IN-EAR
Premium

UE RR

ULTIMATE EARS

Rating

Price

9.2

920 €

Review published:

04/2020

Company.png

Driver

3

per Side

0

Dynamic

3

Balanced

Impedance

35 Ohm

PZ/ES/PL

0

Sound

8.5

Bass

9.5

Mids

9.5

Trebles

Sensitivity

100 dB

9.2

Handling

9.5

Haptic

B

Value

0

Daily Life

Frequency

5 - 25000 Hz

Intro

First of all I would like to thank R+R SonicDesign AG for providing the demo earphones of Ulitmate Ears and thus making this and the following reviews of the current UE family possible.
R+R SonicDesign AG is a full-range event company from St. Gallen, Switzerland, which includes the sale, installation and integration of components and systems of event and media technology, with a longtime background in the rental business. R+R SonicDesign AG is also an official distributor of Ultimate Ears products in Switzerland since 2011.

Ultimate Ears has been appreciated by musicians and professional music users all over the world for over 20 years (founded in 1995) and is mainly used for stage or production purposes.

With this background, I also thought about the price tag, which might put some people off. UE has specialized in developing in-ears for musicians and live performance. With this, the company is clearly addressing a group of people who use the products as a "tool" for their job and have to rely on them for years.
Ultimate Ears was also, with the exception of one or two other companies, somewhat unrivalled in the beginning, which allowed them to set the prices and over the years, also in connection with their reputation, they have achieved a price level which they still maintain today. Could they also sell the products cheaper and still make a profit? Surely! But Ultimaten Ears has made a name for themselves and the sales market seems to be high enough for them to succeed. I can partly understand the price tag of UE better than I can with some of the companies that are starting to pop up and suddenly charge over 3000 dollars for their new world coverage.
But since I have a very good comparison with cheaper models, some of which perform the same or better, I must also say that UE is not always worth the money. Especially the UE Live does it to me in a particularly sour way.

I have thought about it for a long time with which UE-IEM I start the test series and decided to start directly with the two models I see the strongest for my taste. These are the UE REFERENCE REMASTERED and the UE 6 PRO, which couldn't be more different, but in their own musical world with their respective strengths convince me the most. Let's start with the UE RR!

Handling

>> Identical to all tested models of Ultimate Ears <<

The UE RR is basically a custom IEM, but can also be manufactured as a universal IEM. If you decide on the custom variant, you will receive an individually adapted in-ear based on a personal ear impression, which is also only "compatible" with your own ear canal.
With universal IEMs, there is no way around a silicone or foam attachment (which is of course included in the scope of delivery in this case), but this can influence the sound characteristics and the sound can be falsified both positively and negatively.
The scope of delivery consists of a cleaning tool for the sound tubes, a removable cable, which was especially developed for stage use and the IEM itself. All this is in a screwable, round and black metal case, or square folding case, where the respective name of the owner is engraved.

Ultimate Ears relies on a specially developed IPX connector in their products. This connector is not compatible with MMCX or other connectors. I personally find it better than the one I know so far. It's more compact, sits bombproof and is easier to detach than the MMCX. The tight closure of the two connections (male/female) prevents moisture or dust from entering the connection, which is very important for stage use.
The cable is available with or without ear-loop, clear or black, and with a length of 125 or 160cm. There is also a balanced version (4-pin 2.5mm mini-jack) and a Bluetooth cable incl. remote for telephoning and controlling the Smartphone / Player.

With a custom IEM you don't have to worry about the fit, comfort and isolation. No matter which acrobatic exercises you perform, the IEM will not move from the spot and will also isolate you almost completely from the outside world. If something does pinch, or an adjustment is necessary, you can have it done free of charge by the respective distributor, or directly by Ulitimate Ears.

The cleaning tool is not only practical, but also really necessary, because as with many universal IEMs by now, there is no protection (mostly by a metal grid) in the sound tube, so earwax and dirt can get into the in-ear more easily. For the careful user cleaning is certainly not a foreign word, but it should be mentioned nevertheless.

