IN-EAR
Premium

UE LIVE

ULTIMATE EARS

Rating

Price

8.6

2020 €

Review published:

04/2020

Driver

8

per Side

1

Dynamic

7

Balanced

Impedance

10 Ohm

PZ/ES/PL

0

Sound

9

Bass

8

Mids

8.5

Trebles

Sensitivity

105 dB

8.5

Handling

9.5

Haptic

E

Value

0

Daily Life

Frequency

5 - 22000 Hz

Intro

The UE LIVE is a real beast. No less than 8 drivers flex their muscles and 3 of them are only responsible for the bass. With all the bragging, however, the definition unfortunately falls by the wayside and as good and textured as the bass is, it has too much influence on the signature and tonality. A muscleman who can't be said much and maybe has a bit too much healthy self-confidence when you evaluate him in everyday life.

UE LIVE was provided by R+R SonicDesign AG.

Handling

>> Identical to all tested models of Ultimate Ears <<

The UE LIVE is basically a custom IEM, but can also be manufactured as a universal IEM. If you decide on the custom variant, you will receive an individually adapted in-ear based on a personal ear impression, which is also only "compatible" with your own ear canal.
With universal IEMs, there is no way around a silicone or foam attachment (which is of course included in the scope of delivery in this case), but this can influence the sound characteristics and the sound can be falsified both positively and negatively.
The scope of delivery consists of a cleaning tool for the sound tubes, a removable cable, which was especially developed for stage use and the IEM itself. All this is in a screwable, round and black metal case, or square folding case, where the respective name of the owner is engraved.

Ultimate Ears relies on a specially developed IPX connector in their products. This connector is not compatible with MMCX or other connectors. I personally find it better than the one I know so far. It's more compact, sits bombproof and is easier to detach than the MMCX. The tight closure of the two connections (male/female) prevents moisture or dust from entering the connection, which is very important for stage use.
The cable is available with or without ear-loop, clear or black, and with a length of 125 or 160cm. There is also a balanced version (4-pin 2.5mm mini-jack) and a Bluetooth cable incl. remote for telephoning and controlling the Smartphone / Player.

With a custom IEM you don't have to worry about the fit, comfort and isolation. No matter which acrobatic exercises you perform, the IEM will not move from the spot and will also isolate you almost completely from the outside world. If something does pinch, or an adjustment is necessary, you can have it done free of charge by the respective distributor, or directly by Ulitimate Ears.

The cleaning tool is not only practical, but also really necessary, because as with many universal IEMs by now, there is no protection (mostly by a metal grid) in the sound tube, so earwax and dirt can get into the in-ear more easily. For the careful user cleaning is certainly not a foreign word, but it should be mentioned nevertheless.

The design of the UE LIVE is individually left to each user. What remains the same is the transparent 3D-printed housing with a view of the inner workings, but with the faceplate you can let off steam to your heart's content and the ear side is individually made to ear impression anyway.

Sound

To put it succinctly, the UE Live just sounds fat. However, this is on the one hand positive, but equally negative. The UE LIVE was developed for the big stages, where mostly acoustically all hell can break loose. Huge basses, meter-long line-arrays, over-proportioned amptowers of bass and guitarists, as well as a drumfill that could be used to fill small concert halls alone. Not to forget the audience.
This means that an IEM needs to be able to assert itself under these conditions, so that the artist can still concentrate on his vocals and the band. Without a doubt, UE LIVE has the volume and the power to do so. But the whole thing happens at the cost of accurate and natural sound reproduction.

I love bass and the bass of UE Live is a force of nature. To be honest, I have rarely heard bass passages so textured and crisp. With the UE Live, three drivers take care of that area. One dynamic driver takes care of deep sub-bass and two BA drivers for everything above. A 5-way crossover tries to put everything into the right direction so that no driver goes crazy on its own, including the mids and highs, of course, where 5 more drivers are added. Many drivers also always have the risk of not being well tuned, but here it works without you noticing a transition.
I've also never seen a hybrid combo that takes care of the bass and thus combines dynamics, depth, speed, punch, detail, pressure, texture and linearity. The sub-bass is not additionally raised, but on the same level as the mid and upper bass.
The icing on the cake would be that the upper bass drops a bit faster so that the mids don't get as much warmth anymore and the bass acts a bit harder and punchier.

