BUDGET
IN-EAR

ZS7

KNOWLEDGE ZENITH

Rating

Price

7.8

35 €

Review published:

12/2018

Driver

5

per Side

1

Dynamic

4

Balanced

Impedance

24 Ohm

Piezo

0

Sound

8

Bass

7.5

Mids

7.5

Trebles

Sensitivity

105 dB

7.7

Handling

8

Haptic

B

Value

+

Daily Life

Frequency

7 - 40000 Hz

Intro

Some time ago KZ caused some confusion with the ED16, because it was marketed as ED16, but ZS7 was written big on the In-Ears. Now KZ has solved the mystery by releasing the right ZS7. This has 5 drivers (1*DD & 4*BA) which are the dynamic drivers of the ZS10 and the BA drivers of the AS10. This is KZ's reaction to the split criticism that the bass of the AS10 is too analytical, dry and does not offer enough sub-bass. So, it's very obvious to take the old dynamic driver and combine it with the rest of the otherwise highly praised AS10. They use the proven design of the ZS6. More internal theft is not possible. Whether the fusion of the individual elements to a new flagship will be enough we will now have a look.

Handling

The design of the Campfire Andromeda has often been copied by other companies and has often been very popular. Even if it is not the own design, the ZS6 is one of the most beautiful designs and with the most valuable haptics of the company. Since the ZS5 the design is already available in the series and so it seems only consistent to continue this.
The openings on the back have become a little more sloping compared to the ZS6. Otherwise, we are holding the same in-ear in our hands on the outside. That means we get a full metal body despite the somewhat bulky construction a comfortable fit, as well as detachable cables.
The latter is no longer a big criterion, but KZ has to explain to me why, after the introduction of the new cables, they fall back on this damn cable with the metal reinforcement. That's outdated and makes the insertion fiddly. For that you get the new packaging, which doesn't have more content to offer like all other models, but it's a bit nicer.

The isolation to the outside is not the best due to the open construction (air shafts) but has positive sound characteristics. The outside world is very well shielded as soon as the music starts.

Sound

The ZS7 is really a positive surprise in terms of sound. KZ didn't have to go to much trouble either, as they simply combined three existing, very good in-ears. However, they didn't put anything together, but combined the positive features of the AS10 and ZS10, as well as the outer features of the ZS6.

The bass doesn't necessarily have more impact than the AS10, as it was already more than decent in terms of midrange, but it plays deeper and is much more dynamic. The correct increase is at just under 20 Hz, but it only develops the right amount of pressure at 30 Hz. But this should be enough for many genres. With Joachim Pastor's "Millenium" it rattles more than sufficiently in the positive sense, because the bass stays under control. At the lowest notes of Trettmann's "Billy Holiday" it decreases a bit, but they are still clearly audible.
It gives the ZS7 a nice warmth and stays away from the midrange as far as possible.

The mids are basically the same as those of the AS10. I would call them a bit more reserved in the lower frequencies, because the bass doesn't push too much upwards, but the mids also lose some body. Instrumental pieces by Hans Zimmer have a wonderful separation and above all a stage. For me, this is also an improvement compared to the AS10, which is probably due to the large openings on the back, which gives the sound some room to breathe.
The higher mids unfortunately share the small deficiency of the AS10. They are a bit too prominent at higher volume, which becomes a bit unpleasant in the long run. This is noticeable, for example, in the Xylophone of the movie theme "You're So Cool".
Voice reproduction has also been successful, both for women and men. They lie well in the room and fit in well with the overall sound.

The treble has everything you could wish for. They are clear, detailed with good extension. However, as is usual with the AS10, they do not tend to any strenuous peaks. Fine micro details can be noticed in the songs when they are hidden inside. The sibilants are not emphasized, which I prefer to check with Iggy Azalea's "Impossible Is Nothing", because they are strongly pronounced in the song. Also "Fire" by Ayo is bearable, but that's to be rated as good, because I found only a few in-ears so far who can do this, like the Tin AUDIO T2. The highs aren't particularly wide, or brimming with brilliance, but they are simply pleasant and offer a lot at the same time.

