IN-EAR
Premium

UE 18+ PRO - 3rd GEN

ULTIMATE EARS

Rating

Price

8.9

1380 €

Review published:

04/2020

Driver

6

per Side

0

Dynamic

6

Balanced

Impedance

37 Ohm

PZ/ES/PL

0

Sound

8.5

Bass

9

Mids

9

Trebles

Sensitivity

105 dB

8.8

Handling

9.5

Haptic

D

Value

0

Daily Life

Frequency

5 - 22000 Hz

Intro

The UE 6 Pro and the UE RR really convinced me. Both in their very own, individual way. Now let's get to an IEM that basically does little or nothing wrong, but is, to be honest, a bit too boring for me. In addition, it has a small boost around 600 - 700 Hz, which I don't really find advantageous in terms of clarity and makes voices or the whole arrangement seem more spatially set back and flatter.

One thing you have to give Ultimate Ears credit for, they don't dazzle the consumer with their marketing by any praise and promises. Well, that they want to make their product stand out is clear and some exaggerations as well, but the whole thing has substance. But more about that in the sound analysis.

UE 18+ Pro was provided by R+R SonicDesign AG.

Handling

>> Identical to all tested models of Ultimate Ears <<

The UE 18+ Pro is basically a custom IEM, but can also be manufactured as a universal IEM. If you decide on the custom variant, you will receive an individually adapted in-ear based on a personal ear impression, which is also only "compatible" with your own ear canal.
With universal IEMs, there is no way around a silicone or foam attachment (which is of course included in the scope of delivery in this case), but this can influence the sound characteristics and the sound can be falsified both positively and negatively.
The scope of delivery consists of a cleaning tool for the sound tubes, a removable cable, which was especially developed for stage use and the IEM itself. All this is in a screwable, round and black metal case, or square folding case, where the respective name of the owner is engraved.

Ultimate Ears relies on a specially developed IPX connector in their products. This connector is not compatible with MMCX or other connectors. I personally find it better than the one I know so far. It's more compact, sits bombproof and is easier to detach than the MMCX. The tight closure of the two connections (male/female) prevents moisture or dust from entering the connection, which is very important for stage use.
The cable is available with or without ear-loop, clear or black, and with a length of 125 or 160cm. There is also a balanced version (4-pin 2.5mm mini-jack) and a Bluetooth cable incl. remote for telephoning and controlling the Smartphone / Player.

With a custom IEM you don't have to worry about the fit, comfort and isolation. No matter which acrobatic exercises you perform, the IEM will not move from the spot and will also isolate you almost completely from the outside world. If something does pinch, or an adjustment is necessary, you can have it done free of charge by the respective distributor, or directly by Ulitimate Ears.

The cleaning tool is not only practical, but also really necessary, because as with many universal IEMs by now, there is no protection (mostly by a metal grid) in the sound tube, so earwax and dirt can get into the in-ear more easily. For the careful user cleaning is certainly not a foreign word, but it should be mentioned nevertheless.

The design of the UE 18+ Pro is individually left to each user. What remains the same is the transparent 3D-printed housing with a view of the inner workings, but with the faceplate you can let off steam to your heart's content and the ear side is individually made to ear impression anyway.

Sound

Each in-ear of Ultimate Ears has its own characteristics, which are also crystallized by UE in the description. If the UE 6 Pro is recommended for drummers, or the RR as a reference and mixing tool, the UE 18+ Pro will give you more headroom and therefore better dynamics. This is indeed the case and is especially noticeable with more output power. Between quiet and loud passages there is a smooth dynamic range, even in common interaction, without any overlapping or loss of information.

Similar to the UE RR, the bass only jumps as high as it has to. It treats the sub range rather shabby, but has presence there as well, which makes the bass appear quite linear. It lacks a bit of punch and nuances, but stays clean. Nevertheless, I still miss a bit of tightness here. It has a bit more quantity than the UE RR, but in quality they don't take much away from each other. Also here typical BA, but I'm spoiled a bit by the UE 6 Pro. But the bass is much more stable and linear than many other in-ears reviewed so far, which used a BA driver and can be seen at about the same level as the BGVP DM7, which I also attest a very good BA bass.

