BUDGET
IN-EAR

ZSN PRO X

KNOWLEDGE ZENITH

Rating

Price

7.6

18 €

Review published:

09/2020

Driver

2

per Side

1

Dynamic

1

Balanced

Impedance

25 Ohm

Piezo

0

Sound

8

Bass

7

Mids

7.5

Trebles

Sensitivity

112 dB

7.5

Handling

8.5

Haptic

B

Value

0

Daily Life

Frequency

7 - 40000 Hz

Intro

To be honest, I find KZ has been making it a little easy for themselves lately with their wired IEMs. You take a good selling product, put an "X" on the name and sell it again with a new cable and different faceplate colors. Then I write in the description some hair-raising improvements to the predecessor and the new bestseller is ready.

Visually, sonically and technically (for the most part) I have a KZ ZSN PRO in my hands and wonder what exactly the world really needed in the KZ ZSN PRO X.

Handling

Black, blue, gold. Here are the faceplate colors of the ZSN PRO X. The ZSN PRO was "only" available in light and dark gray, with different plastic housing colors. It doesn't really matter, because it's not enough to remarket an IEM. There must be more behind it.
But there is no more difference to the ZSN PRO, except that we get a silver-coated copper cable with the typical KZ limited accessories, which feels better haptically and seems a little more robust.

The ZSN PRO X wears and isolates well and is not the ugliest duckling on the market for my taste.

Sound

Whether it's the X, Y, or Z version of the ZSN PRO, it doesn't change the fact that KZ makes us feel like rubbing a good selling IEM under our noses again, without any significant sonic improvements, which one would look for here, if at all, with a magnifying glass.

I don't want to recite one-to-one the review of the ZSN PRO, but I'll be brief, since almost everything is already written in it.
The bass is for me the most positive sonic characteristic of the ZSN PRO (X), together with the decent stage. It's fun, it's not too exposed, and it has an appealing extension and can handle any genre. It's certainly not a detail monster, but it has good control and that certain something, especially when it comes to quantity.

The mids are reduced in the V-, or actually W-Signaur, and get a slight coloration from the bass. Female voices have more presence, but can also become demanding a bit faster. The mids are not a milestone in the tuning history of KZ, but they are quite okay and appropriate to the price. I don't find them particularly homogeneous or natural, but they are more for showmanship.

The highs have a bite, but unfortunately also a too strong one. They tend to emphasize sibilants and can sometimes be a bit tinny. Nevertheless, I would describe them as very detailed, even if this can sometimes sound a bit artificial. They give some instruments a little more presence than necessary, but that makes them sometimes more exciting than neutrally tuned IEM representatives. Depending on the genre, they can tend to get tired in the long run and the sibilants bother me a bit too much.

i can't really blame the imaging and the stage because the separation works just as well and provides a clear sound image. Together with the bass this is a plus and certainly not too common in the price range.

Outro

Well, my conclusion was to be guessed I think. The ZSN PRO X is neither an upgrade nor a sidegrade to the ZSN PRO. Even though KZ promises a handful of improvements compared to its predecessor, objectively I can hardly detect any. I imagine hearing a bit more brilliance and micro details in the high frequencies and can make out slight technical improvements, which makes up stage and separation, but it's all subtle, if not imaginary. The frequency response doesn't really show any difference and so only the driver characteristics themselves could provide an improvement. The cable is a small upgrade, even though the silver-plated copper cable, unlike its predecessor, emphasizes the highs a bit more, which may not always be beneficial. In addition, the ZSN PRO X is a good 2 dB louder than its predecessor. But that was it. If you are interested in the ZSN PRO (X), you can be happy that the ZSN PRO is now even cheaper and thus represents more and more value.

Legend

Haptic:

Here the processing plays a role and the usability of the scope of supply. Additionally the appearance, wearing comfort and robustness.


Value:
Here I evaluate for me subjectively the price/performance ratio - does not flow into the evaluation!

Z: No Brainer

A: money well spent

B: all right, you can do

C: gives better for less money

D: overpriced

E: collector's price

Daily life:
Here, I focus on the long-term audibility and whether I can hear it well out of the box. This is of course very subjective and therefore only a minimal deduction or bonus. 

