BUDGET
IN-EAR

Version

5.0

Battery

4 h

Reach

15 m

S2

KNOWLEDGE ZENITH

Rating

Price

7.1

45 €

Review published:

04/2020

Driver

2

per Side

1

Dynamic

1

Balanced

Impedance

n/a

Piezo

0

Sound

8

Bass

6.5

Mids

6.5

Trebles

Sensitivity

n/a

7

Handling

8.5

Haptic

C

Value

-

Daily Life

Frequency

10 - 20000 Hz

Intro

Knowledge Zenith seems to focus on Bluetooth after the quite successful ZSX and has meanwhile released two models, the E10 and the S1. The S2 is now the successor to the S1. The typical Knowledge Zenith sound is also found in the S2, which is reflected in a V-signature with a bright timbre and powerful, punchy bass and raised treble. A solid BT-IEM, but KZ had the sibilants and peaks much better under control, even if it is just bearable, but not for long.

Handling

The S2 comes in a black folding case. In addition there are two pairs of transparent silicone tips, but they have the same size.
If you take the headphones out, they are put directly into pairing mode and if a connection has already been established with the phone or another bluetooth-compatible playback medium, they are also automatically reconnected. If you put them back, they automatically disconnect and switch to charging mode.

Otherwise, the S2 is characterized by a classic IEM design, which doesn't seem too clunky despite the battery, and therefore a very good wearing comfort and isolation.

Even if I'm generally not the biggest fan of touch controls, they work perfectly with the S2. Touches are directly recognized and also correctly categorized. Song management, speech recognition, or call acceptance works quickly and easily. In addition, the voice quality is quite okay, even if it is a bit reverberant.

Bluetooth 5.0, a sufficient playing time of 4 hours with one charge, which can be refilled by the charging box about 3-4 times before everything has to go back to the socket and a transmission range of about 15m round off the technical features of the S2.

Sound

For me KZ makes a step backwards rather than forwards in terms of sound.

The bass is as usual from KZ, tuned quite fun, with a tight punch, quite fast and pretty detailed and textured. For me the clear strength of the S2 and a positive ray of hope.
It resonates only slightly and makes a very firm impression without overdriving. There's not much else to say here, as the bass is really very good and has enough output level even in the sub range.

The mids are only slightly influenced by the bass, but they fade more into the background.
Nevertheless, voices come forward well and the upper mids provide a pushing character. Unfortunately, the good tonality is ruined by the sibilant emphasis that can't be ignored. Additionally, the mids are very demanding, especially at higher volumes, and can't be tolerated for long. The transparency doesn't help either. In addition, the mids, in interaction with the trebles, are not natural enough.

The trebles have received a considerable boost in the lower range, which for me is not really in proportion to the bass and mids. On the one hand this has an additional negative effect on the mids, on the other hand they sound more metallic and not so natural anymore. Here, I rather remember the ZST Pro back. For the mids and highs no less BA driver is used than the 300095 copied by KZ, which always had a problem of increased sibilant emphasis and the repeated occurrence of unpleasant peaks. Depending on the filter or crossover, KZ had the 30095 sometimes better, sometimes less under control. Unfortunately the latter is the case here. I thought that this problem was solved with the ZS10 Pro or ZSX.

The S2 is quite good at locating, but you're more concerned with fading out hissing and slight stinging, which makes it less fun to concentrate on the music. The stage is wider than deep and has a pleasant size, which is neither too lost nor too intimate.

Outro


The S2 is too bright and sharp for me. For a long time I can't consume music with it and enjoy the really good bass. The highs and mids require either a very insensitive ear or an equalizer. They are not bad, but the positive characteristics can't prevail sufficiently. If you like the "Asian" sound (a bit overloaded with high frequencies) and in general had little problems with the earlier KZ models, you might get what you want.

What has turned out well are the purely technical features regarding the Bluetooth connection and the handling. In addition I can also not criticize the wearing comfort.

https://www.linsoul.com/pages/kz-s2

Legend

Haptic:

Here the processing plays a role and the usability of the scope of supply. Additionally the appearance, wearing comfort and robustness.


Value:
Here I evaluate for me subjectively the price/performance ratio - does not flow into the evaluation!

Z: No Brainer

A: money well spent

B: all right, you can do

C: gives better for less money

D: overpriced

E: collector's price

Daily life:
Here, I focus on the long-term audibility and whether I can hear it well out of the box. This is of course very subjective and therefore only a minimal deduction or bonus. 

