BUDGET
IN-EAR

ATE

KNOWLEDGE ZENITH

Rating

Price

6.7

8 €

Review published:

07/2018

Driver

1

per Side

1

Dynamic

0

Balanced

Impedance

16 Ohm

Piezo

0

Sound

7.5

Bass

6.5

Mids

6

Trebles

Sensitivity

106 dB

6.7

Handling

7

Haptic

B

Value

0

Daily Life

Frequency

15 - 29000 Hz

Intro

The KZ ATE definitely has a nostalgia bonus with me. With this in-ear everything started: the Chi-Fi addiction.
Realistically speaking, the ATE is the classic entry into the Chi-Fi world, with a copper driver as sound generator. It is probably the most sold model of Knowledge Zenith and there is a reason for that. Great sound at an unbeatable price that won't hurt anyone. Of course it can't keep up with the top models in terms of sound, but it is definitely a more than comparable alternative to models from the domestic electronics store in the 30 € range.

Handling

The ATE take an unconventional approach to design and are both functional and aesthetic with their noble appearance and ergonomic construction. They are worn over the ear, but they do not have a classic wire or rubber-reinforced bow, but are held behind the ear with the help of small golden weights. This makes them very easy to use, as the cable can be simply placed over the ear and stays there.

I have had my ATE for almost 3 years now and even after initial very intensive use they are still alive. Now they spend a lot of time in the closet with many other in-ears, as they are no longer part of my everyday headphones. Nevertheless I would not like to miss them.

The isolation is excellent! However, you should use foam tips to get a better fit (especially during sports), as well as sound.

The speech intelligibility (mic version) meets the requirements and does not allow any criticism.

Sound

The copper driver does a very good job in all frequency ranges. The basses are emphasised, especially in the mid-bass range, but still you have driving mids and relaxed highs.

The bass is in the foreground with these in-ears when you get a good sealing fit. The low bass rumbles properly and the mid bass brings warmth to the music. Unfortunately, sometimes too much, which can overshadow the mids and make them unclean. Still in the price range without much competition. The bass response is surprisingly quick.

The mids are very lively. Vocals are clear and guitars are also going well. This can be a bit exhausting, which clouds the overall impression a bit. In general, the ATE with its fun, warm sound is well suited for rock music, metal or pop where the focus is not necessarily in the low bass range, but the energy comes more from the mids and highs.

The latter are a bit too dark for my taste and also the details are a bit lacking. The spatial presentation is adequate, but above average for this price. Here, one first has to get used to it a little bit, but after a short time, one also notices more of the heights, recognizes more details and has a separated localization.
For this purpose they are just right for long listening pleasure, as apart from rarely occurring outliers in the mids there are no strong peaks that could become unpleasant.

Outro

Of course, ATE are no longer really competitive with the newer Chi-Fi models, especially when it comes to an audiophile claim, but they still have their strengths that become apparent when you compare them with international models (Sony, Philips etc.). Some of them are also three times more expensive, but they don't sound better and don't have the good wearing concept as the ATE, as well as the design.

Even if they are a bit rusty compared to the fast-paced Chi-Fi world, I can still give an unqualified recommendation to buy, especially for this price.

Legend

Haptic:

Here the processing plays a role and the usability of the scope of supply. Additionally the appearance, wearing comfort and robustness.


Value:
Here I evaluate for me subjectively the price/performance ratio - does not flow into the evaluation!

Z: No Brainer

A: money well spent

B: all right, you can do

C: gives better for less money

D: overpriced

E: collector's price

Daily life:
Here, I focus on the long-term audibility and whether I can hear it well out of the box. This is of course very subjective and therefore only a minimal deduction or bonus. 

(-0.1, 0, +0.1)

BL-03.jpg

Rating in Letters

S: 9.5 - 10

A: 9.0 - 9.4​

B: 8.0 - 8.9​

C: 7.0 - 7.9

D: 6.0 - 6.9​
E: 5.0 - 5.9​

F: 0.0 - 4.9​

AS06

AS06

ATE

ATE

ED16

ED16

S2

S2

ZS10 Pro

ZS10 Pro

ZS7

ZS7

ZSN PRO X

ZSN PRO X

ZSX

ZSX

AS10

AS10

BA10

BA10

EDX

EDX

Z1

Z1

ZS4

ZS4

ZSA

ZSA

ZSR

ZSR

ASF

ASF

ED12

ED12

ES3

ES3

ZAX

ZAX

ZS5

ZS5

ZSN

ZSN

ZST

ZST

ASX

ASX

ED15

ED15

ES4

ES4

ZS10

ZS10

ZS6

ZS6

ZSN PRO

ZSN PRO

ZST X

ZST X

Second Opinion

KLOGOWhite.png

CHI-FIEAR © 2020 by David Hahn

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

BUDGET
IN-EAR

ATE

KNOWLEDGE ZENITH

Wertung

Preis

6.7

8 €

Review published:

07/2018

Hifigo.jpg
Company.png

Treiber

1

pro Seite

1

Dynamisch

0

Balanced

Widerstand

16 Ohm

PZ/ES/PL

0

Klang

7.5

Bass

6.5

Mitten

6

Höhen

Empfindlichkeit

106 dB

6.7

Handling

7

Haptik

B

Value

0

Alltag

Frequenzgang

15 - 29000 Hz

Intro

Der KZ ATE hat bei mir definitiv einen Nostalgiebonus. Mit diesem In-Ear hat bei mir alles angefangen: die Chi-Fi-Sucht.
Realistisch betrachtet ist der ATE der klassische Einstieg in die Chi-Fi-Welt, mit einem Kupfertreiber als Klangerzeuger. Es ist wohl auch das meist verkaufte Modell von Knowledge Zenith und das hat auch einen Grund. Klasse Sound zu einem unschlagbaren Preis, der niemanden weh tut. Natürlich kann er klanglich mit den Topmodellen nicht mehr mithalten, aber er ist definitiv eine mehr als vergleichbare Alternative zu Modellen aus dem heimischen Elektrofachmarkt im 30 €-Bereich.