Outro

For about 40€ you get everything you can wish for. Dynamic, detailed sound, deep, clean bass and clear, pleasant treble measured against the KZ universe. In addition, a wide stage and great 3D-location. Although they are a bit warm, which might deter purists, they climb to the top of the KZ rankings for me and are also cheaper than the pure BA models (BA10 & AS10). Knowledge Zenith can be mainstream!

With the code: CHI-FIEAR you can get the ZS7 on Ali-Express for 33€. To do this, go to other payment options when paying and then cancel the payment. The seller then adjusts the price.

Used Songs:
Shallow – Lady Gaga & Bradley Cooper
I Dare You – The xx
Billie Holiday – Trettmann
Millenium – Joachim Pastor
I Will Remember – Toto
Paralyzed – KWAYE
Bad Liar – Imagine Dragons
Innocent Of Being Jack Sparrow – Hans Zimmer
You’re So Cool – Hans Zimmer
Impossible Is Nothing – Iggy Azalea
Finally Free – Nial Horan
Ayo – Fire

Legend

Haptic:

Here the processing plays a role and the usability of the scope of supply. Additionally the appearance, wearing comfort and robustness.


Value:
Here I evaluate for me subjectively the price/performance ratio - does not flow into the evaluation!

Z: No Brainer

A: money well spent

B: all right, you can do

C: gives better for less money

D: overpriced

E: collector's price

Daily life:
Here, I focus on the long-term audibility and whether I can hear it well out of the box. This is of course very subjective and therefore only a minimal deduction or bonus. 

(-0.1, 0, +0.1)

BL-03.jpg

Rating in Letters

S: 9.5 - 10

A: 9.0 - 9.4​

B: 8.0 - 8.9​

C: 7.0 - 7.9

D: 6.0 - 6.9​
E: 5.0 - 5.9​

F: 0.0 - 4.9​

AS06

AS06

ED12

ED12

ES4

ES4

ZS10 Pro

ZS10 Pro

ZS7

ZS7

ZSN PRO X

ZSN PRO X

ZSX

ZSX

AS10

AS10

ED15

ED15

S2

S2

ZS4

ZS4

ZSA

ZSA

ZSR

ZSR

ATE

ATE

ED16

ED16

Z1

Z1

ZS5

ZS5

ZSN

ZSN

ZST

ZST

BA10

BA10

ES3

ES3

ZS10

ZS10

ZS6

ZS6

ZSN PRO

ZSN PRO

ZST X

ZST X

Second Opinion

Contact:

chi-fier@gmx.de

CHI-FIEAR © 2020 by David Hahn

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

BUDGET
IN-EAR

ZS7

KNOWLEDGE ZENITH

Wertung

Preis

7.8

35 €

Review published:

12/2018

Treiber

5

pro Seite

1

Dynamisch

4

Balanced

Widerstand

24 Ohm

PZ/ES/PL

0

Klang

8

Bass

7.5

Mitten

7.5

Höhen

Empfindlichkeit

105 dB

7.7

Handling

8

Haptik

B

Value

+

Alltag

Frequenzgang

7 - 40000 Hz

Intro

Vor einiger Zeit sorgte KZ mit dem ED16 noch für Verwirrung, da dieser als ED16 vermarktet wurde, jedoch groß ZS7 auf den In-Ears geschrieben stand. Nun hat KZ das Mysterium aufgeklärt, in dem sie den richtigen ZS7 herausgebracht haben. Dieser besitzt 5 Treiber (1*DD & 4*BA) welche sich aus dem dynamischen Treiber des ZS10 und den BA-Treibern des AS10 zusammensetzt. Damit reagiert KZ auf die gespaltenen Kritiken, der Bass des AS10 sei zu analytisch, trocken und würde nicht genügend Sub-Bass bieten. Da ist es sehr naheliegend den alt bewerten dynamischen Treiber zu nehmen und mit dem Rest des ansonsten meist hoch gelobten AS10 zu vereinen. Dazu bedienen sie sich an dem bewährten Design des ZS6. Mehr interner klau geht nicht. Ob die Verschmelzung der einzelnen Elemente zu einem neuen Flagshiff reicht werden wir uns nun zu Gemüte führen.

