BUDGET
IN-EAR

CU RAD

LITTLE DOT

Rating

Price

7.6

70 €

Review published:

09/2020

Driver

1

per Side

1

Dynamic

0

Balanced

Impedance

16 Ohm

Piezo

0

Sound

8.5

Bass

7

Mids

7.5

Trebles

Sensitivity

103 dB

7.7

Handling

7.5

Haptic

B

Value

0

Daily Life

Frequency

15 - 20000 Hz

Intro

The CU RAD is the entry model into the audiophile world of LITTLE DOT.
It is a very enthusiastic IEM with a distinctive V-signature, which has a lot to offer technically, but can quickly become a challenge in terms of sound.

Handling

In terms of scope of delivery and handling, the CU RAD is clearly inferior to its competitors. It is firmly connected to the cable, which seems a bit stiff and especially the cable noise can be disturbing. There are a number of silicone tips and also a very stable and large transport case with a flap lock, but that's almost it, except for an additional cable clip.

The CU RAD is made entirely of metal and despite its rather commonplace design it makes a valuable impression, but the cable is clearly a minus point here.

The ergonomics as well as the isolation is ok and even over a longer period of time the CU RAD should not cause any problems in terms of comfort.rt.

Sound

LITTLE DOT can certainly attribute a house signature. It expresses itself in a very stable bass foundation, with a bit more emphasis on the upper mids, which can also drift into the nasal/shrill, but with a great detail reproduction and direct response.

I find the bass of the LITTE DOT products really well tuned. Even if different configurations and certainly drivers are used, all products can operate at a similarly high level in the bass range. Here I find the texture and the crisp punch to be particularly noteworthy. With the CU RAD the bass is a bit in the foreground, but it is always clean and contoled. In addition, it gives us a lot of deep bass, but also tends to be a bit artificial, as it sometimes overdoes it with accuracy and therefore lacks a bit of naturalness in the reverberation. But that's what makes for the aforementioned firm and fun punch.

The mids are a bit thin and exaggerate it in the upper range, which can sometimes express itself in shrillness, or badly said "corded telephone character". The mids can score with clarity and also transparency, but they are a bit too tight for me to describe them as a natural sounding general weapon. Voices can be a bit demanding here and there, as well as (e-)guitars or brass. Technically good, but I would like to see a bit more relaxation. However, this gives them a positive bite that can be fun, but doesn't sound very natural.

In the high frequencies the CU RAD is a bit more pronounced due to the V-signature than it would do justice to a natural tonality, but this also makes it quite exciting and sparkling.
Sometimes it's a bit too much for me and rock music with a lot of cymbal is not always the most pleasant genre, but it can score with good consistency and definitely benefits from high quality input, otherwise it can get tinny.
Like the mids, the treble has a direct and accentuated response and can quickly become challenging. To me it is too engaged and a bit too bright in the long run, but technically high quality.

The stage is pleasantly open and three-dimensional. Here you sometimes forget that it is "only" a single-DD.

Outro

Compared to many of the "budget" models reviewed lately, it is a blessing to have the CU RAD in your ear, simply because of its clarity and attention to detail. However, it does not sound very natural and is too dominant and demanding in the upper mids and highs. The bass stands out positively, even if he sometimes overdoes it in quantity, but a little more balance and a softened V-signature would certainly suit the CU RAD better. In the long run it is definitely too exhausting for me. No matter how great clarity, detail and transparency can be. It also sometimes seems a bit compressed when playing music with a lot of information.
Technically very good, but a bit weird in tone.

Legend

Haptic:

Here the processing plays a role and the usability of the scope of supply. Additionally the appearance, wearing comfort and robustness.


Value:
Here I evaluate for me subjectively the price/performance ratio - does not flow into the evaluation!

Z: No Brainer

A: money well spent

B: all right, you can do

C: gives better for less money

D: overpriced

E: collector's price

Daily life:
Here, I focus on the long-term audibility and whether I can hear it well out of the box. This is of course very subjective and therefore only a minimal deduction or bonus. 

(-0.1, 0, +0.1)

BL-03.jpg

Rating in Letters

S: 9.5 - 10

A: 9.0 - 9.4​

B: 8.0 - 8.9​

C: 7.0 - 7.9

D: 6.0 - 6.9​
E: 5.0 - 5.9​

F: 0.0 - 4.9​

CU RAD

CU RAD

CU KIS

CU KIS

Second Opinion

Contact:

chi-fier@gmx.de

CHI-FIEAR © 2020 by David Hahn

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

BUDGET
IN-EAR

CU RAD

LITTLE DOT

Wertung

Preis

7.6

70 €

Review published:

09/2020

Treiber

1

pro Seite

1

Dynamisch

0

Balanced

Widerstand

16 Ohm

PZ/ES/PL

0

Klang

8.5

Bass

7

Mitten

7.5

Höhen

Empfindlichkeit

103 dB

7.7

Handling

7.5

Haptik

B

Value

0

Alltag

Frequenzgang

15 - 20000 Hz

Intro

Der CU RAD ist das Einstiegsmodell in die audiophile Welt von LITTLE DOT.
Ein sehr engagierter IEM mit ausgeprägter V-Signatur, der technisch einiges zu bieten hat, aber klanglich schnell fordernd werden kann.