The design of the UE RR is individually left to each user. What remains the same is the transparent 3D-printed housing with a view of the inner workings, but with the faceplate you can let off steam to your heart's content and the ear side is individually made to ear impression anyway.

Sound

To me, reference means to reproduce the sound as naturally as possible, to keep the frequency spectrum linear and to prefer neither bass, midrange nor high frequencies. I'm not sure if such an in-ear can exist at all, because apart from the fact that everyone perceives sounds differently, I have the feeling that reference probably always means that suddenly no real sub-bass is allowed to exist and the music should be transported as emotionless and flat as possible into the ear.
If music is produced with this claim, then I'm not sure if the producers hope that we will breathe life into the music afterwards with our "Bass-IEMs", living room systems or club systems and bring back the rhythm. That's where "Hyde" speaks for me: The louder, more pressing and on the shit, the better! ...give me that bass...

But when "Jekyll" also speaks out, he remarks that what we get from the music industry today is far from natural and mostly serves to satisfy the "Hide" in us, at least as far as the popular part of the music is concerned. Of course there is still the other world, but not everyone knows about it or has access to it. If I'm honest, I prefer to let myself be sprinkled and I don't find this reprehensible. As is well known, one can argue about music and about taste even more.

Well, if I apply the first part about reference to the UE RR, then I realize that the RR is not really showy with its bass and the sub-bass is only to be guessed, but the RR is pleasantly musical, probably also by its warmer basic tuning.

In my opinion the bass of the RR does quantitatively only what is necessary to give the music some basic elements. It makes sure that vocals and instruments have enough body and warmth to prevent them from slipping into sterile conditions. Does this cause boredom? Admittedly I do from time to time. But hey, you get used to everything and somehow it's a welcome detox cure for me to reflect on what is usually overshadowed by the bass. The bass of the UE RR is a typical BA bass that acts fast, is precise and brings out fine bass passages without excitement. Only the last pressure from below is a bit missing, but the sub-expansion is there, even if not very level stable and that makes the bass of the RR harmonic and balanced. The bass fits perfectly into the warm and upwardly brightening natural signature of the RR. There's nothing wrong with it in terms of quality, it's only quantitatively that it should be a bit more for me. Not a top-down mentality, but something for the finer details. But I would not have expected anything else with the IEM name.

To me, reference means to reproduce the sound as naturally as possible, to keep the frequency spectrum linear and to prefer neither bass, midrange nor high frequencies. I'm not sure if such an in-ear can exist at all, because apart from the fact that everyone perceives sounds differently, I have the feeling that reference probably always means that suddenly no real sub-bass is allowed to exist and the music should be transported as emotionless and flat as possible into the ear.
If music is produced with this claim, then I'm not sure if the producers hope that we will breathe life into the music afterwards with our "Bass-IEMs", living room systems or club systems and bring back the rhythm. That's where "Hyde" speaks for me: The louder, more pressing and on the shit, the better! ...give me that bass...

But when "Jekyll" also speaks out, he remarks that what we get from the music industry today is far from natural and mostly serves to satisfy the "Hide" in us, at least as far as the popular part of the music is concerned. Of course there is still the other world, but not everyone knows about it or has access to it. If I'm honest, I prefer to let myself be sprinkled and I don't find this reprehensible. As is well known, one can argue about music and about taste even more.

Well, if I apply the first part about reference to the UE RR, then I realize that the RR is not really showy with its bass and the sub-bass is only to be guessed, but the RR is pleasantly musical, probably also by its warmer basic tuning.