The UE 18+ Pro sounds warmer than the RR due to the slight bass spur, especially in the upper bass.
Likewise, they are positioned a bit further to the middle of the head and not as much in front as for example the UE Pro 6. This is not a negative criterion, but in any case a change to which one has to get used to shortly, similar to the OH500. As technically skilled as the mids are, I lack a bit of energy and liveliness. That makes for a bit of tristesse. Maybe the best way I can explain it is this: When I'm on my own, I listen to music via in-ears in almost every situation. But that doesn't mean that I am completely in the music with my head all the time, but that I just let it run as background noise and let my thoughts wander. But now there are in-ears that manage to pick me up unexpectedly and focus my attention on them without me paying special attention to them and the music. With the UE 18+ Pro, I have to concentrate on it specifically, otherwise the music will just ripple away. Admittedly high quality, but somewhat emotionless.
Sometimes a peak creeps in at the mids, especially on electric guitars, where I'm a bit sensitive and they become slightly demanding, but that's a rare exception. I would describe it as slightly roaring. Basically, the mids of the UE 18+ Pro are very soft, relaxed and peak-free. Even sibilants are for the most part well avoided.

Trebles are relaxed and have a good extension, but they can't really assert themselves, or rather, the UE 18+ doesn't pay any special attention to them and puts more emphasis on safety. Once you have got used to the signature, the trebles are very harmonious and above all natural, without any artificial build-up. But they should have a bit more steam for my taste. In general, I'd like to see a bit more clarity in the whole signature, but that's grumbling at a high level. The trebles blend in very well and provide a homogeneous sound.

I repeat myself, but location, 3D display and positioning are clear strengths of the UE-IEMs, and of course one of the UE 18+ Pro. However, they tend to stand out more with more output. The RR is a bit more sensitive and convinces even with less power. Since the stage of the UE 18+ Pro is centered a bit more in the middle of the head, it may not seem very big at first, or separate, but that will come with time.

Outro

Very safe earphone for sensitive ears. The tuning doesn't quite suit me and is too unemotional for me. Well-behaved, but technically adept, describes the UE 18+ Pro quite well. It doesn't disguise anything, but doesn't catch your eye. That's quite pleasant at times, but not quite to my taste.
It leaves me a bit perplexed, as it basically does nothing wrong, but doesn't completely pick me up even after a long listening time, although I like it much better after a short warm-up phase and also lets me dive deeper into the music.
However, with its technical features and also the large headroom (even at high volume nothing seems compressed), it seems to me to be a very good tool for the stage and for perfectly tuning the personally preferred mix. Also for this reason I want to remain objective in my evaluation and can also argue the score with a very good conscience.

I wouldn't buy it, but when I get my hands on it, I could easily bend it into my preferred direction with one or two small adjustments in the equalizer.

!!! The pictures do not show the original product, but are specially made universal demo receivers from Ulimate Ears !!!

https://www.sonicdesign.ch/ue/de/

Legend

Haptic:

Here the processing plays a role and the usability of the scope of supply. Additionally the appearance, wearing comfort and robustness.


Value:
Here I evaluate for me subjectively the price/performance ratio - does not flow into the evaluation!

Z: No Brainer

A: money well spent

B: all right, you can do

C: gives better for less money

D: overpriced

E: collector's price

Daily life:
Here, I focus on the long-term audibility and whether I can hear it well out of the box. This is of course very subjective and therefore only a minimal deduction or bonus. 

(-0.1, 0, +0.1)

Frequenzgang

Rating in Letters

S: 9.5 - 10

A: 9.0 - 9.4​

B: 8.0 - 8.9​

C: 7.0 - 7.9

D: 6.0 - 6.9​
E: 5.0 - 5.9​

F: 0.0 - 4.9​

1/3
UE 11 PRO

UE 11 PRO

UE 7 PRO

UE 7 PRO

UE 18+ PRO - 3rd GEN

UE 18+ PRO - 3rd GEN

UE LIVE

UE LIVE

UE 5 PRO

UE 5 PRO

UE RR

UE RR

UE 6 PRO

UE 6 PRO

...