(-0.1, 0, +0.1)

BL-03.jpg

Rating in Letters

S: 9.5 - 10

A: 9.0 - 9.4​

B: 8.0 - 8.9​

C: 7.0 - 7.9

D: 6.0 - 6.9​
E: 5.0 - 5.9​

F: 0.0 - 4.9​

AS06

AS06

ATE

ATE

ED16

ED16

S2

S2

ZS10 Pro

ZS10 Pro

ZS7

ZS7

ZSN PRO X

ZSN PRO X

ZSX

ZSX

AS10

AS10

BA10

BA10

EDX

EDX

Z1

Z1

ZS4

ZS4

ZSA

ZSA

ZSR

ZSR

ASF

ASF

ED12

ED12

ES3

ES3

ZAX

ZAX

ZS5

ZS5

ZSN

ZSN

ZST

ZST

ASX

ASX

ED15

ED15

ES4

ES4

ZS10

ZS10

ZS6

ZS6

ZSN PRO

ZSN PRO

ZST X

ZST X

Second Opinion

KLOGOWhite.png

CHI-FIEAR © 2020 by David Hahn

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

BUDGET
IN-EAR

ZSN PRO X

KNOWLEDGE ZENITH

Wertung

Preis

7.6

18 €

Review published:

09/2020

Treiber

2

pro Seite

1

Dynamisch

1

Balanced

Widerstand

25 Ohm

PZ/ES/PL

0

Klang

8

Bass

7

Mitten

7.5

Höhen

Empfindlichkeit

112 dB

7.5

Handling

8.5

Haptik

B

Value

0

Alltag

Frequenzgang

7 - 40000 Hz

Intro

Ich finde ehrlich gesagt KZ macht es sich in letzter Zeit etwas einfach, was ihre kabelgebunden IEMs darstellt. Man nehme ein sich gut verkaufendes Produkt, setze ein “X“ an den Namen und verkaufe es noch einmal mit einem neuem Kabel und anderen Faceplate-Farben. Dann schreibe ich in die Beschreibung noch an den Haaren herbeigezogene Verbesserungen zum Vorgänger und fertig ist der neue Verkaufsschlager.

Optisch, klanglich und technisch (größtenteils) habe ich ein KZ ZSN PRO in den Händen und frage mich, was genau an dem KZ ZSN PRO X die Welt nun wirklich gebraucht hat.

Handling

Schwarz, Blau, Gold. Da sind die Faceplate-Farben des ZSN PRO X. Den ZSN PRO gab es “nur“ in Hell- und dunkelgrau, mit unterschiedlichen Plastikgehäusefarben. Ist eigentlich auch egal, denn dafür reicht es nicht um ein IEM neu zu vermarkten. Da muss schon mehr dahinter stecken.
Mehr unterschiedet sich aber zum ZSN PRO nicht, außer dass wir zu dem KZ-typisch spärlichen Zubehör ein silberüberzogenes Kupferkabel erhalten, was sich haptisch besser anfühlt und etwas robuster erscheint.

Der ZSN PRO X trägt sich und isoliert gut und ist für meinen Geschmack nicht das hässlichste Entlein auf dem Markt.

Klang

Ob das jetzt die X, Y, oder Z Version des ZSN PRO ist, es ändert nichts an der Tatsache, dass KZ uns gefühlt einen sich gut verkaufenden IEM neu unter die Nase reiben möchte, ohne dass es signifikante klangliche Verbesserungen gibt, welche man hier wenn überhaupt mit einer Lupe sucht.

Ich möchte nicht eins zu eins die Rezension des ZSN PRO rezitieren, aber ich fasse mich kurz, da eigentlich schon in dieser so gut wie alles geschrieben ist.
Der Bass ist für mich die positivste klangliche Eigenschaft des ZSN PRO (X), zusammen mit der anständigen Bühne. Er macht Spaß, ist nicht zu sehr aufgedeckt und hat eine ansprechende Erweiterung und jedem Genre gerecht werden zu können. Er ist sicherlich kein Detailmonster, aber er besitzt eine gute Kontrolle und das gewisse Etwas, vor allem wenn er in der Quantität gefragt ist.