Handling

Das Design des Campfire Andromeda wurde bereits oftmals auch von anderen Firmen kopiert und fand oft viel Zuspruch. Auch wenn es nicht der eigene Entwurf ist, so stellt doch der ZS6 eines der schönsten Designs und mit wertigster Haptik der Firma dar. Seit dem ZS5 ist das Design bereits in der Reihe vorhanden und so scheint es nur konsequent dieses weiterzuführen.
Die Öffnungen auf der Rückseite sind etwas schräger geworden im Vergleich zum ZS6. Ansonsten halten wir äußerlich denselben In-Ear in der Hand. Das bedeutet wir bekommen einen Vollmetallkörper trotz der etwas Bulligen Aufbaus einen angenehmen Sitz, sowie abnehmbare Kabel.
Letzteres ist nun auch kein großes Kriterium mehr, allerdings muss mir KZ mal erklären, warum man nach der Einführung der neuen Kabel wieder auf dieses verdammte Kabel mit der Metallverstärkung zurückgreift. Das ist nicht mehr zeitgemäß und macht das Einsetzten fummelig. Dafür bekommt man die neue Verpackung, welche zwar nicht mehr Inhalt zu bieten hat wie alle anderen Modelle, aber etwas schicker ist.

Die Isolation nach außen ist durch die offene Bauweise (Luftschächte) nicht die beste, hat aber dafür klanglich positive Eigenschaften. Die Außenwelt wird aber sobald die Musik einsetzt sehr gut abgeschirmt.

Klang

Der ZS7 ist klanglich wirklich eine positive Überraschung. KZ musste sich auch keinen großen Aufwand machen, da sie einfach drei bestehende, sehr gute In-Ears kombiniert haben. Allerdings haben sie nicht irgendwas zusammengewürfelt, sondern die positiven Eigenschaften des AS10 und ZS10 vereint, sowie die äußeren des ZS6.

der Bass hat nicht unbedingt mehr Impakt als der des AS10, da dieser bereits was den Mittenbass betrifft mehr als ordentlich war, aber er spielt tiefer und wirkt wesentlich dynamischer. Richtig war zunehmen ist er bei knapp unter 20 Hz, allerdings entwickelt er erst ab 30 Hz richtig Druck. Das sollte aber grundsätzlich für viele Genres ausreichend sein. Bei Joachim Pastors “Millenium“ scheppert es mehr als ausreichend im positiven Sinn, denn der Bass bleibt stehts unter Kontrolle. Bei den tiefsten Noten von Trettmann‘s “Billy Holiday“ nimmt er etwas ab, aber sie sind dennoch sauber zu hören.
Er verleiht dem ZS7 eine schöne Wärme und bleibt weitestgehend den Mitten fern.

Die Mitten unterscheiden sich grundsätzlich nicht den des AS10. Ich würde sie etwas zurückhaltender in den Tieferen bezeichnen, da der Bass nicht zu sehr nach oben Drückt, den Mitten dadurch aber auch etwas Körper abhanden geht. Instrumentalstücke von Hans Zimmer haben eine wunderbare Separation und vor allem auch Bühne. Das ist für mich ebenfalls ein Fortschritt gegenüber zum AS10, was vermutlich an den großen Öffnungen auf der Rückseite liegt, was dem Klang etwas Raum zum Atmen gibt.
Die höheren Mitten teilen sich leider das kleine defizient des AS10. Sie sind bei höherer Lautstärke etwas zu prominent, was auf Dauer etwas unangenehm wird. Das wird zum Beispiel bei dem Xylo¬phone der Filmmelodie “You’re So Cool“ bemerkbar.
Die Stimmenwiedergabe ist ebenfalls gelungen, sowohl bei Frauen als auch Männer. Diese liegen gut im Raum und gliedern sich in das Gesamtklangbild gut ein.

