BUDGET
IN-EAR

SE215

SHURE

Rating

Price

7.9

85 €

Review published:

06/2020

Driver

1

per Side

1

Dynamic

0

Balanced

Impedance

17 Ohm

Piezo

0

Sound

8

Bass

7.5

Mids

7.5

Trebles

Sensitivity

107 dB

7.7

Handling

9

Haptic

C

Value

0

Daily Life

Frequency

22 – 17000 Hz

Intro

The SHURE SE215 is the entry model into the professional SE family (I leave the wired SE112 times out).
Probably one in two people interested in portable audio, or musicians have either held the SE215 in their hands before or have it lying around at home and it was certainly a big seller at an earlier time.
But now there are certainly better ones in the price range, if not for half the money, or even less.
Nevertheless, the SE215 is a good DD-IEM that has a balanced V-signature and performs very solidly in terms of sound, but is no longer a benchmark if ever it was.

Handling

The design is always quite similar within the series with minimal adjustments in size and thickness. Personally, I find the wearing comfort outstanding, even though I always bother myself with the cable, which is a bit stiff and has wire reinforcements and you have to bend it over and over again. In contrast to the SE846, the thin sound holes are made of plastic, so you should be careful not to break them when changing tips.

Of course, the scope of delivery is not as generous as in the SE846, but we still get a transport case, a set of foam tips and silicone tips.

The insulation is basically good in all models, but there are also in-ears, which seal a bit better even without musical help. But this way the SE models are optimal for the stage, because you are not completely isolated from the outside world and the "fans" when the band is not playing. You can also listen to others in the train, who think you are listening to music ;)

Sound

The bass of the SE215 is the pulse generator in the signature. Surprisingly, it is more controlled and just as well balanced than expected, as the bass of the SE215 is often described as exuberant and bloated. Yes, the SE215 has a rather voluminous low end, but still I don't find it overwhelming or extremely rebellious. I think the bass is good in its presentation, but I would like to see a bit more punch and sub-bass. It should also be a bit more accurate and have more texture. Nevertheless, a fun tuned bass that offers a very solid sound foundation without overdoing it. Well, admittedly it can get a bit dirty/spongy in some cases, but not in such a way that it becomes annoying.

The mids are a bit pushed into the background, but basically are one of the strengths of the SE215. They present themselves powerful and voluminous. They succeed in standing up to the bass and rather enter into a symbiosis. The mids are clear, not additionally thickened and also the separation works very well. Purists will certainly miss the transparency a bit, which is especially limited in very bass-heavy music. In addition, the mids in the upper range are a bit challenging depending on the music and are not as solid as in the lower ranges. This can motivate you to get tired earlier and to switch to another song. I like the voices quite well and also the instruments present themselves quite naturally, with a light touch into the bright.

There is also a little surprise waiting for me in the trebles. In my subjective perception, they play further than the fast rolling highs of the SE425, or to a similar extent of the SE535, although BA drivers are explicitly used for the high frequencies. A bit of an upside-down world. This means that the SE215 provides me with more details in the high frequencies and also has more level. The disadvantage is that the SE215's treble is a bit tinny and sometimes loses its naturalness. Here, one has to pay special attention to the input, as the SE215 doesn't forgive too much and can quickly drift into artifacts, especially if there is an increased use of cymbals (rock, metal etc.). So the expansion quickly becomes a disadvantage.
A clear advantage of the SE215 over the SE425, however, is the control of the sibilants.

For me, the SE215 is more suitable for pop, singer-songwriter, or hip-hop, although there is something missing in the sub-area, which is especially noticeable in electronic music. It also cuts a good figure for monitoring, although guitarists, bassists or drummers will enjoy it more.

The stage is certainly not the strength of the SE215. I would describe it as moderate and quite average. You don't necessarily start to consciously listen around virtually in the room and try to locate and follow up small subtleties. Nevertheless it leaves enough space for the sounds to unfold and create a spatial image. There are more intimate and claustrophobic representatives.

