BUDGET
IN-EAR

ZS4

KNOWLEDGE ZENITH

Rating

Price

7.1

15 €

Review published:

08/2018

Driver

2

per Side

1

Dynamic

1

Balanced

Impedance

18 Ohm

Piezo

0

Sound

7.5

Bass

6.5

Mids

7

Trebles

Sensitivity

10 dB

7

Handling

7.5

Haptic

B

Value

0

Daily Life

Frequency

20 - 40000 Hz

Intro

The KZ ZS4 is to be understood as an upgrade to the ZS3. The same housing as its predecessor now contains a hybrid configuration consisting of a BA and a dynamic driver.
In contrast to the ZS3, the BA driver brings more brightness and clarity to the music, but also sometimes wants too much.
From time to time I'm not quite so clear about the criteria according to which KZ distributes their product names. If you assume that the ZS* series was actually reserved for their flagship models, the ZS4 doesn't really fit in.
Out of competition are currently their pure BA driver models, which have also received new series designation (BA* & AS*).

Handling

In terms of appearance and material (plastic), the ZS4 is a copy of the ZS3, as already mentioned, but with slight changes to the sound tube, which is no longer as thick, but just as long. I must admit, that I always have my problems with longer tubes (ZS3, ZSR), because no matter what tips I use, they press and cause pain in the long run. So also, unfortunately here. But this is my personal problem and a subjective evaluation.

Otherwise, the design is very ergonomic, so that the ZS4 fit very well in the ear, provide excellent insulation and are also suitable for sports activities.

As with all models, the scope of delivery is the same (cable, three different silicone tips).

Sound

If the ZS3 was already an in-ear for bass heads, so is the ZS4.
It pushes, punches properly and also goes very deep. However, it's a bit too much for me, because the bass is very pronounced especially in the middle/upper range. This also leads to the blending of the mids. You can't expect great details here, it depends more on the quantity.

The mids are a bit shy, especially when it comes to very bass-heavy songs. This is especially noticeable in male voices, which seem more distanced. That's a shame on the one hand, because they have something on their chest, but can only play out their potential with less bass intensive music. An equalizer certainly helps here if you want to lure them out a bit. They do have an appealing level of detail and, if you allow it, a good separation. The upper mids can sometimes get a little hard and so unpleasant in some songs.

The same applies to the highs, which are more of the brighter kind (quite contrary to the ZS3), have a good resolution and offer a lot of details, but also sting here and there and highlight the sibilants.

Outro

I see the ZS4 clearly above the ZS3 and just as easily above the ES3, but for my taste you get more for your money with the ZSA, ES4, or ED16|ZS7, even with the ZST Pro. They're not bad and especially made for bass lovers and electro|EDM fans, but for many other genres you should have an equalizer at hand if you're not into full bass and treble sensitive, and want to emphasize the actually very good mids.

KZ doesn't give in to the ZS4's nakedness and produces a good hybrid, albeit with some limitations. Only the product name suggests something different, since KZ has already delivered better in the price range and in the dual configuration (1*DD & 1*BA).

Legend

Haptic:

Here the processing plays a role and the usability of the scope of supply. Additionally the appearance, wearing comfort and robustness.


Value:
Here I evaluate for me subjectively the price/performance ratio - does not flow into the evaluation!

Z: No Brainer

A: money well spent

B: all right, you can do

C: gives better for less money

D: overpriced

E: collector's price

Daily life:
Here, I focus on the long-term audibility and whether I can hear it well out of the box. This is of course very subjective and therefore only a minimal deduction or bonus. 

(-0.1, 0, +0.1)

BL-03.jpg

Rating in Letters

S: 9.5 - 10

A: 9.0 - 9.4​

B: 8.0 - 8.9​

C: 7.0 - 7.9

D: 6.0 - 6.9​
E: 5.0 - 5.9​

F: 0.0 - 4.9​

AS06

AS06

ATE

ATE

ED16

ED16

S2

S2

ZS10 Pro

ZS10 Pro

ZS7

ZS7

ZSN PRO X

ZSN PRO X

ZSX

ZSX

AS10

AS10

BA10

BA10

EDX

EDX

Z1

Z1

ZS4

ZS4

ZSA

ZSA

ZSR

ZSR

ASF

ASF

ED12

ED12

ES3

ES3

ZAX

ZAX

ZS5

ZS5

ZSN

ZSN

ZST

ZST

ASX

ASX

ED15

ED15

ES4

ES4

ZS10

ZS10

ZS6

ZS6

ZSN PRO

ZSN PRO

ZST X

ZST X

Second Opinion

KLOGOWhite.png

CHI-FIEAR © 2020 by David Hahn

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

BUDGET
IN-EAR

ZS4

KNOWLEDGE ZENITH

Wertung

Preis

7.1

15 €

Review published:

08/2018

Treiber

2

pro Seite

1

Dynamisch

1

Balanced

Widerstand

18 Ohm

PZ/ES/PL

0

Klang

7.5

Bass

6.5

Mitten

7

Höhen

Empfindlichkeit

10 dB

7

Handling

7.5

Haptik

B

Value

0

Alltag

Frequenzgang

20 - 40000 Hz

Intro

Der KZ ZS4 ist als Upgrade zum ZS3 zu verstehen. In dem gleichen Gehäuse wie beim Vorgänger steckt nun eine Hybridkonfiguration, bestehend aus einem BA und einem dynamischen Treiber.
Der BA Treiber bringt im Gegensatz zu dem ZS3 mehr Helligkeit und Klarheit in die Musik, will aber auch manchmal zu viel.
Ich bin mir ab und an nicht ganz so im Klaren nach welchen Kriterien KZ ihre Produktbezeichnungen verteilt. Wenn man davon ausgeht das die ZS*-Serie eigentlich ihren Flagship-Modellen vorbehalten war, passt der ZS4 da nicht so wirklich rein.
Außer Konkurrenz spielen derzeit deren reine BA-Treiber-Modelle, die aber auch neue Serienbezeichnung bekommen haben (BA* & AS*)