The mids are powerful and voluminous. They try everything to oppose the bass and this sometimes leads to a lack of clarity and transparency and level of detail are rather overwhelmed by the pure power when the bass turns up and the mids try to keep up.
This makes them sound thicker, warmer than they should. As usual for UE, they are of high resolution and have a certain clarity and transparency, but their strengths and at the same time weaknesses are more in the physical than in the mental aspect.
The full body that the mid-range bass guitars and other instruments, where the frequency range is a bit lower, give as a basis on the way, basically meets my taste and is above all extremely musical and emotional. If you change from UE Live to another IEM, suddenly everything sounds quite thin for a short time and you have to get used to it again. But soon you notice how voices at UE Live are negatively influenced by this presentation, because they sound warmer than usual. This is the case with both sexes. You also get used to it, but it leaves a bland aftertaste.
The fact that voices are not pushed too much into the background is also due to the fact that the UE Live has been given a considerable boost between 1 and 2 kHz, which would be considered strange with many other signatures, but here it provides assertiveness and somehow works.
If you go further up the mids, they become more natural, organic and clear. I would describe it like this: What the upper mids, together with the highs, create, is to cover the spherical belly of an expectant mother with maternity clothes, so that this is not immediately noticeable from a distance. Nevertheless she is undeniably pregnant. Although UE relies on a safe tuning at UE Live, the sibilants come out here and there.

I have already mentioned that the highs of the UE models have a lot in common, both in quantity and quality. Here I can refer to the 18+ Pro, or RR & 6 Pro. However, in the signature of the UE Live, they can't quite unfold in the same way as in the mentioned models, especially as with the RR. It takes their breath away a little and they look more constricted. But depending on the music material, they also have the gift of bringing out fine details, with a touch of brilliance, but without luring treble heads out of the house. Don't you dare to put worse music material in front of the UE-Live, which is true for almost every UE model. Due to their consistently very good resolution, but unfortunately also because of the fact that there are always more or less sibilants involved, it quickly becomes artifactual and more exhausting than with high-quality music, without strong compression. I would classify the highs of the UE Live as somewhat harder (positively meant), which is to my taste. They roll off drastically after 8 kHz, only to fall back far behind 10 kHz and clean up a bit in the signature and stage presentation.

The stage is not to be blamed and compared to the 11 Pro it's not pressed anymore, with similar bass quantity, as the middle doesn't fall behind so much. Usual UE-outside-the-head-experience, but there is not the feeling of freedom like maybe with an RR. The 3D image and the separation are unmistakably affected by the bass and the warm overall performance, which means that individual instruments can no longer be separated as well and sharply.

Outro

The UE Live is a powerhouse and is not a fan of subtle compliments. That sometimes leaves you a bit disturbed. It is designed to keep the artist's back free on stage, even if the situation seems hopeless. Crashing guitars, thick electric bass, punchy drums: from below the UE Live burns a firework.
I love the bass and I like its high-range presentation. Basically, I'm also a fan of the powerful, voluminous and emotional mids. However, I have a problem with the overly colored voices here and that's a bit of a deal-breaker for me, as well as they are a bit too overloaded for me. I would also like to experience the UE LIVE in a very calm and sensitive way. No matter what you put in the UE Live, it always rushes straight away. For a one-night-stand it's fun and exciting, but not for a relationship, at least not for me. I'd stick with the 6 Pro if I had to choose UE.

What remains at the bottom line is a really good IEM who likes to push himself into the foreground, but that is also his job. Remarkable is the interaction of the 8 drivers, which are very well controlled by the 5-way crossover.

!!! The pictures do not show the original product, but are specially made universal demo listeners from Ulimate Ears !!!

https://www.sonicdesign.ch/ue/de/

Legend

Haptic:

Here the processing plays a role and the usability of the scope of supply. Additionally the appearance, wearing comfort and robustness.


Value:
Here I evaluate for me subjectively the price/performance ratio - does not flow into the evaluation!

Z: No Brainer

A: money well spent

B: all right, you can do

C: gives better for less money

D: overpriced

E: collector's price

Daily life:
Here, I focus on the long-term audibility and whether I can hear it well out of the box. This is of course very subjective and therefore only a minimal deduction or bonus. 