In my opinion the bass of the RR does quantitatively only what is necessary to give the music some basic elements. It makes sure that vocals and instruments have enough body and warmth to prevent them from slipping into sterile conditions. Does this cause boredom? Admittedly I do from time to time. But hey, you get used to everything and somehow it's a welcome detox cure for me to reflect on what is usually overshadowed by the bass. The bass of the UE RR is a typical BA bass that acts fast, is precise and brings out fine bass passages without excitement. Only the last pressure from below is a bit missing, but the sub-expansion is there, even if not very level stable and that makes the bass of the RR harmonic and balanced. The bass fits perfectly into the warm and upwardly brightening natural signature of the RR. There's nothing wrong with it in terms of quality, it's only quantitatively that it should be a bit more for me. Not a top-down mentality, but something for the finer details. But I would not have expected anything else with the IEM name.

Where a "reference IEM" has to perform for me is clearly the mid-range, because that is where all the important information to which our hearing is particularly sensitive takes place.
The mids are wonderfully transparent and airy. The separation works without problems and there are almost no annoying peaks. The RR has a very slight sibilant tilt, but that's probably also due to the fact that not all recordings are mixed equally well. Sure, some voices tend to be more so than others, but often the music producer behind the desk also contributes to the mix, or not. When someone sings unplugged, I have never paid attention to sibilants or noticed them strongly. Only as soon as an amplification takes place does it become more noticeable and is, through the direct sound entry into the ear, especially present in in-ears. With UE RR the problem is negligible, but not perfect either.
The mids are flatter but not without emotion. Voices are excellently positioned and have a grandiose radiance, both male and female. The clarity and accuracy is as extraordinary as it is impressive, and that again and again. Everything sounds as it should and if mistakes were made during the recording or the amp cracked, you can hear that too. Really strong! If it weren't for the light sibilants here and there, the 10 would be perfect for me.

In contrast to the mid-range, the tweeter doesn't take much, but can't quite keep up. It is quite similar to the tweeter of the UE 6 Pro, but in the case of the UE 6 Pro, it is a little more emphasized (not judgmental), as in the UE 6 Pro, we also find a bass and treble-emphasized signature. With the RR it doesn't jump in your face like that, but there is absolutely nothing that remains hidden from the RR. They bring liveliness to the signature and brighten it up, which provides clarity and harmonizes well with the mids.
The airiness and brilliance of the highs provide a fine sound image, which is almost without unpleasant peaks. As with the mids, the emphasis is on "almost", but absolutely nothing that causes me problems or greatly impairs audibility.

What rounds off the excellent listening experience is the stage. It opens up generously in all directions and is particularly multi-layered, despite the subtle bass. You literally get lost in the music and that is a great compliment for an IEM. In general, I have to compliment Ultimate Ears concerning the stage of their IEMs. However, the stage is not everything, which is painfully noticeable in some of their models.

Outro

With the RR the music always remains exciting and you always discover something new. It takes a little getting used to, but the RR brings the music into the ear as naturally and uncompromisingly as it should be. In spite of the reference claim, it also makes fun to simply listen to music. Here, it is rather the fine highs and the grandiose mids that bring the fun factor into the house. The bass supports the whole thing as best it can, but at no time more than it has to.

For everyday use, I see the RR as a bit of a giveaway, especially when I look at the price tag. It's clearly made for professional use and stage use. You have to be sure what you want to do with the UE RR and with Ultimate Ears products in general, because to just listen to music with the IEMs, you have to be financially well-off. UE's marketing is clearly aimed at artists and less at the normal music consumer. This is of course strongly reflected in the price of the products.
It also has to be considered that the IEMs from UE are all custom-made (except for the UE ToGo), for which a personal ear impression is also required. This makes the UE IEMs a bit of a lifetime purchase, since no one else can achieve a good fit with them and therefore will not enjoy the full sound.

Of course, you also pay for the brand, because custom IEMs are also available for less money, but here it's not about the price, but only about the sound. Nevertheless, the UE RR does not replace the CAMPFIRE SOLARIS or ORIVETI OH500, because I see both as more versatile.