Handling

Vom Aussehen und Material (Plastik) sind die ZS4 wie bereits erwähnt eine Kopie der ZS3, allerdings mit leichten Änderungen am Schallröhrchen, welches nun nicht mehr so dick ist, aber dafür genau so lang. Ich muss feststellen, das ich mit längeren Schallröhrchen immer meine Probleme habe (ZS3, ZSR), da diese egal mit welchen Tips drücken und so auf Dauer zu Schmerzen führen. So auch leider hier. Das ist aber mein persönliches Problem und eine subjektive Wertung.

Ansonsten ist das Design sehr ergonomisch, so dass die ZS4 sehr gut im Ohr sitzen, für eine ausgesprochen gute Isolation sorgen und ebenso für sportliche Aktivitäten geeignet sind.

Der Lieferumfang ist wie bei eigentlich allen Modellen gleich (Kabel, drei verschiedene Silikonaufsätze)

Klang

War der ZS3 schon ein In-Ear für Bassheads, so ist es der ZS4 auch.
Dieser drückt, puncht ordentlich und geht auch sehr tief. Allerdings ist es mir schon etwas zu viel, da der Bass vor allem im mittleren/oberen Bereich sehr betont ist. Das führt auch zur Überblendung der Mitten. Großartige Details kann man hier nicht erwarten, hier kommt es mehr auf die Quantität an.

Die Mitten sind etwas schüchtern, vor allem wenn es um sehr basslastige Songs geht. Dies macht sich vor allem bei Männerstimmen bemerkbar, welche distanzierter wirken. Das ist zum einen schade, da sie durchaus was auf dem Kasten haben, aber nur bei weniger bassintensiver Musik ihr Potenzial ausspielen können. Hier hilft sicherlich ein Equalizer, wenn man diese etwas hervor locken möchte. Sie haben nämlich durchaus einen ansprechenden Detailgrad und wenn man es zu lässt eine gute Separierung. Die oberen Mitten können manchmal etwas hart werden und so in manchen Songs unangenehm.

Selbiges gilt für die Höhen, die zwar mit für eine tolle räumliche Darstellung sorgen, eher von der helleren Sorte sind (ganz im Gegenteil zu den ZS3), gut auflösen und viele Details bieten, aber auch hier und da zustechen und die Sibilanten hervorheben.

Outro

Ich sehe die ZS4 klar über den ZS3 und ebenso leicht über den ES3, allerdings bekommt man für meinen Geschmack mit den ZSA, ES4, oder ED16|ZS7 dann doch mehr für sein Geld, sogar mit dem ZST Pro. Sie sind nicht schlecht und vor allem wie gemacht für Bassliebhaber und Elektro|EDM-Fans, aber für viele andere Genres sollte man einen Equalizer zur Hand haben, wenn man nicht auf die volle Bassdröhnung steht und höhenempfindlich ist, sowie die eigendlich sehr guten Mitten hervorheben möchte.

KZ gibt sich mit den ZS4 jedoch mal wieder nicht die Blöße und produziert einen guten Hybriden, wenn auch mit Abstrichen. Nur die Produktbezeichnung suggeriert etwas anderes, da KZ schon besseres abgeliefert hat in der Preisklasse und in der Dualkonfiguration (1*DD & 1*BA).

Legende

Haptik:
Hier spielt die Verarbeitung mit rein und die Nutzbarkeit des Lieferumfangs. Zusätzlich das Erscheinungsbild, Tragekomfort und die Robustheit.


Value:
Hier bewerte ich für mich subjektiv das Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis - fließt nicht in die Bewertung ein!

Z: No Brainer

A: gut investiertes Geld

B: kann man schon machen

C: gibt besseres für weniger Geld

D: überteuert

E: Liebhaberpreis

Alltag:
Hier lasse ich vor allem die Durchhörbarkeit einfließen und ob ich ihn Out-Of-The-Box gut hören kann. Das ist natürlich sehr subjektiv und daher nur ein minimaler Abzug, oder Bonus.(-0.1, 0, +0.1)

BL-03.jpg

Bewertung in Buchstaben

S: 9.5 - 10

A: 9.0 - 9.4​

B: 8.0 - 8.9​

C: 7.0 - 7.9

D: 6.0 - 6.9​
E: 5.0 - 5.9​

F: 0.0 - 4.9​

AS06

AS06

ED12

ED12

ES4

ES4

ZS10 Pro

ZS10 Pro

ZS7

ZS7

ZSN PRO X

ZSN PRO X

ZSX

ZSX

AS10

AS10

ED15

ED15

S2

S2

ZS4

ZS4

ZSA

ZSA

ZSR

ZSR

ATE

ATE

ED16

ED16

Z1

Z1

ZS5

ZS5

ZSN

ZSN

ZST

ZST

BA10

BA10

ES3

ES3

ZS10

ZS10

ZS6

ZS6

ZSN PRO

ZSN PRO

ZST X

ZST X

Zweite Meinung:

CHI-FIEAR © 2020 by David Hahn

  • Facebook
  • Instagram