BUDGET
IN-EAR

ZS10

KNOWLEDGE ZENITH

Rating

Price

7.7

25 €

Review published:

04/2018

Driver

5

per Side

1

Dynamic

4

Balanced

Impedance

30 Ohm

Piezo

0

Sound

8

Bass

7

Mids

7.5

Trebles

Sensitivity

104 dB

7.5

Handling

8

Haptic

B

Value

+

Daily Life

Frequency

7 - 40000 Hz

Intro

The ZS10 comes with 5 drivers per side (1 DD & 4 BA) and is therefore the first in-ear to be available with this configuration under 50 €. It is in this range the direct successor to the ZS6 which has already played at the top of the budget league. The ZS10 goes in a different direction with its sound signature and thus offers a different but great listening experience. Must-to-Have for Chi-Fi fans!

With ease it switches back and forth between the various types of music and always cuts a grand figure when you like a V-signature.

Handling

The ZS10 is made of transparent plastic. So you can see the 5 drivers perfectly, as well as the crossover, which assigns the single frequency ranges to the drivers. In order to be able to accommodate all this in the case, it wasn't ambitious with space. The ZS10 are big, almost huge compared to the average monitor in-ears. Nevertheless, contrary to expectations, they are quite comfortable to wear, similar to the ZST, and fit well in the ear.

KZ supplies new stock cables, probably due to the long lasting criticism of the listeners. These are very similar (braided) to the supplied TRN V-series cables, but still have the memory wire as an earhook. However, this can be deformed better and is also more stable when worn. This means another step forward, although still not optimal. Silicon ear tips (KZ star tips) remain standard. The noise isolation is good, both inwards and outwards.

Sound

The sound is really great and doesn't find many opponents in the Budget-In-Ear family. With only a few exceptions, only much more expensive models can keep up.

Starting with the crisp, well-tempered bass, the smooth midrange and the detailed treble, the ZS10 is convincing.
Everything that was missing from the sound of previous KZ models can be found in the ZS10. I would describe it as a successful mixture of ZSR and ZS6.

The highs are clean and detailed, but compared to the ZS6 they don't have such a pronounced peak at 9 kHz, which could cause headaches. They bring a nice lightness with them, without ever becoming sharp or clinking. It is also noticeable that the BA drivers are located deeper in the cabinet and no longer directly in the nozzle, which certainly enhances the sound characteristics.

The mids are very well balanced, without any preference for a range. They provide clear voice reproduction and instrument separation, but are not quite as present due to the V-signature and are somewhat pushed into the background.

The bass is reproduced by a dynamic driver and it can really be a beast if he wants. However, he doesn't overpower, or overlay the midrange, but stays where he belongs. It punches, kicks, and lets us feel it when it is musically desired. With weak sources, however, he also makes an unwanted excursion. The sub-bass remains a tiny point of criticism, there is enough of it, but sometimes I would like a little bit more.
The stage is a bit smaller than the ZS6, but the location is very good.

The 5 drivers do a very good job because of their arrangement, so that you partly have the feeling to have a small concert hall in your ear.

Outro

For the price of less than 40 €, you get a lot and have to invest little. Of course you have to like a V-signature, but if this is the case, you can't avoid the ZS10. Great work by KZ who made their promise come true and offer a great 5-driver in-ear for an unbeatable price.

It will be interesting to see what KZ will be throwing on the market in the near future, measured by these in-ears! The competition can dress warmly at any rate.

Legend

Haptic:

Here the processing plays a role and the usability of the scope of supply. Additionally the appearance, wearing comfort and robustness.


Value:
Here I evaluate for me subjectively the price/performance ratio - does not flow into the evaluation!

Z: No Brainer

A: money well spent

B: all right, you can do

C: gives better for less money

D: overpriced

E: collector's price

Daily life:
Here, I focus on the long-term audibility and whether I can hear it well out of the box. This is of course very subjective and therefore only a minimal deduction or bonus. 