You can get the UE RR from the official website or from an official distributor of Ulimate Ears products. On the company website the prices seem to be a bit cheaper (RR - $ 999, but keep in mind that you have to pay import fees, which of course are not applicable for the local distributor and you have no personal support.
Here I recommend "R+R SonicDesign AG" to you in Switzerland. Here you can get the complete UE service from one source and in addition you can make a personal appointment without obligation and free of charge. This includes consultation, test listening and a digital ear scan.

By the way, one song where the UE RR surprised me musically, is "Je ne parle pas francais" by Namika. Admittedly it sounds very good on many IEMs, because it is well produced, but here I really enjoy the RR and that also in the bass :)

!!! The pictures don't show the original product, but are specially made universal demo In-Ears from Ulimate Ears !!!

https://www.sonicdesign.ch/ue/de/

1/4

Legend

Haptic:

Here the processing plays a role and the usability of the scope of supply. Additionally the appearance, wearing comfort and robustness.


Value:
Here I evaluate for me subjectively the price/performance ratio - does not flow into the evaluation!

Z: No Brainer

A: money well spent

B: all right, you can do

C: gives better for less money

D: overpriced

E: collector's price

Daily life:
Here, I focus on the long-term audibility and whether I can hear it well out of the box. This is of course very subjective and therefore only a minimal deduction or bonus. 

(-0.1, 0, +0.1)

Frequenzgang
UE 11 PRO

UE 11 PRO

UE 7 PRO

UE 7 PRO

UE 18+ PRO - 3rd GEN

UE 18+ PRO - 3rd GEN

UE LIVE

UE LIVE

UE 5 PRO

UE 5 PRO

UE RR

UE RR

UE 6 PRO

UE 6 PRO

...

Contact:

chi-fier@gmx.de

KLOGOWhite.png
  • Facebook
  • Instagram

CHI-FIEAR © 2020 by David Hahn

IN-EAR
Premium

UE RR

ULTIMATE EARS

Bewertung

Preis

9.2

920 €

Review published:

04/2020

Company.png

Treiber

3

pro Seite

0

Dynamisch

3

Balanced

Widerstand

35 Ohm

PZ/ES/PL

0

Klang

8.5

Bass

9.5

Mitten

9.5

Höhen

Empfindlichkeit

100 dB

9.2

Handling

9.5

Haptik

B

Value

0

Alltag

Frequenzgang

5 - 25000 Hz

Intro

Zu allererst möchte ich R + R Sonic Design für die Bereitstellung der Demo-Hörer von Ulitmate Ears danken und somit auch zum Ermöglichen dieser und folgender Rezensionen der aktuellen UE-Familie.
R+R SonicDesign AG ist eine Full-Range-Veranstaltungsfirma aus St. Gallen, was den Verkauf, Installation und Integration von Komponenten und Systemen der Veranstaltungs- und Medientechnik, mit langjährigem Hintergrund im Rental-Business beinhaltet und ebenso ein offizieller Vertriebspartner von Ultimate Ears Produkten in der Schweiz seit 2011.

Ultimate Ears wird seit über 20 Jahren (Gründung 1995) auf der ganzen Welt von Musikern und professionellen Musikanwendern geschätzt und überwiegend für die Bühne, oder das Produzieren genutzt.

Mit dem Hintergrund habe ich mir auch Gedanken zum Preisschild gemacht, welches einige vielleicht etwas abschrecken wird. UE hat sich großenteils darauf spezialisiert In-Ears für Musiker und den Live-Einsatz zu entwickeln. Damit spricht die Firma auch ganz klar eine Personengruppe an, welche die Produkte als “Werkzeug“ für ihren Job benutzt und sich darauf wenn möglich Jahre verlassen muss.
Ebenso war Ultimate Ears bis auf ein, zwei andere Firmen anfangs etwas konkurrenzlos, wodurch sie die Preise vorgeben konnten und sich über die Jahre, auch im Zusammenhang mit ihrer Reputation ein Preisniveau erarbeitet haben, welches sie bis heute halten. Ob sie die Produkte auch günstiger verkaufen könnten und dennoch einen Gewinn erzielen? Sicherlich! Aber Ultimaten Ears hat sich nun mal einen Namen geschaffen und der Absatzmarkt schein hoch genug zu sein, damit ihrer Rechnung aufgeht. Ich kann ich das Preisschild von UE zum Teil auch besser nachvollziehen als bei manch aufploppenden Firmen, die man noch nie gehört hat und plötzlich für ihre neue Weltendeckung über 3000 Dollar verlangen.
Da ich aber einen ganz guten Vergleich mit günstigeren Modellen habe, die teilweise gleich oder besser performen, muss ich aber auch sagen, das UE nicht immer das Geld wert ist. Besonders sauer aufstoßen tut es mir beim UE Live.

