BUDGET
IN-EAR

ZSN

KNOWLEDGE ZENITH

Rating

Price

7.4

16 €

Review published:

12/2018

Driver

2

per Side

1

Dynamic

1

Balanced

Impedance

25 Ohm

Piezo

0

Sound

8

Bass

7

Mids

7

Trebles

Sensitivity

104 dB

7.3

Handling

8.5

Haptic

B

Value

-

Daily Life

Frequency

20 - 40000 Hz

Intro

KZ ZST was Knowledge Zenith's first hybrid model and one of the company's best when it comes to neutral sound packed into a V-signature.
KZ also seems to have recognized this and told themselves why not fall back on tried and tested solutions and try to optimize them. The result was the ZSN but was the optimization successful?

Handling

The housing is like that of the ZST in terms of shape. However, a metal plate would be integrated, and the nozzles are made of gold-plated metal, which makes the ZSN somewhat heavier, but also much more robust.
Everything seems to be of one piece and of very high quality.

KZ has finally answered our prayers and delivers a cable which is comfortable to use. The annoying metal reinforcement has given way to history and a PVC reinforcement, which is already pre-bent. We already know this proven method from many other manufacturers like TRN or BQEYZ. KZ introduces a new connector which has 2 pins but is no longer compatible with other KZ models. This also represents an upgrade, as it offers a more secure hold of the cable to the headphones.

As with almost all KZ models, the insulation is in a good range and can be further improved with foam tips. As with the ZST, the wearing comfort is excellent!

Sound

KZ remains true to its sound with its newer models, which means that if you have a problem with harsh highs, you should generally not resort to a KZ -In-Ear (an exception is the ZS10, for example).

The bass is really convincing and finds a good balance between sub-bass and mid-bass. It reacts quickly and precisely without slipping into the midrange. It's really fun, as it not only punches well, but is also very accurate tonally, which benefits demanding bass lines.

The mids are extremely clear, detailed and well balanced, which means that they neither move too far into the front (vocals) nor are they too far back. Admittedly, they are one of the ZSN's greatest strengths, together with the strong bass performance, even if the sibilants are already emphasized quite strongly, which is also song dependent (voice of the interpreter).

The highs, on the other hand, are a compromise. On the one hand very detailed, with a wonderful three-dimensionality, separation and extension, on the other hand sometimes very sharp and fatiguing! Of course, this is not the case with all genres, but with rock it is very significant. Here you should not exaggerate the volume too much if you like your ears. It's a bit like Jekyll and Hyde in terms of highs.

Outro

Compared to the ZST there is an improvement in the bass and midrange, as well as in the workmanship. With the treble it is in the eye of the beholder and also what hearing habit one has. In order not to misinterpret it, I would like to relativize the highs a bit, because the peaks are not as strong as with the ZS6, or ED15. They are more like the ED16/ZS7. For almost 16 € this is definitely an established hybrid that can compete with the many other 1*BA & 1*DD hybrids on the market and stands out due to its great design, richness of detail and wearing comfort. Thanks KZ for the new cable and the sound quality, which is offered here for the small thaler.

Legend

Haptic:

Here the processing plays a role and the usability of the scope of supply. Additionally the appearance, wearing comfort and robustness.


Value:
Here I evaluate for me subjectively the price/performance ratio - does not flow into the evaluation!

Z: No Brainer

A: money well spent

B: all right, you can do

C: gives better for less money

D: overpriced

E: collector's price

Daily life:
Here, I focus on the long-term audibility and whether I can hear it well out of the box. This is of course very subjective and therefore only a minimal deduction or bonus. 

(-0.1, 0, +0.1)

BL-03.jpg

Rating in Letters

S: 9.5 - 10

A: 9.0 - 9.4​

B: 8.0 - 8.9​

C: 7.0 - 7.9

D: 6.0 - 6.9​
E: 5.0 - 5.9​

F: 0.0 - 4.9​

AS06

AS06

ATE

ATE

ED16

ED16

S2

S2

ZS10 Pro

ZS10 Pro

ZS7

ZS7

ZSN PRO X

ZSN PRO X

ZSX

ZSX

AS10

AS10

BA10

BA10

EDX

EDX

Z1

Z1

ZS4

ZS4

ZSA

ZSA

ZSR

ZSR

ASF

ASF

ED12

ED12

ES3

ES3

ZAX

ZAX

ZS5

ZS5

ZSN

ZSN

ZST

ZST

ASX

ASX

ED15

ED15

ES4

ES4

ZS10

ZS10

ZS6

ZS6

ZSN PRO

ZSN PRO

ZST X

ZST X

Second Opinion

KLOGOWhite.png

CHI-FIEAR © 2020 by David Hahn

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

BUDGET
IN-EAR

ZSN

KNOWLEDGE ZENITH

Wertung

Preis

7.4

16 €

Review published:

12/2018

Treiber

2

pro Seite

1

Dynamisch

1

Balanced

Widerstand

25 Ohm

PZ/ES/PL

0

Klang

8

Bass

7

Mitten

7

Höhen

Empfindlichkeit

104 dB

7.3

Handling

8.5

Haptik

B

Value

-

Alltag

Frequenzgang

20 - 40000 Hz

Intro

KZ ZST war das erste Hybrid-Model von Knowledge Zenith und auch eines der Besten der Firma wenn es um neutralen Klang gepackt in eine V-Signatur geht.
Das scheint auch KZ erkannt zu haben und sagte sich, warum nicht auf altbewährtes zurück greifen und es versuchen zu optimieren. Herausgekommen ist der ZSN, doch ist die Optimierung geglückt?