Contact:

chi-fier@gmx.de

CHI-FIEAR © 2020 by David Hahn

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

IN-EAR
Premium

UE 18+ PRO - 3rd GEN

ULTIMATE EARS

Bewertung

Preis

8.9

1380 €

Review published:

04/2020

Company.png

Treiber

6

pro Seite

0

Dynamisch

6

Balanced

Widerstand

37 Ohm

PZ/ES/PL

0

Klang

8.5

Bass

9

Mitten

9

Höhen

Empfindlichkeit

105 dB

8.8

Handling

9.5

Haptik

D

Value

0

Alltag

Frequenzgang

5 - 22000 Hz

Intro

Der UE 6 Pro und der UE RR haben mich wirklich überzeugt. Beide auf ihre ganze eigene, individuelle Art. Kommen wir nun zu einem IEM, der grundsätzlich eigentlich wenig, bis gar nichts falsch macht, aber mir ehrlich gesagt etwas zu langweilig ist. Dazu hat er um die 600 - 700 Hz eine kleine Anhebung, welche ich nicht wirklich Vorteilhaft finde, was die Klarheit anbelangt und Stimmen, bzw. das ganze Arrangement räumlich mehr zurücksetzt und flacher erscheinen lässt.

Eines muss man Ultimate Ears aber lassen, sie blenden mit ihrem Marketing den Konsumenten nicht durch irgendwelche Lobenshymnen und Versprechungen. Gut, dass sie ihr Produkt gut dastehen lassen wollen ist natürlich klar und die ein oder andere Übertreibung ebenso, aber das Ganze hat Substanz. Dazu aber mehr in der Klanganalyse.

UE 18+ Pro wurde bereitgestellt von R+R SonicDesign AG.

Handling

>> Identisch zu allen getesteten Modellen von Ultimate Ears <<

Beim UE 18+ Pro handelt sich grundsätzlich um einen Custom-IEM, welcher aber auch als universeller IEM angefertigt werden kann. Entscheidet man sich für die Custom-Variante, bekommt man anhand eines persönlichen Ohrabdruckes einen individuell angepassten In-Ear, welcher auch nur mit dem eigenen Gehörgang “kompatibel“ ist.
Bei universellen IEMs kommt man um einen Silikon-, oder Foamaufsatz nicht herum (welcher dann natürlich auch im Lieferumfang enthalten ist), was jedoch die Klangcharakteristik beeinflusst kann und sich der Klang dementsprechend positiv, aber auch negativ verfälschen lässt.
Der Lieferumfang besteht aus einem Reinigungstool für die Klangröhrchen, einem abnehmbaren Kabel, welches speziell für den Bühneneinsatz entwickelt wurde und dem IEM an sich. Das alles befindet sich in einem verschraubbaren, runden und schwarzen Metall-Case, oder quadratischem Klappcase, wo der jeweilige Name des Besitzers eingraviert ist.

Ultimate Ears setzt auf einen eigens entwickelten IPX Anschluss bei ihren Produkten. Dieser Anschluss ist weder mit MMCX noch anderen Anschlüssen kompatibel. Ich persönlich finde ihn besser als dem mir bisher bekannten. Er ist kompakter, sitzt bombenfest und lässt sich aber leichter lösen als oftmals beim MMCX. Durch das dichte Abschließen der beiden Anschlüsse (männlich/weiblich) wird verhindert, dass Feuchtigkeit, oder Staub in die Verbindung eindringen kann, was für den Büheneinsatz enorm wichtig ist.
Beim Kabel gibt es die Möglichkeit eines mit, oder ohne Ear-Loop, klar oder schwarz, sowie mit 125 oder 160cm Länge. Zudem gibt es eine Balanced-Version (4-Pol 2.5mm Mini-Jack) und ein Bluetooth-Kabel inkl. Remote für das Telefonieren und Steuern des Smartphones/Players.

Über den Sitz, Komfort und Isolation braucht man sich bei einem Custom-IEM keine Gedanken machen. Egal welche akrobatischen Übungen man ausübt, der IEM wird sich nicht von der Stelle bewegen und auch nahezu komplett von der Aussenwelt isolieren. Sollte doch mal was drücken, oder ist eine Anpassung von Nöten, kann man dies kostenlos beim jeweiligen Distributor, oder bei Ulitimate Ears direkt vornehmen lassen.