(-0.1, 0, +0.1)

Frequenzgang

Rating in Letters

S: 9.5 - 10

A: 9.0 - 9.4​

B: 8.0 - 8.9​

C: 7.0 - 7.9

D: 6.0 - 6.9​
E: 5.0 - 5.9​

F: 0.0 - 4.9​

1/3
UE 11 PRO

UE 11 PRO

UE 7 PRO

UE 7 PRO

UE 18+ PRO - 3rd GEN

UE 18+ PRO - 3rd GEN

UE LIVE

UE LIVE

UE 5 PRO

UE 5 PRO

UE RR

UE RR

UE 6 PRO

UE 6 PRO

...

Contact:

chi-fier@gmx.de

CHI-FIEAR © 2020 by David Hahn

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

IN-EAR
Premium

UE LIVE

ULTIMATE EARS

Bewertung

Preis

8.6

2020 €

Review published:

04/2020

Company.png

Treiber

8

pro Seite

1

Dynamisch

7

Balanced

Widerstand

10 Ohm

PZ/ES/PL

0

Klang

9

Bass

8

Mitten

8.5

Höhen

Empfindlichkeit

105 dB

8.5

Handling

9.5

Haptik

E

Value

0

Alltag

Frequenzgang

5 - 22000 Hz

Intro

Der UE LIVE ist ein wahres Biest. Gleich 8 Treiber lassen ihre Muskeln spielen und davon sind 3 allein nur für den Bass verantwortlich. Bei der ganzen Prahlerei bleibt aber leider etwas die Definition auf der Strecke und so gut und texturiert der Bass auch ist, er hat zu viel Einfluss auf die Signatur und Tonalität. Ein Muskelprotz, der sich wenig sagen lässt und vielleicht ein bisschen zu viel gesundes Selbstbewusstsein hat, wenn man ihn im Alltag bewertet.

UE LIVE wurde bereitgestellt von R+R SonicDesign AG.

Handling

>> Identisch zu allen getesteten Modellen von Ultimate Ears <<

Beim UE LIVE handelt sich grundsätzlich um einen Custom-IEM, welcher aber auch als universeller IEM angefertigt werden kann. Entscheidet man sich für die Custom-Variante, bekommt man anhand eines persönlichen Ohrabdruckes einen individuell angepassten In-Ear, welcher auch nur mit dem eigenen Gehörgang “kompatibel“ ist.
Bei universellen IEMs kommt man um einen Silikon-, oder Foamaufsatz nicht herum (welcher dann natürlich auch im Lieferumfang enthalten ist), was jedoch die Klangcharakteristik beeinflusst kann und sich der Klang dementsprechend positiv, aber auch negativ verfälschen lässt.
Der Lieferumfang besteht aus einem Reinigungstool für die Klangröhrchen, einem abnehmbaren Kabel, welches speziell für den Bühneneinsatz entwickelt wurde und dem IEM an sich. Das alles befindet sich in einem verschraubbaren, runden und schwarzen Metall-Case, oder quadratischem Klappcase, wo der jeweilige Name des Besitzers eingraviert ist.

Ultimate Ears setzt auf einen eigens entwickelten IPX Anschluss bei ihren Produkten. Dieser Anschluss ist weder mit MMCX noch anderen Anschlüssen kompatibel. Ich persönlich finde ihn besser als dem mir bisher bekannten. Er ist kompakter, sitzt bombenfest und lässt sich aber leichter lösen als oftmals beim MMCX. Durch das dichte Abschließen der beiden Anschlüsse (männlich/weiblich) wird verhindert, dass Feuchtigkeit, oder Staub in die Verbindung eindringen kann, was für den Büheneinsatz enorm wichtig ist.
Beim Kabel gibt es die Möglichkeit eines mit, oder ohne Ear-Loop, klar oder schwarz, sowie mit 125 oder 160cm Länge. Zudem gibt es eine Balanced-Version (4-Pol 2.5mm Mini-Jack) und ein Bluetooth-Kabel inkl. Remote für das Telefonieren und Steuern des Smartphones/Players.

Über den Sitz, Komfort und Isolation braucht man sich bei einem Custom-IEM keine Gedanken machen. Egal welche akrobatischen Übungen man ausübt, der IEM wird sich nicht von der Stelle bewegen und auch nahezu komplett von der Aussenwelt isolieren. Sollte doch mal was drücken, oder ist eine Anpassung von Nöten, kann man dies kostenlos beim jeweiligen Distributor, oder bei Ulitimate Ears direkt vornehmen lassen.