Handling

Das Gehäuse gleicht dem des ZST, was die Form betrifft. Allerdings würde eine Metallplatte eingearbeitet und auch die Schallöffnungen sind aus vergoldetem Metall, was den ZSN etwas schwerer, aber auch wesentlich robuster macht.
Alles wirkt wie aus einem Guss und sehr wertig.

KZ hat zudem endlich unsere Gebete erhört und liefert nun endlich ein Kabel mit, welches auch komfortabel zu verwenden ist. Die lästige Metallverstärkung ist Geschichte und einer PVC Verstärkung gewichen, welche bereits vorgebogen ist. Diese bewährte Methode kennen wir bereits von vielen anderen Herstellern, wie TRN, oder BQEYZ. Dazu führt KZ eine neue Steckverbindung ein, welche zwar auch 2 Pins hat, aber nicht mehr mit anderen KZ-Modellen kompatibel ist. Diese stellt auch noch einmal ein Upgrade dar, da sie noch einen sichereren Halt des Kabels am Hörer bietet.

Die Isolation ist wie bei so gut wie allen KZ Modellen in einem guten Bereich und lässt sich mit Foamtips noch verbessern. Der Tragekomfort ist, wie schon bei dem ZST, ausgezeichnet!

Klang

KZ bleibt sich bei ihren neueren Modellen auch klanglich treu, was bedeutet wer ein Problem mit harschen Höhen hat, sollte generell nicht zwingend zu einem KZ -In-Ear greifen (eine Ausnahme stellt hier zum Beispiel der ZS10 dar).

Der Bass kann wirklich überzeugen und findet eine gute Balance zwischen Tiefen und Mittenbass. Er reagiert schnell und präzise, ohne dabei in die Mitten zu rutschen. Er macht wirklich spaß, da er nicht nur ordentlich puncht, sondern auch tonal sehr akkurat ist, was anspruchsvollen Basslines zugutekommt.

Die Mitten sind äußerst klar, detailliert und gut ausbalanciert, was bedeutet, dass sie weder zu stark in die Front rücken (Vocals), noch zu sehr zurück genommen sind. Sie sind zugegebenermaßen mit die größte Stärke des ZSN, zusammen mit der starken Bassperformance, auch wenn die Sibilanten schon recht stark betont werden, was aber auch songabhängig (Stimme des Interpreten) ist.

Die Höhen sind dagegen ein Kompromiss. Auf der einen Seite sehr detailliert, mit einer wunderbaren Räumlichkeit, Separation und Erweiterung, auf der anderen Seite jedoch manchmal sehr scharf und ermüdend! Das ist natürlich nicht bei allen Genres der Fall, aber bei Rock fällt das doch schon sehr stark ins Gewicht. Hier sollte man es mit der Laustärke nicht allzu sehr übertreiben, wen einem das Gehör lieb ist. Es ist so ein klein bisschen wie bei Jekyll and Hyde, was die Höhen betrifft.

Outro

Im Vergleich zu dem ZST lässt sich eine Verbesserung im Bass und Mittenbereich, sowie in der Verarbeitung feststellen. Bei den Höhen liegt es im Auge des Betrachters und auch welche Hörgewohnheit man hat. Damit es nicht falsch aufgefasst wird, möchte ich die Höhen jedoch etwas relativieren, denn die Peaks sind keinesfalls so stark wie beim ZS6, oder ED15. Sie ähneln eher dem ED16/ZS7. Für knapp 16 € ist das auf jeden Fall ein gestandener Hybrid, der sich mit den vielen anderen 1*BA & 1*DD hybriden auf dem Markt messen kann und sich durch das tolle Design, Detailreichtum und den Tragekomfort auch abheben kann. Danke KZ für das neue Kabel und die Klangqualität, welche hier für den schmalen Taler geboten wird.

Legende

Haptik:
Hier spielt die Verarbeitung mit rein und die Nutzbarkeit des Lieferumfangs. Zusätzlich das Erscheinungsbild, Tragekomfort und die Robustheit.


Value:
Hier bewerte ich für mich subjektiv das Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis - fließt nicht in die Bewertung ein!

Z: No Brainer

A: gut investiertes Geld

B: kann man schon machen

C: gibt besseres für weniger Geld

D: überteuert

E: Liebhaberpreis

Alltag:
Hier lasse ich vor allem die Durchhörbarkeit einfließen und ob ich ihn Out-Of-The-Box gut hören kann. Das ist natürlich sehr subjektiv und daher nur ein minimaler Abzug, oder Bonus.(-0.1, 0, +0.1)

BL-03.jpg

Bewertung in Buchstaben

S: 9.5 - 10

A: 9.0 - 9.4​

B: 8.0 - 8.9​

C: 7.0 - 7.9

D: 6.0 - 6.9​
E: 5.0 - 5.9​

F: 0.0 - 4.9​

AS06

AS06

ED12

ED12

ES4

ES4

ZS10 Pro

ZS10 Pro

ZS7

ZS7

ZSN PRO X

ZSN PRO X

ZSX

ZSX

AS10

AS10

ED15

ED15

S2

S2

ZS4

ZS4

ZSA

ZSA

ZSR

ZSR

ATE

ATE

ED16

ED16

Z1

Z1

ZS5

ZS5

ZSN

ZSN

ZST

ZST

BA10

BA10

ES3

ES3

ZS10

ZS10

ZS6

ZS6

ZSN PRO

ZSN PRO

ZST X

ZST X

Zweite Meinung:

CHI-FIEAR © 2020 by David Hahn

  • Facebook
  • Instagram