Das Reinigungstool ist nicht nur praktisch, sondern auch wirklich nötig, denn wie bei mittlerweile auch vielen Universal-IEMs, wird auf einen Schutz (meist durch ein Metallgitter) im Klangröhrchen verzichtet, wodurch Ohrenschmalz und Schmutz einfacher in den In-Ear gelangen kann. Für den sorgsamen Benutzer ist die Reinigung sicherlich kein Fremdwort, aber es sei dennoch erwähnt.

Das Design des UE 18+ Pro ist individuell jedem selbst überlassen. Was gleich bleibt, ist das durchsichtige 3D-Druckgehäuse mit Einblick ins Innenleben, aber bei der Faceplate kann man sich nach Herzenslust austoben und die Ohrseite ist ja eh individuell nach Ohrabdruck gefertigt.

Klang

Jeder In-Ear von Ultimate Ears hat eine eigene Charakteristik, welche auch durch UE in der Beschreibung herauskristallisiert wird. Wird der UE 6 Pro Schlagzeugern empfohlen, oder der RR als Referenz und Mixing-Tool, so wird der UE 18+ Pro mit mehr Headroom und damit verbunden auch einer besseren Dynamik verbunden. Das ist tatsächlich so und macht sich vor allem bei mehr Ausgangspower bemerkbar. Zwischen leisen und lauten Passagen ist eine stetige Dynamik, auch im gemeinsamen Zusammenspiel, ohne das es zu Überlagerungen kommt, oder Informationen verloren gehen.

Ähnlich wie beim UE RR springt der Bass nur so hoch wie er muss. Er behandelt den Sub-Bereich eher stiefmütterlich, hat aber auch da Präsenz, wodurch der Bass in Summe recht linear erscheint. Er lässt ein bisschen den Punch und auch Nuancen missen, bleibt aber sauber. Dennoch fehlt mir hier etwas die Straffheit. Er hat etwas mehr Quantität als beim UE RR, aber in der Qualität nehmen sich die beiden nicht viel. Auch hier typisch BA, aber da bin ich wohl auch ein bisschen vom UE 6 Pro verwöhnt. Der Bass ist jedoch deutlich stabiler und linearer als bei vielen anderen bisher rezensierten In-Ears, die auf einen BA-Treiber setzten und etwa auf einen Level mit dem BGVP DM7 zu sehen, dem ich ebenso einen sehr guten BA-Bass attestiere.

Durch den leichten Basspusch, vor allem im Oberbass, klingt der UE 18+ Pro wärmer als der RR.
Ebenso sind sie etwas weiter zur Kopfmitte positioniert und nicht so in Front, wie zum Beispiel beim UE Pro 6. Das ist kein Negativkriterium, aber auf jeden Fall eine Umstellung, an die man sich kurz gewöhnen muss, ähnlich wie beim OH500. So technisch versiert die Mitten auch sind, so fehlt es mir etwas an Energie und Lebendigkeit. Das sorgt ein bisschen für Tristesse. Am besten kann ich es vielleicht so erklären: Ich höre, wenn ich alleine unterwegs bin, eigentlich in fast jeder Lebenslage Musik über In-Ears. Das bedeutet aber nicht das ich die ganze Zeit mit dem Kopf komplett in der Musik bin, sondern diese auch einfach nur als Hintergrundgeräusch laufen habe und meine Gedanken schweifen lasse. Nun gibt es da aber In-Ears die es schaffen, ohne dass ich ihnen und der Musik besondere Aufmerksamkeit schenke, mich immer wieder unerwartet abzuholen und meinen Fokus darauf zu lenken. Beim UE 18+ Pro muss ich mich gezielt darauf konzentrieren, sonst plätschert die Musik einfach so dahin. Zugegebenermaßen qualitativ hochwertig, aber etwas emotionslos.
Manchmal schmuggelt sich bei den Mitten, vor allem bei E-Gitarren ein Peak ein, bei dem ich ein bisschen empfindlich bin und diese dann leicht fordernd werden, aber das ist eine seltene Ausnahme. Ich würde es als leicht dröhnend beschreiben. Grundsätzlich sind die Mitten des UE 18+ Pro sehr weich, entspannt und peakfrei. Auch Sibilanten werden zu größten Teil gut umgangen.