Handling

Die ATE gehen in Design einen unkonventionellen Weg und sind mit ihrem edlen Aussehen, sowie ergonomischen Bauform funktional und ästhetisch zugleich. Sie werden über das Ohr getragen, jedoch besitzen sie keinen klassischen Bügel aus Draht, oder mit Gummiverstärkung, sondern werden mit Hilfe von kleinen goldenen Gewichen hinter dem Ohr gehalten. Das macht sie sehr einfach einzusetzen, da das Kabel einfach über das Ohr gelegt werden kann und dort auch bleibt.

Ich habe meine ATE jetzt fast 3 Jahre und auch nach anfänglichem sehr intensiven Nutzen sind sie immer noch am Leben. Nun verbringen sie viel Zeit im Schrank mit vielen anderen In-Ears, da sie nicht mehr zu meinen alltäglichen Kopfhörern gehören. Dennoch möchte ich sie nicht missen.

Die Isolation ist ausgezeichnet! Allerdings sollte man Foam-Tips verwenden, um einen besseren Sitz (vor allem beim Sport), als auch Klang zu erzielen.

Die Sprachverständlichkeit (Mic-Version) entspricht den Anforderungen und lässt keine Kritik zu.

Klang

Der Kupfertreiber leistet sehr gute Arbeit in allen Frequenzbereichen. Die Bässe sind betont, vor allem im Mittenbassbereich, aber dennoch hat man treibende Mitten und entspannten Höhen.

Der Bass steht bei diesen In-Ears im Vordergrund, wenn man einen gut abdichtenden Sitz erreicht. Der Tiefbass rumpelt ordentlich und der Mittenbass bringt Wärme in die Musik. Leider manchmal auch zu viel, wodurch er die Mitten etwas überschattet und unsauber werden kann. Dennoch in der Preisklasse ohne viel Konkurrenz. Die Bassantwort ist überraschend flink.

Die Mitten sind sehr lebendig. Vocals sind klar und auch Gitarren gehen ordentlich voran. Das kann auch mal anstrengend werden, was den Gesamteindruck etwas trübt. Generell eignet sich der ATE mit seinem spaßigen, warmen Klang gut für Rockmusik, Metall, oder Pop wo der Fokus nicht unbedingt im tiefen Bassbereich liegt, sondern die Energie eher aus den Mitten und Höhen kommt.

Letztere sind für meinen Geschmack etwas zu dunkel und auch an den Details hapert es ein wenig. Die räumliche Darstellung ist angemessen, für diesen Preis aber überdurchschnittlich. Hier muss man sich erst etwas dran gewöhnen, aber nach kurzer Zeit nimmt man auch mehr von den Höhen wahr, erkennt mehr Details und hat eine separierter Ortung.
Dazu sind sie für langen Hörspaß genau richtig, da bis auf selten auftretende Ausreißer in den Mitten keine starken Peaks auftreten die unangenehm werden könnten.

Outro

Klar sind die ATE mit den neueren Chi-Fi-Modellen nicht mehr wirklich konkurrenzfähig, gerade wenn es um einen audiophilen Anspruch geht, aber dennoch haben sie ihre Stärken die einem bewusst werden wenn man sie mit internationalen Modellen (Sony, Philips etc.) vergleicht. Diese sind zum Teil auch dreimal so teuer, klingen aber nicht besser und haben auch nicht das gute Tragekonzept wie die ATE, sowie das Design.

Auch wenn sie im Vergleich zur schnelllebigen Chi-Fi-Welt etwas eingerostet sind, kann ich trotzdem eine uneingeschränkte Kaufempfehlung abgeben, gerade für diesen Preis.

Legende

Haptik:
Hier spielt die Verarbeitung mit rein und die Nutzbarkeit des Lieferumfangs. Zusätzlich das Erscheinungsbild, Tragekomfort und die Robustheit.


Value:
Hier bewerte ich für mich subjektiv das Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis - fließt nicht in die Bewertung ein!

Z: No Brainer

A: gut investiertes Geld

B: kann man schon machen

C: gibt besseres für weniger Geld

D: überteuert

E: Liebhaberpreis

Alltag:
Hier lasse ich vor allem die Durchhörbarkeit einfließen und ob ich ihn Out-Of-The-Box gut hören kann. Das ist natürlich sehr subjektiv und daher nur ein minimaler Abzug, oder Bonus.(-0.1, 0, +0.1)

BL-03.jpg
AS06

AS06

ED12

ED12

ES4

ES4

ZS10 Pro

ZS10 Pro

ZS7

ZS7

ZSR

ZSR

AS10

AS10

ED15

ED15

S2

S2

ZS4

ZS4

ZSA

ZSA

ZST

ZST

ATE

ATE

ED16

ED16

Z1

Z1

ZS5

ZS5

ZSN

ZSN

ZSX

ZSX

BA10

BA10

ES3

ES3

ZS10

ZS10

ZS6

ZS6

ZSN Pro

ZSN Pro

Zweite Meinung:

KLOGOWhite.png
  • Facebook
  • Instagram

CHI-FIEAR © 2020 by David Hahn