(-0.1, 0, +0.1)

BL-03.jpg

Rating in Letters

S: 9.5 - 10

A: 9.0 - 9.4​

B: 8.0 - 8.9​

C: 7.0 - 7.9

D: 6.0 - 6.9​
E: 5.0 - 5.9​

F: 0.0 - 4.9​

AS06

AS06

ATE

ATE

ED16

ED16

S2

S2

ZS10 Pro

ZS10 Pro

ZS7

ZS7

ZSN PRO X

ZSN PRO X

ZSX

ZSX

AS10

AS10

BA10

BA10

EDX

EDX

Z1

Z1

ZS4

ZS4

ZSA

ZSA

ZSR

ZSR

ASF

ASF

ED12

ED12

ES3

ES3

ZAX

ZAX

ZS5

ZS5

ZSN

ZSN

ZST

ZST

ASX

ASX

ED15

ED15

ES4

ES4

ZS10

ZS10

ZS6

ZS6

ZSN PRO

ZSN PRO

ZST X

ZST X

Second Opinion

KLOGOWhite.png

CHI-FIEAR © 2020 by David Hahn

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

BUDGET
IN-EAR

ZS10

KNOWLEDGE ZENITH

Wertung

Preis

7.7

25 €

Review published:

04/2018

Treiber

5

pro Seite

1

Dynamisch

4

Balanced

Widerstand

30 Ohm

PZ/ES/PL

0

Klang

8

Bass

7

Mitten

7.5

Höhen

Empfindlichkeit

104 dB

7.5

Handling

8

Haptik

B

Value

+

Alltag

Frequenzgang

7 - 40000 Hz

Intro

Der ZS10 kommt pro Seite mit 5 Treibern (1 DD & 4 BA) daher und ist somit der erste In-Ear der mit dieser Konfiguration unter 50 € zu haben ist. Er ist in dieser Größenordnung der direkte Nachfolger zum ZS6 der selbst schon ganz oben in der Budget-Liga mitgespielt hat. Der ZS10 geht eine andere Richtung mit seiner Klangsignatur und bietet so ein anderes, aber großartiges Hörerlebnis. Must-To-Have für Chi-Fi Fans!

Mit Leichtigkeit switcht er zwischen unterschiedlichster Musik hin und her und macht immer eine grandiose Figur wenn man auf eine V-Signatur steht.

Handling

Gefertigt ist der ZS10 aus transparenten Plastik. So sieht man perfekt die 5 Treiber, sowie die Frequenzweiche, welche die einzelnen Frequenzbereiche den Treibern zuordnet. Um das alles in dem Gehäuse unter bringen zu können wurde nicht mit Platz gegeizt. Die ZS10 sind groß, ja fast riesig im Vergleich zu den Durchschnitts-Monitor-In-Ears. Dennoch lassen sie sich wider erwartend recht komfortabel tragen, ähnlich wie die ZST und sitzen gut im Ohr.

KZ liefert, wohl auf Grund der lang anhaltende Kritik der Hörer neue Stock-Kabel. Diese sind den mitgelieferten Kabel der TRN V-Serie sehr ähnlich (geflochten), haben aber immer noch den Memory-Draht als Ohrbügel. Dieses lässt sich aber besser verformen und ist auch beim Tragen stabiler. Heißt, ein weiterer Schritt nach vorne, wenn auch immer noch nicht optimal. Weiterhin Standard bleiben die Silicon-Ohr-Tips (KZ Stern-Tips). Die Geräuschisolierung ist gut, sowohl nach innen und nach außen.

Klang

Der Klang ist wirklich klasse und findet in der Budget-In-Ear-Familie nicht viele Gegner. Hier können bis auf wenige Ausnahmen nur weitaus teurere Modelle mithalten.

Angefangen mit dem knackigen, wohltemperierten Bässen, den smoothen Mitten und den detaillierten Höhen, kann der ZS10 überzeugen.
Alles was einem klanglich bei vorigen KZ-Modellen gefehlt hat, findet man beim ZS10. Ich würde Ihn als eine gelungene Mischung aus ZSR und ZS6 bezeichnen.