Outro

In my reviews of the Shure family, one will probably have to get more or less used to the fact that I question the price tag of the models a bit. The SE215 is not a bad Single-DD-IEM, on the contrary, but the 99 € (RRP) can be better invested nowadays. I can't get rid of the feeling that I could easily split the RRP prices of the SHURE products by two and then move in the right direction regarding the price/performance ratio. SHURE, like so many big players in the IEM business, has missed the chance to make the price of their older models a bit more contemporary and not just rest on their laurels. Back then the price might have been more justifiable, but nowadays the market is flooded with countless very good IEMs (especially from Asia), which have more to offer at lower prices. But well, as long as it sells, why change anything?!

If I compared the SE215 with the MOONDROP Starfield, I have to be a little SHURE fanboy to choose the SE215. Advantages of the SE215 is for my taste, the more powerful and voluminous bass and midrange, which increases the fan factor and basically the SE215 does offer a relaxed and detailed listening experience, but has its weaknesses somewhat in the resolution and is sometimes a bit of a border crosser when it comes to the upper mid/lower trebles, which can lead to fatigue and is not always pleasant. But don't worry, the STARFIELD also has to take this criticism, especially when it comes to brass, but it has the transparency, stage and resolution on its side.

Nevertheless, the SE215 surprised me more positively than I expected, probably also due to my experience with the countless replicas of the SE215 from China, which are not authentic copies in terms of sound. Even if it is usually advertised that the same original driver is used, the measurement and also the sound impression (DIY EARPHONE - SE215) shows something different. The SHURE SE215 is much more balanced and especially in the bass not as spongy and testosterone controlled as the replica.

Purchase possibility:
https://www.thomann.de/de/shure_se215cl.htm

The DEMO-In-Ears were kindly provided directly by Shure Distribution Switzerland GmbH.

https://www.shure.ch/de-CH/produkte/ohrhoerer/se215cl

Legend

Haptic:

Here the processing plays a role and the usability of the scope of supply. Additionally the appearance, wearing comfort and robustness.


Value:
Here I evaluate for me subjectively the price/performance ratio - does not flow into the evaluation!

Z: No Brainer

A: money well spent

B: all right, you can do

C: gives better for less money

D: overpriced

E: collector's price

Daily life:
Here, I focus on the long-term audibility and whether I can hear it well out of the box. This is of course very subjective and therefore only a minimal deduction or bonus. 

(-0.1, 0, +0.1)

BL-03.jpg

Rating in Letters

S: 9.5 - 10

A: 9.0 - 9.4​

B: 8.0 - 8.9​

C: 7.0 - 7.9

D: 6.0 - 6.9​
E: 5.0 - 5.9​

F: 0.0 - 4.9​

SE215

SE215

SE425

SE425

KSE1500

KSE1500

SE535

SE535

SE846

SE846

Second Opinion

Contact:

chi-fier@gmx.de

CHI-FIEAR © 2020 by David Hahn

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

BUDGET
IN-EAR

SE215

SHURE

Wertung

Preis

7.9

85 €

Review published:

Company.png

Treiber

1

pro Seite

1

Dynamisch

0

Balanced

Widerstand

17 Ohm

PZ/ES/PL

0

Klang

8

Bass

7.5

Mitten

7.5

Höhen

Empfindlichkeit

107 dB

7.7

Handling

9

Haptik

C

Value

0

Alltag

Frequenzgang

22 – 17000 Hz

Intro

Der SHURE SE215 ist das Einstiegsmodell in die professionelle SE-Familie (ich lasse den kabelgebundenen SE112 mal außen vor).
Bestimmt jeder Zweite, an portablem Audio interessierte, oder Musiker hat den SE215 entweder schon mal in den Händen gehabt, oder zu Hause rum liegen und er war damals sicherlich ein Verkaufsschlager.
Mittlerweile gibt es aber sicherlich in der Preisklasse besseres, wenn nicht sogar für die Hälfte des Geldes, oder noch weniger.
Der SE215 ist dennoch ein guter DD-IEM, der eine balancierte V-Signatur aufweist und klanglich sehr solide performt, aber keinen Maßstab mehr darstellt, falls dies je der Fall war.

Handling

Die Bauform ist innerhalb der Serie stets recht ähnlich mit minimalen Anpassungen in der Größe und Dicke. Ich persönlich finde den Tragekomfort überragend, auch wenn ich mich immer wieder an dem Kabel störe, welches etwas steif und mit Drahtverstärkungen ausgestattet ist und man es immer wieder aufs Neue zurecht biegen muss. Im Gegensatz zum SE846 sind die dünnen Schallöffnungen aus Plastik, so dass man beim Tipwechsel etwas Vorsicht walten lassen sollte, um diese nicht zu brechen.