(-0.1, 0, +0.1)

BL-03.jpg

Rating in Letters

S: 9.5 - 10

A: 9.0 - 9.4​

B: 8.0 - 8.9​

C: 7.0 - 7.9

D: 6.0 - 6.9​
E: 5.0 - 5.9​

F: 0.0 - 4.9​

AS06

AS06

ATE

ATE

ED16

ED16

S2

S2

ZS10 Pro

ZS10 Pro

ZS7

ZS7

ZSN PRO X

ZSN PRO X

ZSX

ZSX

AS10

AS10

BA10

BA10

EDX

EDX

Z1

Z1

ZS4

ZS4

ZSA

ZSA

ZSR

ZSR

ASF

ASF

ED12

ED12

ES3

ES3

ZAX

ZAX

ZS5

ZS5

ZSN

ZSN

ZST

ZST

ASX

ASX

ED15

ED15

ES4

ES4

ZS10

ZS10

ZS6

ZS6

ZSN PRO

ZSN PRO

ZST X

ZST X

Second Opinion

KLOGOWhite.png

CHI-FIEAR © 2020 by David Hahn

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

BUDGET
IN-EAR

Version

5.0

Batterie

4 h

Reichweite

15 m

S2

KNOWLEDGE ZENITH

Wertung

Preis

7.1

45 €

Review published:

04/2020

Treiber

2

pro Seite

1

Dynamisch

1

Balanced

Widerstand

n/a

PZ/ES/PL

0

Klang

8

Bass

6.5

Mitten

6.5

Höhen

Empfindlichkeit

n/a

7

Handling

8.5

Haptik

C

Value

-

Alltag

Frequenzgang

10 - 20000 Hz

Intro

Knowledge Zenith scheint sich nach dem durchaus gelungenen ZSX auf Bluetooth zu konzentrieren und hat mittlerweile mit dem E10 und dem S1 zwei Modelle veröffentlicht. Der S2 ist nun der Nachfolger zum S1. Der typische Knowledge Zenith-Sound steckt auch im S2, was sich in einer V-Signatur mit hellem Klang und dominanten, punchigem Bass, sowie angehobenen Höhen zeigt. Ein solider BT-IEM, allerdings hatte KZ die Sibilanten und Peaks schon mal wesentlich besser im Griff, auch wenn es gerade so erträglich ist, aber auch nicht lange.

Handling

Der S2 kommt in einem schwarzen Klapp-Case. Dazu gibt es zwei paar durchsichte Silikontips, die allerdings die gleiche Größe haben.
Nimmt man die Kopfhörer heraus, so werden sie direkt in den Pairing-Modus versetzt und falls bereits eine Verbindung mit dem Telefon, oder einem anderen bluetoothfähigen Abspielmedium hergestellt wurde, werden sie auch automatisch wieder konnektet. Legt man sie wieder zurück, entkoppeln sie sich automatisch und schalten in den Lademodus.

Ansonsten zeichnet den S2 ein klassisches IEM-Design aus, was trotz Akku nicht zu klobig erscheint und dem einhergehend, ein sehr guter Tragekomfort, sowie Isolation aufweist.

Auch wenn ich generell nicht der größte Fan von einer Touchbedienung bin, so funktioniert diese beim S2 tadellos. Berührungen werden direkt erkannt und auch richtig eingeordnet. Die Songverwaltung, Spracherkennung, oder Anrufannahme klappt problemlos und schnell. Dazu ist die Sprachqualität ganz okay, wenn auch etwas hallig.

Bluetooth 5.0, eine ausreichende Spielzeit von 4 Stunden mit einer Ladung, welche durch die Ladebox ca. 3-4 mal wieder aufgefüllt werden kann bevor alles wieder an die Steckdose muss und eine Übertragungsreichweite von ca. 15m runden die technischen Eigenschaften des S2 ab.

Klang

Für mich macht KZ klanglich eher einen Schritt zurück anstatt nach vorne.

Der Bass ist wie von KZ gewohnt, recht spaßig abgestimmt, mit einem knackigen Punch, recht flott und durchaus Detailliert und Texturiert. Für mich die klare Stärke des S2 und ein positiver Lichtblick.
Er schwingt nur wenig nach und macht einen sehr festen Eindruck, ohne zu übersteuern. Hier gibt es sonst nicht viel zu sagen, da der Bass wirklich sehr gut ist und auch im Sub-Bereich noch genügend Pegel aufweist.