Ich habe lange überlegt, mit welchen UE-IEM ich die Testreihe beginne und mich dazu entschlossen, direkt mit den beiden Modellen zu starten, welche ich für meinen Geschmack am stärksten sehe. Hierbei handelt es sich um den UE REFERENCE REMASTERED und den UE 6 PRO, welche unterschiedlicher nicht sein könnten, aber in ihrer eigenen musikalischen Welt mit ihren jeweiligen Stärken mich am meisten überzeugen. Let’s start with the UE RR!

Handling

>> Identisch zu allen getesteten Modellen von Ultimate Ears <<

Beim UE RR handelt sich grundsätzlich um einen Custom-IEM, welcher aber auch als universeller IEM angefertigt werden kann. Entscheidet man sich für die Custom-Variante, bekommt man anhand eines persönlichen Ohrabdruckes einen individuell angepassten In-Ear, welcher auch nur mit dem eigenen Gehörgang “kompatibel“ ist.
Bei universellen IEMs kommt man um einen Silikon-, oder Foamaufsatz nicht herum (welcher dann natürlich auch im Lieferumfang enthalten ist), was jedoch die Klangcharakteristik beeinflusst kann und sich der Klang dementsprechend positiv, aber auch negativ verfälschen lässt.
Der Lieferumfang besteht aus einem Reinigungstool für die Klangröhrchen, einem abnehmbaren Kabel, welches speziell für den Bühneneinsatz entwickelt wurde und dem IEM an sich. Das alles befindet sich in einem verschraubbaren, runden und schwarzen Metall-Case, oder quadratischem Klappcase, wo der jeweilige Name des Besitzers eingraviert ist.

Ultimate Ears setzt auf einen eigens entwickelten IPX Anschluss bei ihren Produkten. Dieser Anschluss ist weder mit MMCX noch anderen Anschlüssen kompatibel. Ich persönlich finde ihn besser als dem mir bisher bekannten. Er ist kompakter, sitzt bombenfest und lässt sich aber leichter lösen als oftmals beim MMCX. Durch das dichte Abschließen der beiden Anschlüsse (männlich/weiblich) wird verhindert, dass Feuchtigkeit, oder Staub in die Verbindung eindringen kann, was für den Büheneinsatz enorm wichtig ist.
Beim Kabel gibt es die Möglichkeit eines mit, oder ohne Ear-Loop, klar oder schwarz, sowie mit 125 oder 160cm Länge. Zudem gibt es eine Balanced-Version (4-Pol 2.5mm Mini-Jack) und ein Bluetooth-Kabel inkl. Remote für das Telefonieren und Steuern des Smartphones/Players.

Über den Sitz, Komfort und Isolation braucht man sich bei einem Custom-IEM keine Gedanken machen. Egal welche akrobatischen Übungen man ausübt, der IEM wird sich nicht von der Stelle bewegen und auch nahezu komplett von der Aussenwelt isolieren. Sollte doch mal was drücken, oder ist eine Anpassung von Nöten, kann man dies kostenlos beim jeweiligen Distributor, oder bei Ulitimate Ears direkt vornehmen lassen.