Handling

Was den Lieferumfang und das Handling anbelangt, ist der CU RAD klar seinen Mitstreitern unterlegen. Er ist fest mit dem Kabel verbunden, welches etwas steif erscheint und vor allem die Kabelgeräusche stören können. Es gibt zwar eine Reihe an Silikontips und auch ein sehr stabiles und großes Transportcase mit Klappverchluss, aber das war es dann auch schon fast, bis auf einen zusätzlichen Kabelclip.

Der CU RAD ist zwar komplett aus Metall gefertigt und macht trotz seinem recht alltägliche Design einen wertigen Eindruck, aber das Kabel ist hier klar ein Minuspunkt.

Die Ergonomie, sowie die Isolation ist in Ordnung und auch über einen längeren Zeitraum dürfte der CU RAD keine Probleme bereiten, was den Komfort betrifft.

Klang

LITTLE DOT ist durchaus eine Haussignatur nachzusagen. Diese drückt sich in einem sehr stabilen Bassfundament aus, mit etwas starker Betonung der oberen Mitten, was auch mal ins Nasale/Schrille abdriften kann, aber mit einer tollen Detailwiedergabe und direkter Ansprache.

Den Bass der LITTE DOT Produkte finde ich wirklich gut abgestimmt. Auch wenn unterschiedliche Konfiguration und sicherlich auch Treiber zum Einsatz kommen, können alle Produkte im Bassbereich auf einem ähnlich hohen Level agieren. Hier finde ich vor allem die Textur und den knackigen Punch hervorzuheben. Beim CU RAD steht der Bass zwar etwas im Vordergrund, aber ist stets sauber und kontrolliert Dazu beglückt er uns mit Tiefgang, neigt aber manchmal auch etwas zur Künstelei, da er manchmal etwas übertreibt mit der Akkuratheit und dadurch etwas Natürlichkeit im Nachschwingverhalten vermissen lässt. Das sorgt aber eben für den Erwähnten festen und spaßigen Punch.

Die Mitten sind etwas dünn und übertreiben es im oberen Bereich, was sich manchmal in Schrillheit, oder böse gesagt „Schnurtelefoncharakter“ äußern kann. Punkten können die Mitten mit Klarheit und auch Transparenz, dafür sind sie mir etwas zu straff, um sie als natürliche klingende Allgemeinwaffe beschreiben zu können. Stimmen können hier und da schon etwas fordernd sein, ebenso wie (E-)Gitarren, oder Bläser. Technisch gut, aber ich würde mir etwas mehr Entspanntheit wünschen. Allerdings haben diese dadurch einen positiven Biss, der Spaß machen kann, aber nicht sonderlich natürlich klingt.

Im Hochton ist der CU RAD durch die V-Signatur etwas ausgeprägter, als es einer natürlichen Tonalität gerecht werden würde, aber er ist damit auch recht aufregend und spritzig.
Mir ist es manchmal schon etwas zu viel und Rockmusik mit viel Beckenanteil ist nicht immer das angenehmste Genre, aber dafür kann er mit guter Festigkeit punkten und profitiert auf jedem fall von qualitativ hochwertigen Input, da er sonst auch blechern werden kann.
Wie auch die Mitten hat der Hochton eine direkte und betonte Ansprache und kann dadurch auch schnell fordernd werden. Mir ist er auf Dauer zu engagiert und etwas zu hell, aber technisch hochwertig.

Die Bühne ist angenehm offen und dreidimensional. Hier vergisst man manchmal, dass es sich “nur“ um einen Single-DD handelt.

Outro

Im Vergleich zu vielen rezensierten “Budget“-Modellen in der letzten Zeit, ist es ein Segen den CU RAD im Ohr zu haben, allein aufgrund seiner Klarheit und Detailvielfalt. Allerdings klingt er nicht sonderlich natürlich und ist in den oberen Mitten und Höhen zu dominant und fordernd. Der Bass sticht positiv heraus, auch wenn er es manchmal in der Quantität übertreibt, aber etwas mehr Balance und eine abgemilderte V-Signatur würden dem CU RAD sicherlich besser zu Gesicht stehen. Mir ist er auf Dauer definitiv zu anstrengend. Da können Klarheit, Details und Transparenz noch so toll sein. Auch wirkt er manchmal etwas komprimiert bei stark informationshaltiger Musik.
Technisch sehr gut, aber tonal etwas schräg.

Legende

Haptik:
Hier spielt die Verarbeitung mit rein und die Nutzbarkeit des Lieferumfangs. Zusätzlich das Erscheinungsbild, Tragekomfort und die Robustheit.


Value:
Hier bewerte ich für mich subjektiv das Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis - fließt nicht in die Bewertung ein!

Z: No Brainer

A: gut investiertes Geld

B: kann man schon machen

C: gibt besseres für weniger Geld

D: überteuert

E: Liebhaberpreis

Alltag:
Hier lasse ich vor allem die Durchhörbarkeit einfließen und ob ich ihn Out-Of-The-Box gut hören kann. Das ist natürlich sehr subjektiv und daher nur ein minimaler Abzug, oder Bonus.(-0.1, 0, +0.1)

BL-03.jpg

Bewertung in Buchstaben

S: 9.5 - 10

A: 9.0 - 9.4​

B: 8.0 - 8.9​

C: 7.0 - 7.9

D: 6.0 - 6.9​
E: 5.0 - 5.9​

F: 0.0 - 4.9​

CU RAD

CU RAD

CU KIS

CU KIS

Zweite Meinung:

CHI-FIEAR © 2020 by David Hahn

  • Facebook
  • Instagram