Die Mitten werden nur leicht vom Bass beeinflusst, treten jedoch mehr in den Hintergrund.
Dennoch kommen Stimmen gut nach vorne und die oberen Mitten sorgen für einen treibenden Charakter. Leider wird die an sich gute Tonalität durch die nicht wegzudiskutierende Sibilantenbetonung zunichte gemacht. Dazu sind die Mitten gerade bei höherer Lautstärke sehr fordernd und nicht lange zu ertragen. Da hilft dann auch die ordentliche Transparenz nichts. Dazu sind die Mitten, im Zusammenspiel mit den Höhen, nicht natürlich genug.

Die Höhen haben eine ordentliche Anhebung im unteren Bereich erhalten, die für mich nicht wirklich im Verhältnis zum Bass und den Mitten steht. Zum einen wirkt sich das zusätzlich negativ auf die Mitten aus, zum anderen klingen sie dadurch metallischer und nicht mehr so natürlich. Hier erinnere ich mich eher an den ZST Pro zurück. Für den Mitten und Hochton kommt auch kein geringerer BA-Treiber zum Einsatz, als der von KZ kopierte 300095. Dieser hatte schon immer ein Problem, und das war zum einen die erhöhte Sibilantenbetonung und zum anderen das wiederholte Auftreten von unangenehmen Peaks. Je nach Filter, oder Frequenzweiche hatte KZ den 30095 mal besser, mal weniger im Griff. Hier ist leider letzteres der Fall. Ich dachte, dass dieses Problem mit dem ZS10 Pro, oder ZSX ausgeräumt gewesen wäre.

Die Ortung gelingt mit dem S2 ganz gut, allerdings ist man mehr damit beschäftigt das Zischeln und leichte Stechen auszublenden, wodurch es weniger Freude bereitet sich auf die Musik zu konzentrieren. Die Bühne ist breiter aufgestellt als tief und hat eine angenehme Größe, die weder zu verloren, oder zu intim wirkt.

Outro

Der S2 ist mir zu grell und spitz. Lange kann ich damit Musik nicht konsumieren und mich am wirklich guten Bass erfreuen. Die Höhen und Mitten erfordern entweder ein sehr unsensibles Ohr, oder einen Equalizer. Schlecht sind sie nicht, aber die positiven Eigenschaften können sich nicht ausreichen durchsetzen. Wer auf den “asiatischen“ Klang steht (etwas höhenlastig) und generell auch mit den früheren KZ-Modellen wenig Probleme gehabt hat, kommt hier vielleicht auf seine Kosten.

Was gut gelungen ist, sind die rein technischen Eigenschaften, was die Bluetooth-Verbindung anbelangt und das Handling. Dazu kann ich auch am Tragekomfort nichts aussetzen.

https://www.linsoul.com/pages/kz-s2

Legende

Haptik:
Hier spielt die Verarbeitung mit rein und die Nutzbarkeit des Lieferumfangs. Zusätzlich das Erscheinungsbild, Tragekomfort und die Robustheit.


Value:
Hier bewerte ich für mich subjektiv das Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis - fließt nicht in die Bewertung ein!

Z: No Brainer

A: gut investiertes Geld

B: kann man schon machen

C: gibt besseres für weniger Geld

D: überteuert

E: Liebhaberpreis

Alltag:
Hier lasse ich vor allem die Durchhörbarkeit einfließen und ob ich ihn Out-Of-The-Box gut hören kann. Das ist natürlich sehr subjektiv und daher nur ein minimaler Abzug, oder Bonus.(-0.1, 0, +0.1)

BL-03.jpg

Bewertung in Buchstaben

S: 9.5 - 10

A: 9.0 - 9.4​

B: 8.0 - 8.9​

C: 7.0 - 7.9

D: 6.0 - 6.9​
E: 5.0 - 5.9​

F: 0.0 - 4.9​

AS06

AS06

ATE

ATE

ED16

ED16

S2

S2

ZS10 Pro

ZS10 Pro

ZS7

ZS7

ZSN PRO X

ZSN PRO X

ZSX

ZSX

AS10

AS10

BA10

BA10

EDX

EDX

Z1

Z1

ZS4

ZS4

ZSA

ZSA

ZSR

ZSR

ASF

ASF

ED12

ED12

ES3

ES3

ZAX

ZAX

ZS5

ZS5

ZSN

ZSN

ZST

ZST

ASX

ASX

ED15

ED15

ES4

ES4

ZS10

ZS10

ZS6

ZS6

ZSN PRO

ZSN PRO

ZST X

ZST X

Second Opinion:

KLOGOWhite.png

CHI-FIEAR © 2020 by David Hahn

  • Facebook
  • Instagram