Das Reinigungstool ist nicht nur praktisch, sondern auch wirklich nötig, denn wie bei mittlerweile auch vielen Universal-IEMs, wird auf einen Schutz (meist durch ein Metallgitter) im Klangröhrchen verzichtet, wodurch Ohrenschmalz und Schmutz einfacher in den In-Ear gelangen kann. Für den sorgsamen Benutzer ist die Reinigung sicherlich kein Fremdwort, aber es sei dennoch erwähnt.

Das Design des UE RR ist individuell jedem selbst überlassen. Was gleich bleibt, ist das durchsichtige 3D-Druckgehäuse mit Einblick ins Innenleben, aber bei der Faceplate kann man sich nach Herzenslust austoben und die Ohrseite ist ja eh individuell nach Ohrabdruck gefertigt.

Klang

Referenz bedeutet für mich den Klang so natürlich wie eben möglich wiederzugeben, das Frequenzspektrum linear zu halten und weder Bass, Mitten, noch Hochton zu bevorzugen. Ich bin mir nicht sicher ob solch ein In-Ear überhaupt existieren kann, denn abgesehen davon, dass jeder Mensch Klänge anders wahrnimmt, habe ich das Gefühl, dass bei Referenz wohl immer mit einhergeht, dass auf einmal kein wirklicher Sub-Bass mehr existieren darf und die Musik so emotionslos und flach wie möglich ins Ohr transportiert werden soll.
Wenn mit dem Anspruch Musik produziert wird, dann bin ich mir nicht sicher, ob die Produzenten hoffen, dass wir der Musik im Nachhinein mit unseren “Bass-IEMs“, Wohnzimmeranlagen, oder Club-Systemen wieder Leben einhauchen und den Rhythmus zurück bringen. Da spricht “Hyde“ aus mir: Umso lauter, drückender und auf die Kacke, umso besser! …give me that bass…

Wenn sich nun aber auch “Jekyll“ zu Wort meldet, merkt er an, dass das was wir heutzutage von der Musindustrie vorgesetzt bekommen weit weg von natürlich ist und grösstenteils dazu dient den “Hide“ in uns zufrieden zu stellen, zumindest was den populären Teil der Musik anbelangt. Klar gibt es immer noch die andere Welt, die aber nicht jedem bekannt ist, oder einen Zugang bietet. Wenn ich ehrlich bin lasse ich mich größtenteils auch lieber berieseln und finde das nicht verwerflich. Über Musik lässt sich ja bekanntlich streiten und über Geschmack umso mehr.

Nun, wenn ich den ersten Teil über Referenz auf den UE RR anwende, dann stelle ich fest, dass der RR zwar wirklich nicht mit seinem Bass protz und der Sub-Bass nur zu erahnen, aber der RR doch erfreulich musikalisch ist, wohl auch durch seine wärmere Grundabstimmung.

Der Bass des UE RR macht meines Erachtens quantitativ nur das Nötigste, um der Musik irgendwie ein paar Grundfeiler mit auf dem Weg zu geben. Er sorgt dafür, dass Stimmen und Instrumente ausreichend Körper und Wärme haben, damit es nicht ins Sterile abrutscht. Sorgt das für Langeweile? Zugegebenermaßen bei mir schon ab und an. Aber hey, man gewöhnt sich an alles und irgendwie ist es für mich auch mal eine willkommene Detox-Kur, um sich auf das zu besinnen, was sonst vom Bass meist überschattet wird. Der Bass des UE RR ist ein typischer BA-Bass, der schnell agiert, präzise ist und feine Basspassagen ohne Aufregung detailliert herausarbeitet. Einzig der letzte Druck von unten fehlt ein bisschen, aber die Sub-Erweiterung ist da, wenn auch nicht sonderlich pegelfest und das mach den Bass des RR harmonisch und ausgeglichen. Der Bass fügt sich perfekt in die warme und nach oben hin aufhellende, natürliche Signatur des RR ein. Ihm ist qualitativ nichts vorzuwerfen, nur quantitativ darf es für mich etwas mehr sein. Keine Haudrauf-Mentalität, sondern etwas für die Feinheiten. Was anderes hätte ich jetzt aber auch bei dem IEM-Namen auch nicht erwartet.

