten wieder wett zu machen. Das gelingt ihnen auch, spiegelt sich aber auch in ein paar unangenehmen Peaks wieder, was es für mich schwer macht Musik mit dem GR-I auch auf Dauer zu konsumieren. Ich würde mich als durchschnittlich höhensensibel bezeichnen (früher war das weniger ausgeprägt, wie eventuell in damaligen Rezensionen zu entnehmen).
Die Höhen sind erstaunlich detailliert und haben eine moderate Erweiterung, wenn auch in einigen Fällen etwas unnatürlich klingend. Sie geben der Signatur die Helligkeit zurück und bilden somit das Gegenstück zum dominanten, warmen Bass. Typisch V-Signatur eben. Auch hier ist aber meines Erachtens mehr drin, aber vielleicht auch den günstigeren BA-Treiber geschuldet.

Outro

Der GUIDERAY GR-I ist durch sein Handling und der spaßigen V-Signatur ein guter Allrounder, der bestimmt viele zufrieden stellen wird, wenn es nicht gerade um Vocals geht. Mit knapp 40 Euro ist er auch erschwinglich und performt in dieser Range sehr gut! Wer auf der Suche nach einem ausgeprägten, sauberen Bass, sowie luftigen, detaillierten, hellen Höhen ist und ein paar Abstriche machen kann, ist hier gut bedient. Für Rock mit hohem Hi-Hat und Beckenanteil gibt es allerdings bessere Alternativen. Ich möchte hier noch einmal erwähnen, dass ich stets die In-Ears über meinen DAC (ZuperDAC-S) laufen lasse.
Ohne den ZuperDAC-S (direkt über das Samsung S9 Plus) klingt der GR-I, etwas bassiger, wärmer und auch die Höhnen sind nicht ganz so peaky. Dafür geht aber auch leicht die Auflösung abhanden und es wird muffliger.

Mir macht er Spaß, wenn auch nicht auf Dauer!

https://www.linsoul.com/products/guideray-gr-i

Legende

Haptik:
Hier spielt die Verarbeitung mit rein und die Nutzbarkeit des Lieferumfangs. Zusätzlich das Erscheinungsbild, Tragekomfort und die Robustheit.


Value:
Hier bewerte ich für mich subjektiv das Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis - fließt nicht in die Bewertung ein!

Z: No Brainer

A: gut investiertes Geld

B: kann man schon machen

C: gibt besseres für weniger Geld

D: überteuert

E: Liebhaberpreis

Alltag:
Hier lasse ich vor allem die Durchhörbarkeit einfließen und ob ich ihn Out-Of-The-Box gut hören kann. Das ist natürlich sehr subjektiv und daher nur ein minimaler Abzug, oder Bonus.(-0.1, 0, +0.1)

BL-03.jpg

Bewertung in Buchstaben

S: 9.5 - 10

A: 9.0 - 9.4​

B: 8.0 - 8.9​

C: 7.0 - 7.9

D: 6.0 - 6.9​
E: 5.0 - 5.9​

F: 0.0 - 4.9​

GR-T20

GR-T20

GR-i

GR-i

GR-V5

GR-V5

Second Opinion:

KLOGOWhite.png

CHI-FIEAR © 2020 by David Hahn

  • Facebook
  • Instagram