Das Reinigungstool ist nicht nur praktisch, sondern auch wirklich nötig, denn wie bei mittlerweile auch vielen Universal-IEMs, wird auf einen Schutz (meist durch ein Metallgitter) im Klangröhrchen verzichtet, wodurch Ohrenschmalz und Schmutz einfacher in den In-Ear gelangen kann. Für den sorgsamen Benutzer ist die Reinigung sicherlich kein Fremdwort, aber es sei dennoch erwähnt.

Das Design des UE LIVE ist individuell jedem selbst überlassen. Was gleich bleibt, ist das durchsichtige 3D-Druckgehäuse mit Einblick ins Innenleben, aber bei der Faceplate kann man sich nach Herzenslust austoben und die Ohrseite ist ja eh individuell nach Ohrabdruck gefertigt.

Klang

Um es mal etwas lapidar auszudrücken, der UE Live klingt einfach fett. Allerdings ist das zum einen positiv, aber gleichermaßen auch negativ gemeint. Der UE LIVE wurde für die großen Bühnen entwickelt, wo meist akkustisch die Hölle los sein kann. Riesige Bässe, meterlange Line-Arrays, überproportionierte Amptower der Bassisten und Gitarristen, sowie ein Drumfill, mit dem man alleine schon kleine Konzerthallen beschallen könnte. Nicht zu vergessen das Publikum.
Das bedeutet ein IEM brauch bei diesen Verhältnissen auch ein Durchsetzungsvermögen, damit der Künstler sich trotzdem auf seinen Gesang und die Band konzentrieren kann. Ohne Zweifel hat der UE LIVE das Volumen und die Power dazu. Das Ganze geschieht aber etwas auf Kosten der akkuraten und natürlichen Klangwiedergabe.

Ich liebe Bass und der Bass des UE Live ist eine Naturgewalt. Ehrlich gesagt habe ich zum Teil Basspassagen so texturiert und knackig selten gehört. Beim UE Live kümmern sich gleich drei Treiber um den Bereich. Ein dynamischer Treiber sorgt für tiefen Sub-Bass und zwei BA-Treiber für alles darüber. Eine 5-Wege-Frequenzweiche versucht alles in die richtigen Bahnen zu lenken, so dass kein Treiber im Alleingang durchdreht, natürlich die Mitten und Höhen mit eingeschlossen, wo noch einmal 5 Treiber dazu kommen. Viele Treiber haben auch immer das Risiko, nicht gut aufeinander abgestimmt zu sein, aber hier funktioniert es, ohne dass man einen Übergang merkt.
Ich habe bisher auch noch nicht erlebt, dass eine hybride Combo, sich um den Bass kümmert und somit Dynamik, Tiefgang, Schnelligkeit, Punch, Details, Druck, Textur und Linearität verbindet. Der Sub-Bass ist nämlich nicht zusätzlich angehoben, sondern auf einem Level mit Mitten und Oberbass.
Ich würde mir als I-Tüpfelchen wünschen, dass er im Oberbass etwas schneller abfällt, damit die Mitten nicht mehr so viel Wärme abbekommen und er noch etwas härter und punchiger agiert.