Wo für mich ein “Referenz-IEM“ performen muss, ist klar der Mittenbereich, da sich dort alle wichtigen Informationen abspielen für die unser Gehör besonders empfindlich ist.
Die Mitten sind wunderbar transparent und luftig. Die Separation funktioniert problemlos und es gibt nahezu keine nervigen Peaks. Der RR hat eine ganz leichte Sibilantenneigung, aber das ist wohl auch dem geschuldet, dass nicht alle Aufnahmen qualitativ gleichermaßen abgemischt sind. Klar tendieren einige Stimmen mehr dazu als andere, aber oft trägt auch der Musikproduzent hinter dem Pult dazu bei, dem Einhalt zu gebieten, oder eben nicht. Wenn jemand unplugged singt, hab ich noch nie auf Sibilanten geachtet, oder stark wahrgenommen. Erst sobald eine Verstärkung stattfindet macht sich das mehr bemerkbar und ist, durch den direkten Klangeintritt ins Ohr, bei In-Ears besonders präsent. Beim UE RR ist das Problem zu vernachlässigen, aber eben auch nicht perfekt.
Die Mitten sind flacher, aber nicht emotionslos. Stimmen sind hervorragend positioniert und haben eine grandiose Strahlkraft, sowohl männliche als auch weibliche. Die Klarheit und Akkuratheit ist ebenso außergewöhnlich, wie beeindruckend und das immer wieder aufs Neue. Alles klingt so wie es soll und wenn bei der Aufnahme Fehler unterlaufen sind, oder der Amp geknackt hat, dann hört man das auch. Richtig stark! Wären nicht die leichten Sibilanten hier und da, wäre es für mich der 10er perfekt.

Der Hochton nimmt sich im Gegensatz zu den Mitten nicht viel, kann aber nicht ganz Schritt halten. Er ist dem Hochton des UE 6 Pro recht ähnlich, aber beim UE 6 Pro kommt er etwas mehr zur Geltung (nicht wertend gemeint), da wir uns beim UE 6 Pro auch in einer bass- und höhenbetonten Signatur befinden. Beim RR springt er einem nicht so ins Gesicht, aber es gibt absolut nichts, was dem RR verborgen bleibt. Sie bringen Lebendigkeit in die Signatur und hellen diese auf, was für Klarheit sorgt und mit den Mitten gut harmoniert.
Die Luftigkeit und Brillanz der Höhen sorgt für ein feines Klangbild, was nahezu ohne unangenehme Peaks auskommt. Wie auch bei den Mitten liegt die Betonung auf “nahezu“, aber absolut nichts was mir Probleme verschafft, oder die Durchhörbarkeit stark beeinträchtigt.

Was das ausgezeichnete Hörerlebnis abrundet ist die Bühne. Diese öffnet sich großzügig in alle Richtungen und ist besonders vielschichtig und das trotz des dezenten Basses. Man verliert sich regelrecht in der Musik und das ist ein großes Kompliment für eine IEM. Generell muss ich Ultimate Ears ein Kompliment machen, was die Bühne ihrer IEMs betrifft. Allerdings ist die Bühne auch nicht alles, was sich bei einigen ihrer Modelle schmerzlich bemerkbar macht.

Outro

Mit dem RR bleibt die Musik stets spannend und man entdeckt immer wieder neues. Es braucht ein bisschen Eingewöhnung, aber der RR bringt die Musik so natürlich und kompromisslos ins Ohr wie es sein soll. Trotz des Referenzanspruchs macht er auch zum simplen Musik hören Laune. Hier bringen eher die feinen Höhen und die grandiosen Mitten den Spaßfaktor ins Haus. Der Bass unterstützt das Ganze so gut er kann, aber zu keiner Zeit mehr als er muss.