Höhen sind lockerleicht und haben eine gute Erweiterung, können sich aber nicht wirklich durchsetzen, bzw. wird ihnen vom UE 18+ keine besondere Aufmerksamkeit geschenkt und setzten mehr auf Sicherheit. Hat man sich an die Signatur gewöhnt, sind die Höhen aber sehr stimmig und vor allem natürlich, ohne künstliche Aufbauschung. Ein bisschen mehr Dampf dürften sie aber für meinen Geschmack haben. Generell würde ich mir in der gesamten Signatur etwas mehr Klarheit wünschen, aber das ist Meckern auf hohem Niveau. Die Höhen fügen sich sehr gut ein und sorgen für ein homogenes Klangbild.

Ich wiederhole mich, aber Ortung, 3D-Dartellung und Positionierung sind klare Stärken der UE-IEMs, natürlich auch eine des UE 18+ Pro. Allerdings treten diese eher bei mehr Output stärker hervor. Da ist der RR etwas empfindlicher und überzeugt auch schon bei weniger Power. Da sich die Bühne beim UE 18+ Pro etwas mehr in der Mitte des Kopfes zentriert, mag sie vielleicht im ersten Moment nicht sonderlich groß, oder separiert erscheinen, aber das kommt mit der Zeit.

Outro

Sehr sichererer Hörer für sensible Ohren. Das Tuning sagt mir nicht ganz so zu und ist mir zu emotionslos. Brav, aber technisch versiert, beschreibt den UE 18+ Pro ganz gut. Er verschleiert nichts, drückt einem aber nichts auf Auge. Das ist auch mal ganz angenehm, aber trifft nicht ganz meinen Geschmack.
Er lässt mich etwas ratlos zurück, da er im Grunde nichts falsch macht, aber mich auch nach langer Hördauer nicht vollends abholt, obwohl er mir nach einer kurzen Warmwerdphase wesentlich besser gefällt und mich auch tiefer in die Musik eintauchen lässt.
Ebenso scheint er mir, mit seinen technischen Eigenschaften und auch dem großen Headroom (auch bei hoher Lautstärker erscheint nichts komprimiert), ein sehr gutes Tool für die Bühne und zur perfekten Abstimmung des persönlich bevorzugten Mixes. Auch aus dem Grund möchte ich in meiner Bewertung objektiv bleiben und kann auch die Punktzahl mit einem sehr guten Gewissen argumentieren.

Kaufen würde ich ihn mir nicht, aber wenn ich ihn in die Hände bekomme, könnte ich ihn durch ein, zwei kleine Handgriffe im Equalizer leicht in meine bevorzugte Richtung zurechtbiegen.

!!! Die Bilder geben nicht das Originalprodukt wieder, sondern sind extra angefertigte Universal-Demo-Hörer von Ulimate Ears !!!

https://www.sonicdesign.ch/ue/de/

1/3

Legende

Haptik:
Hier spielt die Verarbeitung mit rein und die Nutzbarkeit des Lieferumfangs. Zusätzlich das Erscheinungsbild, Tragekomfort und die Robustheit.


Value:
Hier bewerte ich für mich subjektiv das Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis - fließt nicht in die Bewertung ein!

Z: No Brainer

A: gut investiertes Geld

B: kann man schon machen

C: gibt besseres für weniger Geld

D: überteuert

E: Liebhaberpreis

Alltag:
Hier lasse ich vor allem die Durchhörbarkeit einfließen und ob ich ihn Out-Of-The-Box gut hören kann. Das ist natürlich sehr subjektiv und daher nur ein minimaler Abzug, oder Bonus (-0.1, 0, +0.1)

Frequenzgang
UE 11 PRO

UE 11 PRO

UE 7 PRO

UE 7 PRO

UE 18+ PRO - 3rd GEN

UE 18+ PRO - 3rd GEN

UE LIVE

UE LIVE

UE 5 PRO

UE 5 PRO

UE RR

UE RR

UE 6 PRO

UE 6 PRO

...

KLOGOWhite.png
  • Facebook
  • Instagram

CHI-FIEAR © 2020 by David Hahn