Die Höhen haben eigentlich alles was man sich wünscht. Sie sind klar, detailliert mit guter Extension. Dabei neigen sie aber, wie schon beim AS10 gewohnt, zu keinen anstrengenden Peaks. Feine Microdetails sind in den Songs wahrzunehmen, wenn sie darin versteckt wurden. Die Sibilanten werden nicht betont, was ich am liebsten mit Iggy Azalea’s “Impossible Is Nothing“ überprüfe, da diese dort im Song stark ausgeprägt sind. Auch “Fire“ von Ayo ist erträglich, aber das ist als gut zu bewerten, da ich bislang nur wenige In-Ears gefunden habe, die dies handeln können, wie z.B. die Tin AUDIO T2. Die Höhen sind nicht besonders breit, oder strotzen von Brillanz, aber sie sind einfach angenehm und bieten dabei viel.

Outro

Für knappe 40€ bekommt man eigentlich alles was man sich wünschen kann. Dynamischer, detaillierter Klang, tiefen sauberen Bass und klare, angenehme Höhen gemessen an dem KZ-Universum. Dazu eine breite Bühne und klasse 3D-Ortung. Sie sind zwar etwas warm, was eventuell Puristen abschrecken kann, aber sie klettern für mich zurzeit an die Spitze der KZ-Rangliste und sind zudem noch günstiger als die reinen BA-Modelle (BA10 & AS10). Knowledge Zenith kann Mainstream!

Mit dem Code: CHI-FIEAR bekommt ihr die ZS7 auf Ali-Express für 33€. Dazu bei der Bezahlung auf andere Bezahlungsmöglichkeiten gehen und daraufhin die Bezahlung abbrechen. Der Verkäufer passt dann den Preis an.

Songs:
Shallow – Lady Gaga & Bradley Cooper
I Dare You – The xx
Billie Holiday – Trettmann
Millenium – Joachim Pastor
I Will Remember – Toto
Paralyzed – KWAYE
Bad Liar – Imagine Dragons
Innocent Of Being Jack Sparrow – Hans Zimmer
You’re So Cool – Hans Zimmer
Impossible Is Nothing – Iggy Azalea
Finally Free – Nial Horan
Ayo – Fire

Legende

Haptik:
Hier spielt die Verarbeitung mit rein und die Nutzbarkeit des Lieferumfangs. Zusätzlich das Erscheinungsbild, Tragekomfort und die Robustheit.


Value:
Hier bewerte ich für mich subjektiv das Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis - fließt nicht in die Bewertung ein!

Z: No Brainer

A: gut investiertes Geld

B: kann man schon machen

C: gibt besseres für weniger Geld

D: überteuert

E: Liebhaberpreis

Alltag:
Hier lasse ich vor allem die Durchhörbarkeit einfließen und ob ich ihn Out-Of-The-Box gut hören kann. Das ist natürlich sehr subjektiv und daher nur ein minimaler Abzug, oder Bonus.(-0.1, 0, +0.1)

BL-03.jpg

Bewertung in Buchstaben

S: 9.5 - 10

A: 9.0 - 9.4​

B: 8.0 - 8.9​

C: 7.0 - 7.9

D: 6.0 - 6.9​
E: 5.0 - 5.9​

F: 0.0 - 4.9​

AS06

AS06

ED12

ED12

ES4

ES4

ZS10 Pro

ZS10 Pro

ZS7

ZS7

ZSN PRO X

ZSN PRO X

ZSX

ZSX

AS10

AS10

ED15

ED15

S2

S2

ZS4

ZS4

ZSA

ZSA

ZSR

ZSR

ATE

ATE

ED16

ED16

Z1

Z1

ZS5

ZS5

ZSN

ZSN

ZST

ZST

BA10

BA10

ES3

ES3

ZS10

ZS10

ZS6

ZS6

ZSN PRO

ZSN PRO

ZST X

ZST X

Zweite Meinung:

CHI-FIEAR © 2020 by David Hahn

  • Facebook
  • Instagram