Der Lieferumfang fällt natürlich nicht mehr so üppig aus wie beim SE846, aber wir bekommen immerhin noch ein Transportcase, einen Satz Foam-Tips, sowie Silikonstips.

Die Isolation ist bei allen Modellen grundsätzlich gut, aber es gibt auch In-Ears, die selbst ohne musikalische Hilfe etwas besser abdichten. So sind die SE-Modelle aber für die Bühne optimal, da man nicht von der Außenwelt und den „Fans“ komplett isoliert ist, wenn die Band nicht spielt. Ebenso kann man in der Bahn prima andere belauschen, die dann denken man hört Musik ;)

Klang

Der Bass des SE215 ist der Taktgeber in der Signatur. Überraschender Weise ist er kontrollierter und ebenso balancierter als angenommen, da der Bass des SE215 oftmals als überschwänglich und aufgebläht beschrieben wird. Ja er der SE215 hat ein recht voluminöses Low-End, aber dennoch finde ich ihn nicht erdrückend, oder extrem aufmüpfig. Ich finde den Bass in seiner Präsentation gut, würde mir aber ein bisschen mehr Punch und Sub-Bass wünschen. Ebenso dürfte er noch etwas akkurater sein und mehr Textur mitbringen. Dennoch ein spaßig abgestimmter Bass, der ein sehr solides Klangfundament bietet, ohne es zu übertreiben. Gut, zugegebenermaßen kann er in einigen Fällen etwas unsauber/schwammig werden, aber nicht so, dass es störend wird.

Die Mitten sind etwas in den Hintergrund gerückt, sind aber im Grunde mit die Stärken des SE215. Sie präsentieren sich kraftvoll und voluminös. Es geling ihnen sich dem Bass entgegen zu setzten und eher eine Symbiose einzugehen. Die Mitten sind klar, nicht zusätzlich aufgedickt und auch die Separation funktioniert sehr gut. Puristen werden sicherlich die Transparenz ein bisschen missen, welche vor allem bei sehr basslastiger Musik eingeschränkter ist. Dazu sind die Mitten im oberen Bereich je nach Musik ein bisschen fordernd und nicht mehr ganz so sattelfest, wie noch in tieferen Gefilden. Dies kann zur Ermüdung früheren und zum weiterschalten des ein oder anderen Songs motivieren. Stimmen gefallen mir allerdings ganz gut und auch Instrumente präsentieren sich weitestgehend natürlich, mit einem leichten Touch ins Helle.

Auch bei den Höhen wartet eine kleine Überraschung auf mich. Sie spielen in meiner subjektiven Wahrnehmung weiter, als die der schnell abrollenden Höhen des SE425, oder in ähnlichem Ausmaß auch des SE535, obwohl hier für den Hochton explizit BA-Treiber zum Einsatz kommen. Ein bisschen eine verkehrte Welt. Das bedeutet der SE215 stellt für mich im Hochton mehr Details bereit und bringt ebenso mehr Pegel mit. Nachteil ist dabei allerdings, dass die Höhen des SE215 etwas blechern sind und ihnen ab und an die Natürlichkeit abhanden geht. Hier muss man vor allem auch auf den Input achten, da der SE215 nicht allzu viel verzeiht und schnell ins Artefaktische abdriften kann, vor allem wenn es zu einem erhöhten Beckeneinsatz (Rock, Metall etc.) kommt. So wird aus der Erweiterung schnell auch ein Nachteil.
Klarer Vorteil des SE215 zum SE425 ist allerdings die Kontrolle der Sibilanten.

Für mich eignet sich der SE215 mehr für Pop, Singer-Songwriter, oder Hip-Hop, obwohl es hier im Subbereich etwas fehlt, was man vor allem bei elektronischer Musik merkt. Auch fürs Monitoring macht er sicherlich eine ganz gute Figur, obwohl hier Gitarristen, Bassisten, oder Schlagzeuger mehr Freude dran haben werden.