Die Mitten sind kraftvoll und voluminös. Sie versuchen alles um sich dem Bass entgegen zu setzen und das führt zum Teil dazu, dass es etwas unübersichtlich wird und Transparenz und Detailgrad eher von der puren Kraft übermannt werden, wenn der Bass aufdreht und die Mitten versuchen Schritt zu halten.
Dadurch klingen sie aufgedickt, wärmer als sie sollten. Sie sind zwar wie von UE gewohnt auch durchaus hoch auflösend und besitzen eine gewisse Klarheit und Transparenz, aber haben ihre Stärken und gleichzeitig Schwächen mehr im Körperlichen, als im Geiste.
Der volle Körper den die Mitten Bassgitarren und anderen Instrumenten, wo der Frequenzbereich etwas tiefer liegt, als Basis auf dem Weg geben, trifft grundsätzlich meinen Geschmack und ist vor allem äußerst musikalisch und emotional. Wenn man vom UE Live auf einen anderen IEM wechselt, hört sich auf einmal alles kurzzeitig recht dünn an und man muss sich erstmal wieder umgewöhnen. Schnell merkt man aber wie Stimmen beim UE Live durch diese Präsentation negativ beeinflusst werden, da diese wärmer klingen als gewohnt. Das ist bei beiden Geschlechtern der Fall. Gewöhnt man sich auch dran, aber es hinterlässt einen faden Beigeschmack.
Das Stimmen nicht zu sehr in den Hintergrund gedrängt werden, liegt auch daran, dass der UE Live zwischen 1 und 2 kHz eine ordentliche Anhebung spendiert bekommen hat, die bei vielen anderen Signaturen als komisch empfunden werden würde, aber hier für Durchsetzungsvermögen sorgt und irgendwie funktioniert.
Geht man bei den Mitten weiter nach oben, werden sie natürlicher, organischer und klaren auf. Ich würde es so beschreiben: Was die oberen Mitten, zusammen mit den Höhen schaffen, ist dem kugelrunden Bauch einer werdenden Mutter mit Umstandskleidung zu bedecken, so dass dies aus der Entfernung nicht gleich auffällt. Dennoch ist sie unleugbar Schwanger. UE setzt zwar auf ein sicheres Tuning beim UE Live, allerdings kommen die Sibilanten hier und da doch mal hervor.

Outro

Der UE Live ist ein Kraftprotz und ist nicht so ein Fan von subtilen Komplimenten. Das lässt einen manchmal etwas verstört zurück. Er ist dafür konzipiert dem Künstler auf der Bühne den Rücken frei zu halten, auch wenn die Situation aussichtslos erscheint. Krachende Gitarren, dicker E-Bass, punchiges Schlagzeug: untenrum brennt der UE Live ein Feuerwerk ab.
Ich liebe den Bass und mag seine Höhenpräsentation. Im Grunde bin ich auch ein Fan der kraftvollen, voluminösen und emotionalen Mitten. Allerdings habe ich hier ein Problem mit den zu stark verfärbten Stimmen und das ist für mich ein bisschen ein Deal-Breaker, ebenso sind sie mir etwas zu überladen. Dazu würde ich mir auch mal wünschen den UE LIVE ganz ruhig und feinfühlig zu erleben. Egal was man dem UE Live versetzt, er prescht immer gleich drauf los. Für nen One-Night-Stand mal ganz spaßig und aufregend, aber nichts für ne Beziehung, zumindest nicht für mich. Ich bleibe beim 6 Pro, wenn ich mich bei UE entscheiden müsste.

Was unterm Strich bleibt, ist ein richtig guter IEM, der sich gerne in den Vordergrund drängt, aber das auch verdammt nochmal seine Aufgabe ist. Bemerkenswert ist das Zusammenspiel von den 8 Treibern, die von der 5-Wege-Frequenzweiche sehr gut kontrolliert werden.

!!! Die Bilder geben nicht das Originalprodukt wieder, sondern sind extra angefertigte Universal-Demo-Hörer von Ulimate Ears !!!

https://www.sonicdesign.ch/ue/de/

1/3

Legende

Haptik:
Hier spielt die Verarbeitung mit rein und die Nutzbarkeit des Lieferumfangs. Zusätzlich das Erscheinungsbild, Tragekomfort und die Robustheit.


Value:
Hier bewerte ich für mich subjektiv das Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis - fließt nicht in die Bewertung ein!

Z: No Brainer

A: gut investiertes Geld

B: kann man schon machen

C: gibt besseres für weniger Geld

D: überteuert

E: Liebhaberpreis

Alltag:
Hier lasse ich vor allem die Durchhörbarkeit einfließen und ob ich ihn Out-Of-The-Box gut hören kann. Das ist natürlich sehr subjektiv und daher nur ein minimaler Abzug, oder Bonus (-0.1, 0, +0.1)

Frequenzgang
UE 11 PRO

UE 11 PRO

UE 7 PRO

UE 7 PRO

UE 18+ PRO - 3rd GEN

UE 18+ PRO - 3rd GEN

UE LIVE

UE LIVE

UE 5 PRO

UE 5 PRO

UE RR

UE RR

UE 6 PRO

UE 6 PRO

...

KLOGOWhite.png
  • Facebook
  • Instagram

CHI-FIEAR © 2020 by David Hahn