Die Höhen sind sauber und detailliert, haben im Vergleich zum ZS6 aber keinen so ausgeprägten Peak bei 9 kHz, welcher Kopfschmerzen bereiten konnte. Sie bringen eine schöne Leichtigkeit mit, ohne jemals scharf oder klirrend zu werden. Zudem fällt auf, dass die BA-Treiber tiefer im Gehäuse sitzen und nicht mehr direkt im Schallrohr, was die Klangeigenschaften sicherlich begünstigt.

Die Mitten sind sehr ausgewogen, ohne einen Bereich zu bevorzugen. Sie sorgen für eine klare Stimmenwiedergabe und Instrumentenseparation, sind jedoch durch die V-Signatur nicht ganz so präsent und geraten etwas in den Hintergrund.

Der Bass wird von einem dynamischen Treiber wiedergegeben und der kann wirklich ein Biest sein wenn er möchte. Allerdings überpowert er nicht, oder überlagert die Mitten, sondern bleibt da wo er hingehört. Er puncht, kickt, und lässt uns ihn uns spüren, wenn es musikalisch gewünscht ist. Bei schwachen Quellen, macht er jedoch auch einmal einen ungewollten Ausflug. Klitzekleiner Kritikpunkt bleibt der Sub-Bass, der ist zwar ausreichend vorhanden, aber manchmal würde mir noch ein kleinen Tick mehr wünschen.
Die Bühne ist etwas kleiner als die der ZS6, jedoch ist die Ortung sehr gut.

Die 5 Treiber machen durch ihre Aufteilung einen ausgesprochen guten Job, so dass man zum Teil das Gefühl hat einen kleinen Konzertsaal im Ohr zu haben.

Outro

Für den Preis von unter 40 Euro, bekommt man viel und muss wenig investieren. Klar muss man eine V-Signatur mögen, aber sollte dies der Fall sein, kommt man um die ZS10 nicht herum. Tolle Arbeit von KZ die ihr versprechen wahr gemacht haben und einen klasse 5-Treiber-In-Ear für einen unschlagbaren Preis anbieten.

Man darf gespannt sein was KZ gemessen an diesen In-Ears in nächster Zeit noch so auf den Markt wirft! Die Konkurrenz kann sich jedenfalls schon mal warm anziehen.

Legende

Haptik:
Hier spielt die Verarbeitung mit rein und die Nutzbarkeit des Lieferumfangs. Zusätzlich das Erscheinungsbild, Tragekomfort und die Robustheit.


Value:
Hier bewerte ich für mich subjektiv das Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis - fließt nicht in die Bewertung ein!

Z: No Brainer

A: gut investiertes Geld

B: kann man schon machen

C: gibt besseres für weniger Geld

D: überteuert

E: Liebhaberpreis

Alltag:
Hier lasse ich vor allem die Durchhörbarkeit einfließen und ob ich ihn Out-Of-The-Box gut hören kann. Das ist natürlich sehr subjektiv und daher nur ein minimaler Abzug, oder Bonus.(-0.1, 0, +0.1)

BL-03.jpg

Bewertung in Buchstaben

S: 9.5 - 10

A: 9.0 - 9.4​

B: 8.0 - 8.9​

C: 7.0 - 7.9

D: 6.0 - 6.9​
E: 5.0 - 5.9​

F: 0.0 - 4.9​

AS06

AS06

ATE

ATE

ED16

ED16

S2

S2

ZS10 Pro

ZS10 Pro

ZS7

ZS7

ZSN PRO X

ZSN PRO X

ZSX

ZSX

AS10

AS10

BA10

BA10

EDX

EDX

Z1

Z1

ZS4

ZS4

ZSA

ZSA

ZSR

ZSR

ASF

ASF

ED12

ED12

ES3

ES3

ZAX

ZAX

ZS5

ZS5

ZSN

ZSN

ZST

ZST

ASX

ASX

ED15

ED15

ES4

ES4

ZS10

ZS10

ZS6

ZS6

ZSN PRO

ZSN PRO

ZST X

ZST X

Second Opinion:

KLOGOWhite.png

CHI-FIEAR © 2020 by David Hahn

  • Facebook
  • Instagram