Die Bühne ist sicherlich nicht die Stärke des SE215. Ich würde sie als moderat und recht durchschnittlich beschreiben. Man fängt nicht zwingend an, sich bewusst virtuell im Raum umzuhören und zu versuchen kleine Feinheiten zu lokalisieren und weiter zu verfolgen. Dennoch lässt sie den Klängen genügend Platz sich zu entfalten und ein räumliches Bild zu schaffen. Da gibt es intimere und klaustrophobischere Vertreter.

Outro

Man wird sich in meinen Rezensionen zur Shure-Familie wohl mehr oder weniger daran gewöhnen müssen, dass ich das Preisschild der Modelle ein bisschen in Frage stelle. Der SE215 ist in Summe kein schlechter Single-DD-IEM, im Gegenteil, aber die 99 € (UVP) kann man heutzutage besser investieren. Ich werde das Gefühl nicht los, dass ich die UVP-Preise der SHURE Produkte problemlos durch zwei teilen kann und mich dann in die richtige Richtung bewegen würde, was das Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis angeht. SHURE hat es etwas verpasst, wie so viele Big-Player im IEM-Business, den Preis ihrer älteren Modelle etwas zeitgemäßer zu gestalten und sich nicht nur auf ihren Lorbeeren auszuruhen. Damals mag der Preis noch besser zu rechtfertigen gewesen sein, aber heutzutage ist der Markt mit unzähligen sehr guten IEMs (vor allem aus Asien) überschwemmt, welche zu niedrigeren Preisen mehr zu bieten haben. Aber gut, solange es sich verkauft, warum etwas ändern?!

Wenn ich den SE215 mit den MOONDROP Starfield in den Vergleich setzte, müsste ich schon ein kleiner SHURE-Fanboy sein, um mich für den SE215 zu entscheiden. Vorteile des SE215 sind für meinen Geschmack, der kraftvollere und voluminösere Bass- und Mittenbereich, was den Fanfaktor steigert und grundsätzlich bietet der SE215 durchaus ein entspanntes und detailliertes Hörerlebnis, aber hat seine Schwächen etwas in der Auflösung und ist manchmal ein leichter Grenzgänger, was die oberen Mitten/unteren Höhen betrifft, was zur Ermüdung führen kann und nicht immer angenehm ist. Aber keine Sorge, diese Kritik muss sich der STARFIELD auch gefallen lassen, vor allem bei Bläsern, nur hat er dafür die Transparenz, Bühne und Auflösung auf seiner Seite.

Dennoch hat mich der SE215 positiver überrascht als vermutet, wohl auch durch meine Erfahrung mit den unzähligen nachbauten des SE215 aus China, bei denen es sich klanglich um keine authentische Kopie handelt. Auch wenn meist damit geworben wird, dass derselbe Original-Treiber zum Einsatz komm, so zeigt die Messung und auch der Klangeindruck (DIY EARPHONE - SE215) etwas anderes. Der SHURE SE215 ist wesentlich balancierter und vor allem im Bass nicht so schwammig und testosterongesteuert wie beim Replikat.

Kaufmöglichkeit:
https://www.thomann.de/de/shure_se215cl.htm

Die DEMO-In-Ears wurden mir netterweise direkt von der Shure Distribution Switzerland GmbH zur Verfügung gestellt.

https://www.shure.ch/de-CH/produkte/ohrhoerer/se215cl

Legende

Haptik:
Hier spielt die Verarbeitung mit rein und die Nutzbarkeit des Lieferumfangs. Zusätzlich das Erscheinungsbild, Tragekomfort und die Robustheit.


Value:
Hier bewerte ich für mich subjektiv das Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis - fließt nicht in die Bewertung ein!

Z: No Brainer

A: gut investiertes Geld

B: kann man schon machen

C: gibt besseres für weniger Geld

D: überteuert

E: Liebhaberpreis

Alltag:
Hier lasse ich vor allem die Durchhörbarkeit einfließen und ob ich ihn Out-Of-The-Box gut hören kann. Das ist natürlich sehr subjektiv und daher nur ein minimaler Abzug, oder Bonus.(-0.1, 0, +0.1)

BL-03.jpg
SE215

SE215

SE425

SE425

KSE1500

KSE1500

SE535

SE535

SE846

SE846

Zweite Meinung:

KLOGOWhite.png
  • Facebook
  • Instagram

CHI-FIEAR © 2020 by David Hahn