Für den Alltag sehe ich den RR ein bisschen verschenkt, vor allem wenn ich mir das Preisschild vor Augen führe. Er ist klar für professionelle Anwendungen und den Bühneneinsatz hergestellt. Man muss sich schon sicher sein, was man mit dem UE RR und generell mit den Produkten von Ultimate Ears vor hat, denn um einfach mal so mit den IEMs Musik zu hören, muss man finanziell schon sehr gut betucht sein. UE richtet sich mit seinem Marketing klar an Künstler und weniger an den normalen Musikkonsumenten. Das macht sich natürlich stark im Preis der Produkte bemerkbar.
Ebenso ist zu bedenken, dass die IEMs von UE allesamt Maßanfertigungen sind (bis auf den UE ToGo), wofür auch ein persönlicher Ohrabdruck benötigt wird. Das macht den UE-IEMs auch ein bisschen zur Lebensanschaffung, da kein anderer damit einen guten Sitzt erzielen kann und demensprechen auch nicht den vollen Klang genießen wird.

Man zahlt natürlich auch die Marke mit, denn Custom-IEMs gibt es auch für weniger Geld, aber hier geht es ja nicht um den Preis, sondern ausschließlich um den Klang. Den CAMPFIRE SOLARIS oder ORIVETI OH500 löst der UE RR dennoch nicht ab, da ich beide vielseitiger sehe.

Man kann den UE RR über die offizielle Webseite beziehen, oder aber über einen offizellen Vertrieb von Ulimate Ears Produkten. Bei der Firmenseite scheinen die Preise zwar etwas günstiger (RR - $ 999), aber bedenkt, dass für euch auch noch Importgebühren anfallen, was beim heimischen Distributor natürlich wegfällt und man keinen persönlichen Support hat.
Hier lege ich euch in der Schweiz “R+R SonicDesign AG“ ans Herz. Hier ist der komplette UE Service aus einer Hand zu haben und dazu unverbindlich und kostenfrei bei einem persönlichen Termin. Dazu gehören Beratung, Probehören, und ein Digital Ear-Scan.

Übrigens ein Song wo mich der UE RR positiv musikalisch überrascht hat, ist zum Beispiel “Je ne parle pas francais“ von Namika. Der hört sich zugegebener Maßen auf vielen IEMs sehr gut an, da er gut produziert ist, aber hier macht mir der RR richtig Spaß und das auch im Bass :)

!!! Die Bilder geben nicht das Originalprodukt wieder, sondern sind extra angefertigte Universal-Demo-Hörer von Ulimate Ears !!!

https://www.sonicdesign.ch/ue/de/

1/4

Legende

Haptik:
Hier spielt die Verarbeitung mit rein und die Nutzbarkeit des Lieferumfangs. Zusätzlich das Erscheinungsbild, Tragekomfort und die Robustheit.


Value:
Hier bewerte ich für mich subjektiv das Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis - fließt nicht in die Bewertung ein!

Z: No Brainer

A: gut investiertes Geld

B: kann man schon machen

C: gibt besseres für weniger Geld

D: überteuert

E: Liebhaberpreis

Alltag:
Hier lasse ich vor allem die Durchhörbarkeit einfließen und ob ich ihn Out-Of-The-Box gut hören kann. Das ist natürlich sehr subjektiv und daher nur ein minimaler Abzug, oder Bonus (-0.1, 0, +0.1)

Frequenzgang
UE 11 PRO

UE 11 PRO

UE 7 PRO

UE 7 PRO

UE 18+ PRO - 3rd GEN

UE 18+ PRO - 3rd GEN

UE LIVE

UE LIVE

UE 5 PRO

UE 5 PRO

UE RR

UE RR

UE 6 PRO

UE 6 PRO

...

KLOGOWhite.png
  • Facebook
  • Instagram

CHI-FIEAR © 2020 by David Hahn