Die Mitten sind in der V-, oder eigentlich W-Signaur, zurückgenommen und bekommen vom Bass eine leichte Färbung. Frauenstimmen haben mehr Präsenz, aber können auch schneller etwas anstrengend werden. Die Mitten sind kein Meilenstein in der Tuninggeschichte von KZ, aber ganz okay und dem Preis angemessen. Ich finde sie allerdings nicht sonderlich homogen, oder natürlich, sondern sie sind mehr auf Effekthascherei aus.

Die Höhen haben Biss, aber leider auch einen zu kräftigen. Sie neigen zur Sibilantenbetonung und können manchmal etwas blechern sein. Dennoch würde ich sie als sehr detailliert bezeichnen, auch wenn dies manchmal etwas gekünstelt klingen kann. Sie geben manchen Instrumenten etwas mehr Präsenz als erforderlich, aber das macht diese teilweise auch spannender, als neutraler abgestimmte IEM-Vertreter. Je nach Genre können sie auf Dauer zur Ermüdung neigen und die Sibilanten stören mich doch etwas zu sehr.

ich kann dem Imaging und der Bühne keinen großen Vorwurf machen, da die Separation ebenso sehr gut funktioniert und für ein klares Klangbild sorgt. Zusammen mit dem Bass ein Plus und in der Preisklasse sicherlich nicht allzu häufig anzutreffen.

Outro

Tja, mein Fazit war zu erahnen denke ich. Der ZSN PRO X ist zum ZSN PRO weder ein Upgrade noch ein Sidegrade. Auch wenn von KZ im Vergleich zum Vorgänger gut eine Handvoll an Verbesserungen versprochen wird, kann ich objektiv kaum welche feststellen. Ich bilde mir ein im Hochton etwas mehr Brillanz und Micro-Details zu hören und kann leichte technische Verbesserungen ausmachen, was Bühne und Separation ausmacht, aber das ist alles subtil, wenn nicht sogar Einbildung. Der Frequenzgang zeigt eigentlich keinen Unterschied und so könnten nur die Treibereigenschaften an sich für eine Verbesserung sorgen. Das Kabel ist ein kleines Upgrade auch wenn das silberüberzogene Kupferkabel im Gegensatz zum Vorgänger die Höhen noch etwas mehr betont, was vielleicht auch nicht immer förderlich ist. Dazu ist der ZSN PRO X gut 2 dB lauter im Vergleich zum Vorgänger. Das war es aber auch schon. Wer Interesse an dem ZSN PRO (X) hat, kann sich freuen, dass der ZSN PRO nun noch billiger wird und damit mehr und mehr ein Value darstellt.

Legende

Haptik:
Hier spielt die Verarbeitung mit rein und die Nutzbarkeit des Lieferumfangs. Zusätzlich das Erscheinungsbild, Tragekomfort und die Robustheit.


Value:
Hier bewerte ich für mich subjektiv das Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis - fließt nicht in die Bewertung ein!

Z: No Brainer

A: gut investiertes Geld

B: kann man schon machen

C: gibt besseres für weniger Geld

D: überteuert

E: Liebhaberpreis

Alltag:
Hier lasse ich vor allem die Durchhörbarkeit einfließen und ob ich ihn Out-Of-The-Box gut hören kann. Das ist natürlich sehr subjektiv und daher nur ein minimaler Abzug, oder Bonus.(-0.1, 0, +0.1)

BL-03.jpg

Bewertung in Buchstaben

S: 9.5 - 10

A: 9.0 - 9.4​

B: 8.0 - 8.9​

C: 7.0 - 7.9

D: 6.0 - 6.9​
E: 5.0 - 5.9​

F: 0.0 - 4.9​

AS06

AS06

ED12

ED12

ES4

ES4

ZS10 Pro

ZS10 Pro

ZS7

ZS7

ZSN PRO X

ZSN PRO X

ZSX

ZSX

AS10

AS10

ED15

ED15

S2

S2

ZS4

ZS4

ZSA

ZSA

ZSR

ZSR

ATE

ATE

ED16

ED16

Z1

Z1

ZS5

ZS5

ZSN

ZSN

ZST

ZST

BA10

BA10

ES3

ES3

ZS10

ZS10

ZS6

ZS6

ZSN PRO

ZSN PRO

ZST X

ZST X

Zweite Meinung:

CHI-FIEAR © 2020 by David Hahn

  • Facebook
  • Instagram